Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Legend Lives on !
There truly will only ever be one "Frank Sinatra". Here is an exceptional collection of his greatest hits. His inimitable vocal style enhanced with the musical talents of other formidable artists such as my favourite in this collection depicts clearly "Come Rain Or Come Shine - Sinatra & Gloria Estefan". On "My Kind of Town" he is accompanied by his son Frank jnr and in...
Published on 27 Mar 2010 by Diana

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a disapointment not as good as I had hoped for
Nothing special, the versions add nothing to the originals, some of the choice of artists don't sit right with the songs
Published 12 months ago by S J Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Legend Lives on !, 27 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: Duets & Duets II: 90th Birthday Edition (Audio CD)
There truly will only ever be one "Frank Sinatra". Here is an exceptional collection of his greatest hits. His inimitable vocal style enhanced with the musical talents of other formidable artists such as my favourite in this collection depicts clearly "Come Rain Or Come Shine - Sinatra & Gloria Estefan". On "My Kind of Town" he is accompanied by his son Frank jnr and in other songs joined by Chrissie Hynde, Anita Baker, Natalie Cole, Aretha Franklin and Liza Minnelli as well as Luis Miguel and Julio Iglesias amongst others. Musically illustrating the legend "Sinatra" lives on !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An awesome work from an awesome artist!, 5 April 2007
This review is from: Duets & Duets II: 90th Birthday Edition (Audio CD)
This CD I wanted to buy for a long time, because not only I love F.Sinatra, but because it is a collector's edition as well.

It contains some really good duets, some of them are a little modified from the original version (nothing like remixed, just a little changed), but still good. The featuring artists are almost all well known and the result of this double-CD experiment was overall great.

Some of the tracks are really must-hear. For example the "One for my baby" duet in the second CD is outstanding, Sinatra's sentiment and vocal performance can even make one cry!

I recommend this CD for everyone that loves this artist or for people that like musical experiments that turn out good after all. Try it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Boss Does Good, 27 Aug 2006
This review is from: Duets & Duets II: 90th Birthday Edition (Audio CD)
A wonderful collection of duets by Sinatra with some of the greatest singers of our time, classic songs, great singers , wonderfully put together.

The only thing is that this set does not inclued the great "Green green grass of home" by the man himself and Kermit the Frog, a classic of its own and a rare track at that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Old blue eyes at his best!, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duets & Duets II: 90th Birthday Edition (Audio CD)
Lovely Sinatra recordings and the duets make it Sinatra with a twist. All well known recording and the last track with Paverote is amazing, very powerful.
Double CD, so well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent cd!!, 7 Nov 2013
By 
Millenium - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duets & Duets II: 90th Birthday Edition (Audio CD)
Excellent cd!! Recommended. A really good selection of music. This is an amazing album - a 'must-have' collection of brilliant songs spanning the years of quality music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a disapointment not as good as I had hoped for, 3 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duets & Duets II: 90th Birthday Edition (Audio CD)
Nothing special, the versions add nothing to the originals, some of the choice of artists don't sit right with the songs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sinatra fan, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duets & Duets II: 90th Birthday Edition (Audio CD)
My husband loves this - he relaxes listening to Sinatra and as always ends up falling asleep.
Would recommend this to Sinatra fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 1 Dec 2012
By 
Ms. M. Y. Harkins (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duets & Duets II: 90th Birthday Edition (Audio CD)
The wonderful Frank Sinatra can do no wrong as far as I am concerned and the pairing of some of his duet partners is perfect - highly recommend. It was a real bargain too and brilliant for listening to in the car when you get fed up with the constant repetitive modern songs and adverts on the car radio!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars What is all the noise about?, 12 Oct 2012
This review is from: Duets & Duets II: 90th Birthday Edition (Audio CD)
Sinatra I can take or leave.He was a great movie star and signed up Trini Lopez to his label and fathered Nancy who became a damn good country singer.That for me is the positive side
The man who once famously said "rock'n'roll is for cretinous goons" had just made a cover version of what was the first Pat Boone hit Two Hearts Two Kisses.
Although he was without doubt a great singer for my money Pat Boone was an even greater one because he sang the songs Sinatra couldn't.Boone could sing rock'n'roll and was actually the first solo artist to chart high with it
My favorite one by Sinatra is Old McDonald which came at a time when Tommy Sands was his son in law and one of many who had copied Bobby Darin for 5 minutes.Yes Frank copied the idea of the rising semitone Darin employed on Clementine.
Did he ever regret the "cretinous goons" remark? Tommy Sands was a rock'n'roller and many of the duet partners came up through rock'n'roll.Paul Anka who translated My Way was a rock'n'roller.I never understood that remark-did he think Guy Mitchell or Johnny Ray never made rock'n'roll singles.
The Great American Songbook was his stamping ground rather than the Brill Building and he was probably as good as anybody at interpreting it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Old blue eyes" and friends, 20 Dec 2011
By 
Deborah Shayne "prettywoman" (Rome, Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Duets & Duets II: 90th Birthday Edition (Audio CD)
I remember "Friday with Frank" in Philadelphia and Steve Marks, the conductor of the radio program on Friday nights, and have fond memories of Sinatra during the 60s and 70s. Here he is accompanied by all your favorite singers singing the unforgettable lyrics and music which are light years away from most popular music today. These are the love songs you love hearing again and again. I listened to the music and quickly decided to purchase additional cds for my American friends here in Italy for Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Duets & Duets II:  90th Birthday Edition
Duets & Duets II: 90th Birthday Edition by Frank Sinatra (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews