Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More of the same - in a good way
MacGyver season two sensibly sticks with the winning formula of the first year. Mac has now left his government job to work for the rather loosely defined Phoenix Foundation, but that's really just a cosmetic change to give the writers more options. (Not that it reduces the number of episodes where he just happens to be in the wrong place at the wrong time, of...
Published on 31 Mar. 2006 by ACR

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars de ja vu
if you liked the first season (it is american), you'll see loads of it in this one, not one clip show, not two but a whole host, all the best bits in a line of clip shows. it is sad, but original episodes are good, even one with clip flashbacks to events not in S1.
Published 17 months ago by Dubious Status


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More of the same - in a good way, 31 Mar. 2006
By 
This review is from: Macgyver: Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
MacGyver season two sensibly sticks with the winning formula of the first year. Mac has now left his government job to work for the rather loosely defined Phoenix Foundation, but that's really just a cosmetic change to give the writers more options. (Not that it reduces the number of episodes where he just happens to be in the wrong place at the wrong time, of course.)
Another, more concrete change is that the role of MacGyver's buddy/boss Pete has been bulked up, and another recurring character added in the form of Mac's old friend Jack Dalton. It's a good move, since Mac's at his best with somebody to play off, and the show's been let down before by inconsistent chemistry with guest stars.
The quality of the episodes varies - I found some brilliant, others a bit dull in places - but overall, this season is just as entertaining as the first year. MacGyver is one of the most human heroes I've seen in an action series; he may be endlessly inventive and an implausibly nice guy, but he also spends a lot of his time visibly scared or nervous, he gets winded, and it hurts his hand when he punches people.
The plots are sometimes predictable or silly, there's some blatant actor re-use and some endearingly bad 80s visual effects, but none of that detracts from the show's main strength in the slightest: it's enormously fun to watch. If you liked the first season, you'll like this one. If you haven't seen the first season... well, you can probably watch this one first without spoiling anything. Good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A gift gone mad, 15 May 2009
By 
Janet Stuckey "oneillfan" (Gloucestershire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
MacGyver - Series 2 - Complete [DVD]
I was actually bought this dvd for Christmas with Season 1.
I had seen and liked the series on TV. I ended up buying a multi region dvd player so that I could watch all the series as some of them were only available in region 1 format (seasons 5 - 7) Richard Dean Anderson is my man of the moment and he is so convincing as MacGyver the man who can make anything work given a swiss army knife a paper clip and a roll of duct tape.
Fantastic series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Macgyver finds the right solution, 17 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Macgyver: Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The series really comes into its own in this second season. Now becoming an addict. Some recurring characters add a good dimension to the action and Richard Dean Anderson is great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MacGyver - Series 2 - Complete [DVD] [1986], 4 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Collector of the series and this was no dissapointment. I would definitely recommend it. Great if you are a MacGyver fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MacGyver, 12 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Macgyver: Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant - I love it. Got the first series so wanted the second too.This takes me back to my childhood lol
A*****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MacGyver - Series 2, 9 April 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Macgyver: Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
An Excellent Series!

I really enjoyed watching this and would recommend it to all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars South African, 28 Aug. 2005
By 
CISD (South Africa) - See all my reviews
I'm from South Africa and really enjoyed the McGywver series when it was shown here. I enjoyed it so much that I bought the first season & was dissappointed to find that season 2 is only available for region 1. Is it possible to get the dvd on region 2?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Macgyver: Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent and smooth transaction!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
By 
J. J. Clark "goldcrest" (milford haven, pembrokeshire,uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Macgyver: Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
It's Macgyver - enough said!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars de ja vu, 24 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Macgyver: Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
if you liked the first season (it is american), you'll see loads of it in this one, not one clip show, not two but a whole host, all the best bits in a line of clip shows. it is sad, but original episodes are good, even one with clip flashbacks to events not in S1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Macgyver: Season 2 [DVD]
Macgyver: Season 2 [DVD] by Richard Dean Anderson (DVD - 2006)
£24.18
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews