Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Package
This is a superb package, two Oklahomas for the price of one, it`s quite enjoyable if you are a film buff to compare the cinemascope version to the Todd AO as they were shot separately not simultaneously.

The extras are top notch with voiceover commentaries over each film available, from which you can learn a lot.

There is a singalong option and I...
Published on 9 Oct 2006 by A. Nettleingham

versus
52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not so Special Edition
Beware, this is a disappointment. Expectations were high that this would be a definitive TODD-AO version of the film, which was the preferred version of Rodgers & Hammerstein. Indeed, they were persuaded to film it on the evidence of the superlative picture/sound quality available in the system. Sadly, the print quality is the worst I have seen in a DVD. Fox do prepare...
Published on 21 Mar 2006


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Package, 9 Oct 2006
By 
A. Nettleingham "Filmlover" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oklahoma: 2-disc [Special Edition] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a superb package, two Oklahomas for the price of one, it`s quite enjoyable if you are a film buff to compare the cinemascope version to the Todd AO as they were shot separately not simultaneously.

The extras are top notch with voiceover commentaries over each film available, from which you can learn a lot.

There is a singalong option and I thought it was a nice touch to include an option whereby you can just play all the musical numbers.

Its true that the Todd AO version lacks some quality but I found this only a minor thing, it is so nice to see the new version.

All in all you could not ask for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not so Special Edition, 21 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Oklahoma: 2-disc [Special Edition] [DVD] (DVD)
Beware, this is a disappointment. Expectations were high that this would be a definitive TODD-AO version of the film, which was the preferred version of Rodgers & Hammerstein. Indeed, they were persuaded to film it on the evidence of the superlative picture/sound quality available in the system. Sadly, the print quality is the worst I have seen in a DVD. Fox do prepare you for this with a screen apology before the titles and I suspect that the original 70mm version has suffered from poor film preservation over the half century of its existence.

Many younger viewers will never have seen the original TODD-AO Road Show version and I'm afraid will not be impressed with this offering.The CinemaScope version (to be found on Disc 1 of this 2 Disc issue) is excellent for its age and the DVD is worth having for this alone as previous issues were dreadful pan and scan versions.

The music however is a delight and the narration from Shirley Jones is a welcome extra. If you have or are about to order the new Special Edition of 'SOUTH PACIFIC', which also contains the TODD-AO version, you will see the quality that made TODD-AO so exciting - it is excellent. What a pity this print of OKLAHOMA doesn't come near to the same quality.

Update: Having now lived with the TODD-AO version since its Region 2 issue in March, I have to admit I prefer it to the CinemaScope version. Tweak your TV a little and its completely enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kismet, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oklahoma: 2-disc [Special Edition] [DVD] (DVD)
Because the original was first class and I was delighted to hear the different version because the original was so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful songs, lovely film, 1 Oct 2013
By 
Xtal "Xtal" (South Coast, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oklahoma: 2-disc [Special Edition] [DVD] (DVD)
Can't really recommend this enough if you like musicals. A lot of fun to watch. The song 'Poor Jud is dead' was a classic and Rod Stieger (not sure of the spelling) once again proved he is one of America's best ever actors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh what a beautiful film, 31 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oklahoma: 2-disc [Special Edition] [DVD] (DVD)
Just love the voice of the late Gordon McCrae, his rendition of 'Oh what a beautiful morning' lifts ones spirits, a handsome Baratone and a lovely Soprano Shirley Jones, they sing the songs effortlessly, whats not to like about this film, give yourself a treat and buy it, I also love the Hugh Jackman stage version, excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is an excellent buy, both versions and lots of extras, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oklahoma: 2-disc [Special Edition] [DVD] (DVD)
Cannot fault this putting together of both versions, see the CinemaScope version and then pick up lots of extra material as well, excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good ole classic, 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oklahoma: 2-disc [Special Edition] [DVD] (DVD)
Lovely to see an old classic in colour....sound quality was lacking and have to put the TV up to full volume to hear it comfortably.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Childhood memory,, 9 Nov 2011
By 
alley kat (west yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oklahoma: 2-disc [Special Edition] [DVD] (DVD)
I remember being taken to see this Film in all its glory
way back in the 50's, I was on a nostalgia trip when I ordered
it, I enjoyed most of it, although it does come across as a bit
corny & sugary in todays world, it was made in different times,
It was best left in my childhood innocence, some great songs though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars oklahoma dvd, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oklahoma: 2-disc [Special Edition] [DVD] (DVD)
I purchased this dvd for my daughter who has severe learning dissabilities, she had seen this film while attending her day sevices unit.
Having watched the film there,she wanted a copy of her own.
It arrived on time rthank god,as she was driving us mad waiting for it.It has neer been off the player since it arrived
I have no hesitarion in recomending this seller, so five stars given by me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ooooooh! It's brilliant!, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oklahoma: 2-disc [Special Edition] [DVD] (DVD)
It's an old fashioned, corny, innocent musical but the music (especially the orchestration) is full of surprises with all the usual jinks and turns of harmonic inventiveness
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa3d1a0d8)

This product

Oklahoma: 2-disc [Special Edition]  [DVD]
Oklahoma: 2-disc [Special Edition] [DVD] by Jennie Workman (DVD - 2006)
5.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews