Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Muppetry
Although not in the same class as the likes of The Muppet Christmas Carol [DVD] and Muppet Treasure Island [DVD], this is nonetheless a lot of fun, with all the favourite muppets represented and plenty of killer lines.
The story is basically the same as the original MGM musical, and despite some dire songs the movie manages to entertain throughout.
Published on 6 Feb. 2012 by Scaroth, Last of the Jagaroth

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Other muppets much better
ALL MUPPETS are good but this is the worst out the bunch get treasure island and christmas carol instead but its ok if you've not seen it.certain people ruin the film
Published on 17 April 2011 by Dan the bell man


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Muppetry, 6 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Muppets' Wizard of Oz [DVD] (DVD)
Although not in the same class as the likes of The Muppet Christmas Carol [DVD] and Muppet Treasure Island [DVD], this is nonetheless a lot of fun, with all the favourite muppets represented and plenty of killer lines.
The story is basically the same as the original MGM musical, and despite some dire songs the movie manages to entertain throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Other muppets much better, 17 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Muppets' Wizard of Oz [DVD] (DVD)
ALL MUPPETS are good but this is the worst out the bunch get treasure island and christmas carol instead but its ok if you've not seen it.certain people ruin the film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh god my eyes, They burn, 28 April 2014
This review is from: The Muppets' Wizard of Oz [DVD] (DVD)
As a huge muppet fan I get all the movies, This is bar far the worst thing I have ever watched in my life, Is there a - Star rating?
Terrible "acting" and just terrible in general
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sadly disappointing, 19 May 2008
By 
D. Vincent - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Muppets' Wizard of Oz [DVD] (DVD)
As a die-hard muppet fan, I'm prepared and in fact delighted to swallow lots of cheesy jokes and silly songs and fun twists to classic plots, but I'm afraid this obviously made-for-TV outing was more or less a disappointment all around. Ashanti didn't seem to really buy in to muppet co-stars and always appeared to be acting. Now, hamming it up is totally appropriate and in fact necessary when you have muppet co-stars: I could believe that Nicky Holiday (Great Muppet Caper played by Charles Grodin) was passionately in love with Miss Piggy. Also, a lot of the plot changes were, well, boring and cheap (literally). The script usually fell flat and was at points in poor taste. (It was slightly disturbing to have the heroine of a family film say "I feel so confident and sexy" when doffing her sparkly shoes. Again, jokes in poor taste are standard muppet fare, but I'm not sure that was a joke or even consciously in poor taste.) Even for die-hard muppet fans, it's ok to give this one a miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best wizard of oz adaptation yet, 14 Aug. 2013
This review is from: The Muppets' Wizard of Oz [DVD] (DVD)
This film is absolutely fantastic. This film was the first muppet movie that I have bought and I found it very funny. I find it much better than the original version of the wizard of oz. I think that they did an amazing job of casting the muppets for the right roles especially Miss Piggy who got chosen for playing the four witches and I think that she does best in playing the good witches because both of the witches are just like her
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Piggy steals the whole shebang, 25 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Muppet's Wizard Of Oz (DVD)
As always with a Muppet film you have a hit and you have a miss. This is a tv movie and its quite clear and its a so so film. Ashanti is sassy - Latifah should have been in in more. Miss Piggy is great as the witch but the songs are pretty forgettable...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 5 Jan. 2010
By 
R. Davies (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Muppets' Wizard of Oz [DVD] (DVD)
This is a poor adaptation. The Muppets themselves are quite entertaining in places (with the exception of Miss Piggy as the hopelessly unscary biker-witch), but Ashanti is a very weak, unconvincing actress and causes the whole thing to fall flat. A better "human" cast could have improved this film significantly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The muppet dvd oz, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Muppets' Wizard of Oz [DVD] (DVD)
Daghter wanted it ,we brought it, she loves it, great service, quick resonse. Recommend to anyone to buy. if you love the muppets you will love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's the Muppets, it's going to be good!, 21 Feb. 2013
By 
Ms. T. Miller "daisyhill" (brighton,uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Muppets' Wizard of Oz [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant Muppet Movie. Bought as a present, I already have it. Our friend loved it too. Muppets and Wizard of Oz...what better combination!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars save your money, 15 Jun. 2012
This review is from: The Muppets' Wizard of Oz [DVD] (DVD)
This is without doubt the worse Muppets film ever!! no wonder went stright to dvd.
The script, story and acting particularly of the human charectors is awful and beyond hammy.
While some of the muppets get a few laughs particularly Pépe, however there is very little if none of the multi appeal that makes the Muppets so great . Kids might find it mildy entertaining on the first viewing but there is nothing in it for adults. After all the fact the muppets appeal to all makes them so liked by all.
The quality of the the dvd and image is really poor and sometimes it actually goes fuzzy .
I cant ephasise how bad it is and the human acting awful!!!
I am a big Muppets fan and i am so terrible disspointed by it , save your money it not worth much .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Muppets' Wizard of Oz [DVD]
The Muppets' Wizard of Oz [DVD] by Kirk R. Thatcher (DVD - 2006)
£4.41
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews