Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Partial remedy
After the unfocused but commercially successful "Ain't Complaining" came this 1989 effort, commercially unsuccessful but more in character. "Perfect Remedy" is one of Quo's least known albums and scored just one minor hit but it features several fine rock songs that suggest the band were shaking off their previous pop foibles. There are however four songs here...
Published on 7 Feb. 2006 by D. J. H. Thorn

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Underrated
I've just returned to this album after almost 20 years of it gathering dust in my collection and I don't know why but it sounds a lot better than I rememebr it. It's not up there with classic Quo and it's some distance behind their latest album (In Search of the Fourth Chord) hence the three star rating but it's certainly not as bad, I don't think, as some harcore Quo...
Published on 7 April 2008 by S. Hopkins


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Underrated, 7 April 2008
This review is from: Perfect Remedy (Audio CD)
I've just returned to this album after almost 20 years of it gathering dust in my collection and I don't know why but it sounds a lot better than I rememebr it. It's not up there with classic Quo and it's some distance behind their latest album (In Search of the Fourth Chord) hence the three star rating but it's certainly not as bad, I don't think, as some harcore Quo fans would have you believe. So if you're new to Quo this isn't the greatest example of their work but I would say there's seven tracks that hint at the band's glorious past, one of which, the Power of Rock, is in my opinion a classic Quo track. The title track, Little Dreamer and Man Overboard also rock along nicely like the Quo who gave us Caroline etc. Many detractors cite this album as the depth of Quo's slide into country-tinged, keyboard-led pop in the 80s and 90s and certainly Not at All (bland), Tommy (cheesy lyrics), 1000 Years (syrupy ballad) and both Going Down for the First Time and Address Book (very country) will never be favourites and are missing that bit of snarl and swagger which is the hallmark of Quo songs. However, Heart On Hold, The Way I Am and Throw Her a Line, whilst undeniably pop, are worth a listen. Perfect Remedy is not classic Quo but is, in my opnion, an underrated album with some gems on it; not the album to start your Quo collection but worth discovering if you want to know what the band have done beyond the hits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unfortunately, far from perfect!, 3 April 2006
By 
Bazzer (Eastbourne, England.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Perfect Remedy (Audio CD)
With 'Perfect Remedy', Status Quo found themselves with a flop album on their hands for the first time since 'Dog Of Two Head' failed to chart 18 years previously. Unfortunately, whereas the 1971 album was a top class effort, nothing of the sort can be said about 'Perfect Remedy'.
To be fair, the album isn't that bad - certainly not as bad as the chart position suggests ('Perfect Remedy' only got to No 49 in the charts) and, in my view, the album is still better than their previous effort, 'Ain't Complaining'.
Indeed, songs like 'Little Dreamer', 'Not At All', 'Man Overboard' and the title track are all good tunes, along with 'The Power Of Rock' - quite possible the best ballad Quo have ever done.
Unfortunately, when you've got four country-rock songs on the record, then you know you're not going to hear Quo at their best. Indeed, 'Address Book', 'Going Down For The First Time' and '1000 Years' are, quite frankly, sub par, along with 'Tommy's In Love' (My personal choice for worst Quo song ever!)
But what ultimately sinks 'Perfect Remedy' is the production. Pip Williams slick, poppy sound just doesn't fit Quo at all, and was certainly not what fans wanted to hear. Indeed, anybody who heard 'Little Dreamer' and 'Perfect Remedy' being played live on tour would say that these songs sounded much better than they did on the record.
Listening to the bonus track, again I find myself puzzling over Quo's song selection for the album. 'Gone Thru The Slips', 'Rotten To The Bone' and 'Doing It All For You', whilst not classics, are far better in my view than the country-rock tunes that were on the record, and had these been included, I feel that the album would have been a lot better for it.
Francis Rossi recently said that he didn't know why 'Perfect Remedy' did so poorly. Personally, I feel its simply because Quo broke the number one rule: they didn't give the fans what they wanted.
Nevertheless, now having heard the bonus songs, for me 'Perfect Remedy' - along with the previous 'Ain't Complaining' - is a frustrating 'could've been' album. In other words: could've been so much better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Partial remedy, 7 Feb. 2006
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Remedy (Audio CD)
After the unfocused but commercially successful "Ain't Complaining" came this 1989 effort, commercially unsuccessful but more in character. "Perfect Remedy" is one of Quo's least known albums and scored just one minor hit but it features several fine rock songs that suggest the band were shaking off their previous pop foibles. There are however four songs here that prove they hadn't completely cured the tendency.
"Address Book" and "Going Down For The First Time" are from Francis Rossi's melodic country rock muse, while "Tommy's In Love" and "1000 Years" are soapy ballads. The other eight tracks are a pretty strong collection though. "The Power Of Rock" is an anthemic track that builds, drawing you in through gradual twists and an increasing tempo and volume. "Little Dreamer", "Not At All" and "Perfect Remedy" all hark back to earlier glories. "Heart On Hold", with its arresting harmonies, sounds more like the type of track you'd get from an American rock band as do "The Way I Am" and "Man Overboard". "Throw Her A Line" meanwhile bears a partial resemblance to Roxy Music's "Virginia Plain", though not enough to draw a lawsuit.
Francis Rossi later remarked that recording to click tracks didn't exactly enliven Quo's sound. Certainly, Quo are one of those bands whose music hasn't benefited from the digital age. We're not likely to hear another album with the animal excitement of "Piledriver", but here at least Quo are for the most part convincing. They even manage to accommodate the keyboards without them being too intrusive, unlike on the previous three albums.
As for the bonus material, the three studio b-sides are decent fare, especially "Rotten To The Bone". "The Anniversary Waltz" single is out of place but its b-side is a welcome reminder of how band and audience combined on "Dirty Water" in concert.
Only just four stars for this and a distance behind their best material but satisfying nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Status Quo - Perfect Remedy, 8 May 2011
This review is from: Perfect Remedy (Audio CD)
Not a popular album at all with many old Quo fans but I happen to also enjoy the other material that Quo can produce as well as the trademark rock and boogie that we fans all love. 'Power of Rock' is the main rock song on the album, but then it also has lovely ballads like '1000 Years' and cheeky Rossi style country songs like 'Address Book' and also 'Going Down For The First Time'. Lots of other catchy good time songs too - which for me are what Qyo are also all about!

I really like it and as a lighter Quo style album its sits next to my other Quo albums like the classic 'Quo' and 'Piledriver' etc as a nice contrast really well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 29 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Remedy (Audio CD)
Purchase was deliverd promptly and as usual quo were rocking it out really enjoyed this purchase still listening and rocking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The worst Qup album by some distance., 27 Oct. 2012
This review is from: Perfect remedy (1989) (Audio CD)
Like a previous reviewer has said, the production on this album is thin and bland, but then again, so are the songs.
The album has no redeeming features and I would only consider buying this to complete a collection.
For anyone just discovering the band, there are numerous places to start... start at Quid Quo Pro and work your way back, or at Ma Kellys Greasy Spoon and work forward and you won't be disappointed....anything but this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible, 1 Feb. 2015
By 
Charlie (Dark side of the moon) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Perfect Remedy (Audio CD)
A shocking let down after the slick Ain't complaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Remedy (Audio CD)
a missing part of my collection thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not changing the Status Quo, 14 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Perfect Remedy (Audio CD)
I decided to review Status Quo's albums in the same way they play their music.
Not much to write about here. This record is exactly the same, as the one released the previous year. The only difference being the title and the record cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Perfect Remedy
Perfect Remedy by Status Quo (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews