Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Post 4AD years..., 10 Mar. 2006
By 
Jason Parkes (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lullabies To Violaine, Volume 2 (Audio CD)
Issued last December 'Lullabies to Violaine' was a limited edition four-disc box-set taking in Cocteau Twins' single releases through their brilliant career. Now this material has been reissued in a two volume, two disc form which makes available their singles work alongside the reissues of the albums proper in remastered form a few years ago.
The 27-tracks here take up Cocteau Twins story as they left 4AD after close to a decade and signed up to a major label. Many seemed to think they had climaxed with 1991's 'Heaven or Las Vegas' (probably true) and records such as 'Loveless', 'Just for a Day', 'Whirlpool' & the work of Thieves (...needs to be reissued!) seemed to advance on these climes.
This is a bit disingenuous - across these e.p.s' is some potent work, much of it superior to the studio albums released at the time. The in-demand 'Snow' single is included here - the covers of 'Winter Wonderland' and 'Frosty the Snowman' now alternative Xmas-standards. The acoustic reworkings on 'Twinlights' is interesting and an advance on the approach of the Raymonde-less 'Victorialand' LP. Likewise the 'Otherness' ep finds Mark Clifford recycling (remixing!) Twins works, taking in two recent songs alongside the older 'Feet Like Fins' (from 'Victorialand') & the opening track from 'Heaven or Las Vegas'- 'Cherry-Coloured Funk.' Like the remixes on the recent Luke Haines box-set, they are very much of their time and probably ought to be considered alongside work by the Drum Club, One Dove, Orbital, Polygon Window and Seefeel.The two closing eps 'Tishbite' and 'Violaine' are excellent, particularly the track 'Alice' - which like Mazzy Star's 'Rhymes of an Hour' would be used to stunning effect in Bernardo Bertolucci's kleenex-fest 'Stealing Beauty.'
Not as vital as the initial volume, Vol. 2 completes the picture and has plenty worth discovering here - a welcome cd issue making it possible to hear most of Cocteau Twins output now...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars clasic-another must buy, 16 July 2009
This review is from: Lullabies To Violaine, Volume 2 (Audio CD)
a must buy-it contains many of the tracks on eps and singles from the later half of their career-and its excellent as u would expect-a must own album-excellent value too-and better than the other lullabies vol one twin cd album-
i love this-i already own the singles and ep box set but i bought these two violaine twins cds because its easier to play these than play endless singles and i only bought the singles and ep box set cos these violaine twin cd albums hadnt been released back then-anyway i love this album-i highly recomend it and know u will love it as i do
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than Volume 1, 4 April 2010
This review is from: Lullabies To Violaine, Volume 2 (Audio CD)
This is volume 2 of a 2 volume set, and in my view this better than the first but only just. There are a few dodgy tracks on here like tracks 1 to 4 on disc 2 and tracks Winter wonderland and Frosty the snowman on disc 1 Which I don't understand why they ever did these. But the rest is musical bliss. Especially tracks like An Elan, listen to the slow build up, Liz just repeating the same phases over and over with a second and third over dub by liz and all this done to Simon and Robin wailing away with the anticipation that something is going to happen, and nearly 3 min's in it happens the song really starts and Liz lets rip with long sustained notes which nearly go off the scale so only a dog could hear them, and in the background Guitars waling away. Then it all stopes and then gose straight into one of my Favourits Violaine with its thumping bass and gut wreching guitars all to the sound of vocal Godess Liz Fraser. Truly awl-sum A must have album thats it you like serious music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hidden treasures, 1 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lullabies To Violaine, Volume 2 (Audio CD)
I am a big fan of Cocteau Twins. Always loved their music. The only disappointment I ever had with them was the last album Milk and Kisses which, to me, didn't develop anything in their music nor really took them back to their roots (even though that's what the critics said it did). It was average in their standards. That's why I never bothered with the singles. Guess what? It feels great to be proven wrong about them. But what treasures this compilation reveals! It's a mesmerising reminder of the fact that Cocteau's were a band of singles and ep's and that one should never underestimate their b-sides! The songs are playful, sometimes very simple, raw and then again sophisticated symphonies of sound. Liz's singing in Twinlights is cuttingly sincere and yet in Tishbite and Violane she can get as adventurous as ever, singing in full range from a deep, mature voice to the heights of a bird. It's long time since I've played one cd over and over again for weeks! Extremely sensuous music. Highly recommended. Makes a great Christmas present for a fan :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars haunting, 10 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lullabies To Violaine, Volume 2 (Audio CD)
haunting, typical Cocteau twins. listen to for calming, relaxing, dreaming, escaping, focusing, when in the bath, washing up, cleaning etc gorgeous
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exquisite!, 2 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lullabies To Violaine, Volume 2 (Audio CD)
A ever, you think you will never here a more exquisite piece of music and then you hear some of the songs on here. Aural pleasure at its finest !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Listening, 1 April 2009
By 
A. Clarke "Kit Nubbles" (South Northants) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lullabies To Violaine, Volume 2 (Audio CD)
Essential listening, nothing less than five stars for this double CD of EP's. What would I give for a brand new Cocteau album...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant....Simply Brilliant, 29 April 2006
By 
D. West "coralsea1" (Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lullabies To Violaine, Volume 2 (Audio CD)
The Cocteau Twins were a complete one-off and thi is pure genius. Buy it while it is available....and at this price it has to be the steal of the century. Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Stars are not enough, 18 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lullabies To Violaine, Volume 2 (Audio CD)
Fanastic Album all the classics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lullabies To Violaine, Volume 2
Lullabies To Violaine, Volume 2 by Cocteau Twins (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews