Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Package
This is a superb package, two Oklahomas for the price of one, it`s quite enjoyable if you are a film buff to compare the cinemascope version to the Todd AO as they were shot separately not simultaneously.

The extras are top notch with voiceover commentaries over each film available, from which you can learn a lot.

There is a singalong option and I...
Published on 9 Oct 2006 by A. Nettleingham

versus
52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not so Special Edition
Beware, this is a disappointment. Expectations were high that this would be a definitive TODD-AO version of the film, which was the preferred version of Rodgers & Hammerstein. Indeed, they were persuaded to film it on the evidence of the superlative picture/sound quality available in the system. Sadly, the print quality is the worst I have seen in a DVD. Fox do prepare...
Published on 21 Mar 2006


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Package, 9 Oct 2006
By 
A. Nettleingham "Filmlover" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oklahoma: 2-disc [Special Edition] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a superb package, two Oklahomas for the price of one, it`s quite enjoyable if you are a film buff to compare the cinemascope version to the Todd AO as they were shot separately not simultaneously.

The extras are top notch with voiceover commentaries over each film available, from which you can learn a lot.

There is a singalong option and I thought it was a nice touch to include an option whereby you can just play all the musical numbers.

Its true that the Todd AO version lacks some quality but I found this only a minor thing, it is so nice to see the new version.

All in all you could not ask for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not so Special Edition, 21 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Oklahoma: 2-disc [Special Edition] [DVD] (DVD)
Beware, this is a disappointment. Expectations were high that this would be a definitive TODD-AO version of the film, which was the preferred version of Rodgers & Hammerstein. Indeed, they were persuaded to film it on the evidence of the superlative picture/sound quality available in the system. Sadly, the print quality is the worst I have seen in a DVD. Fox do prepare you for this with a screen apology before the titles and I suspect that the original 70mm version has suffered from poor film preservation over the half century of its existence.

Many younger viewers will never have seen the original TODD-AO Road Show version and I'm afraid will not be impressed with this offering.The CinemaScope version (to be found on Disc 1 of this 2 Disc issue) is excellent for its age and the DVD is worth having for this alone as previous issues were dreadful pan and scan versions.

The music however is a delight and the narration from Shirley Jones is a welcome extra. If you have or are about to order the new Special Edition of 'SOUTH PACIFIC', which also contains the TODD-AO version, you will see the quality that made TODD-AO so exciting - it is excellent. What a pity this print of OKLAHOMA doesn't come near to the same quality.

Update: Having now lived with the TODD-AO version since its Region 2 issue in March, I have to admit I prefer it to the CinemaScope version. Tweak your TV a little and its completely enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An ultimately fantastic film, 15 Dec 2004
This review is from: Oklahoma! [VHS] [1955] (VHS Tape)
It's a Rodgers and Hammerstein production so obviously it seems to go on forever but in this case it doesn't seem to matter.
Gordon MacRae and Shirley Jones are highly watchable as the two leads while the subplot involving the love triangle between Ado Annie, the peddler and Will Parker also provides entertainment.
The dances are wonderfully choreographed, in particular Gene Nelson's superb solo dance for 'Kansas City' which has me bouncing up and down in time with the music.
Songs are tuned to perfection as is expected from these writers but for me the standouts are the well-known 'People Will Say We're In Love', 'Oklahoma' and 'Many A New Day' which is my personal favourite simply because of the high notes that Jones reaches that seem impossible to the untrained.
As for the story, a simple enough love story which still seems to add something new to the genre.
If there was one thing I was annoyed about when I first watched the film it was the length. However the songs and suspense of the last hour made it less of a trial.
Ultimately, I would recommend to anyone at all interested in musicals or to anyone just wanting an enjoyable experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poor Transfer To DVD, 13 April 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oklahoma! [DVD] [1955] (DVD)
Someone needs shooting at Fox or who ever did the transfer for the region 2 DVD. Some how they must have found the oldest Mono copy of this film, with an aspect ratio of 4.3 rather than the wondeful cinemascope version with full stereo sound that is available in the region 1 DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great old classic with wonderful music, 19 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Oklahoma! [VHS] [1955] (VHS Tape)
Ok...so it's really dated & the acting is hammy (but charming nevertheless!). This is a wonderful sentimental version of the great musical. The vocals by the leads are unbeatable, and I rate this film right up there with West Side Story as one of the Classic Musicals of its time. Warmly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kismet, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oklahoma: 2-disc [Special Edition] [DVD] (DVD)
Because the original was first class and I was delighted to hear the different version because the original was so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful songs, lovely film, 1 Oct 2013
By 
Xtal "Xtal" (South Coast, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oklahoma: 2-disc [Special Edition] [DVD] (DVD)
Can't really recommend this enough if you like musicals. A lot of fun to watch. The song 'Poor Jud is dead' was a classic and Rod Stieger (not sure of the spelling) once again proved he is one of America's best ever actors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh what a beautiful film, 31 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oklahoma: 2-disc [Special Edition] [DVD] (DVD)
Just love the voice of the late Gordon McCrae, his rendition of 'Oh what a beautiful morning' lifts ones spirits, a handsome Baratone and a lovely Soprano Shirley Jones, they sing the songs effortlessly, whats not to like about this film, give yourself a treat and buy it, I also love the Hugh Jackman stage version, excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Desperately poor transfer, 20 Mar 2013
By 
A. Jones "TheAshleyJones" (Llundain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oklahoma! [DVD] [1955] (DVD)
I bought my parents the R1 version of this disk years ago as it wasn't available in an R2 release. I had to rip the dual layer DVD to two single DVD-R disks so they could watch it on their region locked DVD player. There was literally no legal way they could watch this film. Until now!

Today they received this copy and the difference is staggering. We A/B'd the two to make sure the BluRay player wasn't broken.

Perhaps the worst DVD transfer I have ever seen. Awful 4:3 pan and scan. DREADFUL noise/grain in the image and poor audio. A modern 1080P TV can be very unforgiving and this is unwatchable.

I understand companies have to maximise their profits. Apparently at any expense. Why on earth would they use a different transfer to the lovely clean 16:9 R1 version? An utter disgrace and a triumph of capitalism over art that the idiotic regionialisation means that once again we are made to feel like a third world country.

Do not waste your money. Shame on you Fox. Shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 21 Oct 2010
By 
K. Finch (Washington, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oklahoma! [DVD] [1955] (DVD)
Excellent condition, exactly as described. Postage was extremely fast. No problems at all, thank you for a brilliant product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oklahoma: 2-disc [Special Edition]  [DVD]
Oklahoma: 2-disc [Special Edition] [DVD] by Jennie Workman (DVD - 2006)
5.71
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews