Customer Reviews


107 Reviews
5 star:
 (87)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


89 of 91 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A five-star series; a decent box set
I've loved "The Royle Family" for years. I was lucky enough to be in the UK whilst some of the episodes were originally airing, and some of the moments I saw, Jim scratching himself, the family peering out the front window, and lines like "I'm goin' for an Eartha Kitt" and "Bye bye Dabry Bavid!" have remained with me through the years. Bizarrely, this show has not gained...
Published on 1 Jan. 2011 by Sean Greenwood

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Complete Collection.
The title of this DVD is somewhat misleading as it suggests it has every episode of the Royle Family, which it doesn't with it originally being released in 2010, and so some of the later Christmas specials are missing. Furthermore, the quality of the recording is somewhat questionable as the sound sometimes goes a little quiet, then gets louder and you find yourself...
Published 22 months ago by Kindle Customer


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

89 of 91 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A five-star series; a decent box set, 1 Jan. 2011
By 
Sean Greenwood "Cinephile" (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've loved "The Royle Family" for years. I was lucky enough to be in the UK whilst some of the episodes were originally airing, and some of the moments I saw, Jim scratching himself, the family peering out the front window, and lines like "I'm goin' for an Eartha Kitt" and "Bye bye Dabry Bavid!" have remained with me through the years. Bizarrely, this show has not gained a large audience in the USA, and over there, only Series 1 and Series 2 have been released on DVD. I decided to take the plunge with this box set, (even though just months after release, it is now incomplete as there has been a 2010 Christmas special: The Royle Family - Joe's Crackers [DVD]) as it was discounted to £10.97 (VAT included) at the time I purchased it in November 2010. While it was lovely to revisit the series and to finally see the later Christmas specials, this box set comes up short in the extras department.

Here is what you get:

All three series (twenty episodes) of the program (1998, 1999 and 2000);
The 2006 Christmas special "The Queen of Sheba"
The 2008 Christmas special "The New Sofa"
The 2009 Christmas special "The Golden Egg Cup"

and

The 2006 hour-long documentary, "We Love The Royle Family", which also contains a very brief extra sketch from a Children In Need special on its DVD.

Only English HoH subtitles are included.

The box set is attractively packaged in a sturdy, thick, light blue slipbox, which contains three standard DVD cases inside. The first case contains the three series DVDs, The second case contains the three Christmas special DVDs, and the last case contains a single DVD with the documentary, for a grand total of seven DVDs.

As an aside, this box set carries a '15' solely because of uncensored gag reels on two of the specials, and a few f-words in the documentary. Foe those who don't know, all of the series and the Christmas specials in this set are no stronger than '12' material.

The documentary, which is made up of various famous fans (amongst them, Jimmy McGovern!) praising the show and reminiscing about it, is a nice addition, but simply not enough. Aside from some gag reels and deleted scenes on a couple of the Christmas special DVDs, and additionally, brief cast interviews on "The Queen of Sheba", there are no other special features. Indeed, what is missing from this set are extras for the series itself, and, one would hope, some interviews and audio commentaries from the cast and writers. Also absent are the two 2010 documentaries "Behind the Sofa" and "Royle Family Portraits", both of which premiered on UK GOLD in November 2010, shortly after this box set release.

For those few who have never seen "The Royle Family", or those others outside the UK who are curious, this box set, at its heavily-discounted price, is well worth a blind buy. Obviously, it is PAL-encoded, and you would need special equipment or a computer with a DVD drive to watch it if you live outside Europe. Fans of the series who already own previous box sets and releases should hold out for a more definitive edition, as this is essentially a bundle of the previously-released DVDs with a tribute documentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great collection...but how many more re-releases, 11 Dec. 2010
First of all i am a huge fan of the Royale Family, it is one of the best and ground breaking comedies ever shown on TV, it has all the specials up to the golden egg cup (there's been a murder), but it's Christmas, and lo and behold this means that this will be re-released again with the updated special included.a bit annoying (it has ben released 4 times already) but a great show all the same
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite possibly, the best British TV show ever, 15 May 2006
By 
m.bison (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Royle Family - Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
I don't throw words like "the best British TV show ever" around lightly, but The Royle Family really is that good. Especially the first series. The first series was shown on BBC 2 and it stayed somewhat under the radar - it wasn't until the second and third series were shown on BBC 1 that the show became a national phenomenon. Series 2 and 3 are better than anything else out there, but series 1 is what motivates me to praise The Royle Family so much. It's just so realistic - it's as if we are a fly on the wall in the average working class home. Every character speaks and acts like a real person and, if they weren't on the television set in front of you, you'd swear that Jim Royle and co. were people you knew. If you lived on a council estate and you sat in the living room of your next-door neighbours for half an hour, it would be just like this. This is a show that was highly acclaimed and very well received and yet the characters hardly ever leave the dingy old sofa in their living room. That should tell you how well crafted these characters are.

My only minor quibble with the show is that in series 2 and 3, Dave and Denise go from being a streetwise young couple to silly buffoons with no IQ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the royle family., 15 Dec. 2010
By 
J. Evans (CARDIFF WALES) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
These dvds were brilliant. I have never laughed so much in all my life. I had never seen these programmes before, but i am glad i bought them. The best one for me, was the Queen of Sheba, where Nana died. It was great acting by all the cast. Liz Smith who played Nana was fantastic. Well done to them all. And well done to Amazon for such a quick delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh Out Loud!, 10 Oct. 2002
Like "The Office" This is a cringe worthy comedy. Ricky Tomlinson (Brookside, Nice Guy Eddie) gives an amazing performance as Jim Royle he is head of the household and more importantly head of the remote! Sue Johnson (Brookiside, Waking the Dead) plays the equally fantasic Barb! She's Jim's dopey wife, and mother to Denise (Caroline Aherne) and Anthony (Ralph Little). My favourite character in the show though is Norma. She's Jim mother-in-law and is constantly trying to move into the Royle household. Most if not all of the scenes in the Royle Family take place as the family enjoy an evening infront of the telly! This boxsets contains 18 episodes of this brilliant sitcom which so clevarly written by Caroline Aherene and Craig Cash. In Series 1 The family plan the wedding of Dave and Denise who have many a fall out along the way. In Series 2 Denise announces she's pregnant and series 3 sees the introduction of "Baby David" who like his parents enjoys the tv. The only bad thing about the Royle Family is that it finished too soon. I'd love to see the Royle's return to the screen. This boxset also doesn't include the christmas specials. Which I still haven't seen yet. BUY THIS!
My Arse!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uniquely Brilliant, 20 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This comedy is one of the best I have ever seen - it combines the unique comedy talents of Caroline Aherne (Mrs Merton) and Craig Cash as well as the ever hilarious Ricky Tomlinson (Mike Bassett, England Manager). The series focuses on the typical English council house, and takes a very funny and yet absolutely true look at other types of english life that don't exist anywhere else. Always funny, and yet often dealing with some fairly tough issues situations, the Royle Family is a tribute to the very best of British comedy writing and performing. If you haven't ever seen this series, then don't have any reservations about buying it. If you buy it, you will never stop laughing. Ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Royle are anything but Royal, 25 Jun. 2006
By 
GratuitousViolets "Ash" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Royle Family - Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of the most genius comedy shows ever to have been created.

The genius in this show is that for the most part, it's almost documentary like - some might feel like they're watching Big Brother.

The show revolves around a family of five - Jim Royle, his wife Barbara, their two kids Antony (who starts out at fifteen) and Denise (who starts out at 25), and Denise's fiance Dave (who she later marries.

Unlike many sitcoms, this is one that has a very realistic feel and you can relate to almost everything and every bit of dialogue in every episode.

The house is never clean, there's always tights hanging over the radiator, or the cups are always chipped and cracked. Barbara's leggings are full of holes, and Jim always looks manky. All they generally do is sit in the living room (only very rarely does the venue change to the kitchen, or bedroom), and watch television.

They talk about what they've had for tea, or television shows, or meaningless topics about clothes or people they know. Their conversations are unintelligent, and pointless. Jim moans about there being nothing on the telly while Barbara blethers on about people at work (and Jim usually isn't listening and doesn't really care). Denise complains about Antony (just for the sake of complaining) and Antony - very much the way of teenage boys) keeps himself to himself at home. Dave just sits there, agreeing for the most part with whatever Denise says.

The supporting characters are just as recogniseable as The Royles, from the slightly dipsy Gran who wants to know if the Chicken Tonight advert is scheduled in the TV listings in the Radio Times, to the slightly chubby neighbour, who yo-yo diets, and Antony's friend, who doesn't have a braincell in his head and just laughs at everything.

It's unintelligent yet pure genious comedy, that leaves you thinking of your family, or someone you know. No matter who you are, you'll find it easy to relate to this show...

Buy it - it's concentration-free comedy and as a box set, worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars comedy, 10 Jan. 2011
i bought this item for my partner at christmas, he was absolutely delighted with it , it is amazingly funny with all good actors in the roles, keep watching it over and over as it really entertains
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Royal Family - Complete Collection (2010), 6 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Everything I had hoped it would be, and more, I cried laughing at some of the "out-takes". This one isn't going out on loan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great stuff, 12 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very good don't think you could buy a better dvd like I said great stuff if you want advd then this is the one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Royle Family - Series 1-3 [DVD]
The Royle Family - Series 1-3 [DVD] by Steve Bendelack (DVD - 2006)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews