Customer Reviews


241 Reviews
5 star:
 (182)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back with a Bang
I was extremely excited that Russel T davis was taking over Doctor Who. He is an excellent Writter who adds so many twists and turns that its hard to predict what is going to happen.

Series One (of New who) is a good taster of what is to come in later seasons. It is funny, scary and thrilling to watch and can be enjoyed by both adults and children alike. Doctor...
Published on 23 May 2009 by Mrs. A. L. Holden

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Good doctor and Bad wolf
Doctor Who needs little introduction - a TV sci-fi series that started way back in the 1960's that ran more or less continuously until the late 1980's and was required Saturday night viewing for generations of British kids. It was notable for it's scary monster of the week theme, the changing title role, the Doctor's slightly ramshackle mode of conveyance and the variety...
Published 10 months ago by Crookedmouth


‹ Previous | 122 23 24 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Season Stuff, 14 Nov 2005
This isn't a review at all, but just a well done to "A Viewer" for correcting that Spencer bloke. Nice one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing.....new fan, 14 Mar 2006
By 
Hey
i didnt buy this buyt mum bought it for my brother christmas. it is fantastic. i wasnt a docotor who fan before i saw it btu im now adicted. cant wait for seris 2 now
anyways
BRILL MUST BUY!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Season Twenty-Eight -- Not the FIRST season!, 22 Oct 2005
By 
Spencer Howson (Brisbane, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In the main, the revamped Dr Who is great. However, as a long-term fan of the show, I object to this box set being badged "The First Season" The first season aired from November 1963 and starred William Hartnell as the Doctor. This is Season 28. To label this box-set the First Season is to risk confusion!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dr Who?, 29 Sep 2014
By 
Ian Hannah "Quality First" (Dunfermline, Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Did not watch it. A present for a third party!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Watching, 30 Sep 2006
By 
Scince i was a boy i watched most of the old doctor who programmes and was suprised there has been 9 doctors even more than that !!!

i likeda ll the first series episodes shame the box set is only available in the USA after all isnt Doctor Who British ????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Big disapointment, 1 Nov 2007
After sixteen years of virtually nothing, and a mountain of hype we got this new 2005 series of Doctor Who. Sadly, it is designed to compete with the US sci-fi TV productions rather than retain the charm and wit of the old series (1963-89). We now have to suffer gurning laddish Doctors and cockney stereotype companions, and the whole thing is designed for someone with the attention span of a millisecond.

Puerile, childish humour with farting aliens and pigs in space suits; angst-ridden daleks and the constant threat of relations between the Doctor and the companion.

Great special effects and widescreen presentation are no match for charm and wit. For examples of the original series' superiority: The Talons of Weng-Chiang, Logopolis, Inferno, Genesis of the Daleks, Pyramids of Mars, Horror of Fang Rock....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 115 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good to see the Doctor back on our screens, 22 April 2005
Christopher Ecclestone certainly seemed an inspired casting decision. However, it has tramspired from early episodes that this Doctor's main idiosyncrasy is uttering the word 'Fantastic' with a fairly inane grin at least once per episode. Albeit that Doctor Who's success is not based on deep substance, one can't help feeling a little more character could have been injected by such an excellent writing team. The recent casting of David Tennant as Ecclestone's successor is even more inspired and to be looked forward to with possibly the greatest expectation of any regeneration. Tennant has the raw material to become the first Doctor to challenge Tom Baker's benchmark performance if the writers this time equip him with enough visual quirks. The main problem of knowing Tennant is on his way is that it takes away a little from the remaining Ecclestone episodes yet to be screened, as there is a genuine feeling that the first great Doctor Who era of the 21st century will follow after the present run.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 97 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars All Hype And No Substance, 17 Aug 2007
When I first heard Doctor Who was coming back onto our screens after a sixteen year absence I was as excited as any other fan could be. With all the huge improvements in special effects and a much bigger budget how could it possibly fail to be anything other than great television, my expectations were sky high. To say the new series came as a bitter disappointment would be a massive understatement.

I had been a great fan of the first four doctors from the original series for as long as I can remember and though I tended to lose interest after the Tom Baker years I none the less retained a great affection for the show. The program used to have a recognizable story line, interesting characters and for the most part imaginative scripts courtesy of the writers. The new series has none of these. You just have to compare the abilities of a modern writer such as Russell T Davies or any of the others involved to the likes of Terry Nation, Malcolm Hulke, Robert Holmes and Douglas Adams to name but a few to know where the cream of talent resides, i.e in the past.

Christopher Eccleston is a good actor but because the Doctor's characterization in the script is so poor Eccleston goes around the whole time with a cheesy smile and generally flounders about trying to find something to work with within the void that has been written for him. Is it any wonder he chucked the part after just one season?.

Billie Piper may have a dormant talent hidden somewhere deep within her and if so then I wish she would hurry up and find it because she certainly cannot act. First we had to endure her pop career and none ability to sing being thrust down our throats for a couple of years, now it seems we're in for the long haul as far as her none ability to act is concerned. 'Good Looks' does not automatically mean someone has talent. The character of Rose is particularly boring and with the way Piper plays it, totally devoid of interest.

The stories are all rush and push, the point seemingly being to get the whole thing over as quickly as possible so the viewers don't get a moment to think. It's depressing to believe that audiences seem to have the concentration span of a particularly lazy amoeba these days. How people can get conned into thinking this sort of rubbish is quality telly I cannot begin to imagine!.

Next gripe is about the humour. There has always been quite a good amount of humour involved with Doctor Who, particularly with Patrick Troughton and Tom Baker. This was usually in context, with good-natured banter between the Doctor and his companions or the ribbing of an enemy such as Davros which made an excellent 'straight man' for Tom's Doctor. It was excruciatingly embarrassing when Eccleston's Doctor told one of the monsters to "stop farting" or words to that effect in one of the episodes and I would have difficulty in coming up with anything more unsubtle in it's place. Nobody would write a new Three Men In A Boat book complete with 'Nob Gags' or remake HMS Pinafore with Captain Corcoran walking out of the lavatory saying "I'd give it ten minutes if I were you", so why plunder and destroy the legacy of an all-time si-fi classic?.

In short, if this is the best that modern television can do then I personally will stick with the old stuff. This new series is cheaper in every respect apart from the money it took to make it. It is dross for the Reality TV generation and they can keep it!. A fabulous opportunity sadly lost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Season 28!, 3 Nov 2005
By A Customer
In reply to Spencer below this series should not be labelled season 28. The last series in 1989 before the programme got the chop was season 26 and the Paul McGann TV movie from 1996 does not count as a season as it was a one off story. So with this in mind this new series should be seen as Season 27. How do I know? Because I'm a proper Dr Who fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To me the best, 21 Jun 2005
From episode 1 the truth is being revealed, Bad wolf is every where. The Doctor in his 9th life meets up with Rose who soon becomes his new assistant, together she help's him defeate an old foe the Autons.
In episode 6 the Doctor meets his dedliest enemie again the Daleks, this is only the start; in the last 2 episodes the Daleks reveal that one ship of the destroyed fleet has survived. Rose does the only thing she can look into the heart of the Tardis which give her the power to send the Daleks away but for how long.
The Doctor returns the power back into the Tardis, but at a price his body begins to regenerate again into his tenth persona.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 122 23 24 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews