Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Learn more

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars10
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£14.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 March 2013
Saw this film back in 1981. Now watching it 32 yrs later I realise how bad the acting and screenplay is.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2006
This film is so bad I have given it five stars as you really have to see it to believe that film-making can be so atrocious. Let me explain...

Imagine compiling a check-list for all the things that make a film bad:

- Crappy acting

- Budget set and props

- Dubbed from a foreign language (badly)

- Bad set lighting

- Overuse of zooming and panning

- Soundtrack composed on an early 1980s Casio keyboard

Add to this a DVD recording that had been taken from an old VHS tape (i.e. lots of red running) and the morally repulsive premise that the film is based on, and you have what I - and my two friends who watched it with me - consider to be the worst film of all time.

Please don't get me wrong. I am not anti-Semitic. The Holocaust and the Nazis were utterly vile. But this film is so ridiculous and in such bad taste that if you are a fan of film, 'SS Experimental Love Camp' is a must see. As biziarre as it sounds the three of us watching it spent the first twenty minutes (out of a mercifully short 93 minutes) laughing so hard it hurted. Curiously, the original title of 'SS Experimental Love Camp' was changed on this DVD release to 'SS Experimental Camp' - although surely not for reasons of taste?!

On reflection, three things were memorable - 1) the cheap temperature controller (a bit of wood and some paint, cobbled together by someone who was clearly blind and arm-less), 2) the SS sergeant who laughs like Beavis and Butthead, and 3) that from here on every film I see will be better than at least one other.

Recommended.
22 comments|40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2011
What a totally execrable piece of mindless garbage.

Yes this is the legendary video nasty banned in 1984. The flimsy storyline is an excuse for lots of topless blonde ladies to run around, Benny Hill fashion with their breasts out, while camp officers (ie, camp as in Julian Clary) obsess about them. Super cheap 1970s style titilation before the age of free internet porn for the kind of people you wouldn't want babysitting your kids. There is a stupid sub plot where some stud prisoner has his testicles surgically removed and grafted onto the Camp (yes, think Julian Clary again) Commandent. It is exploitative cinema at its most dreadful. To be clear, the acting is apalling, the script is trite and non existent, it is badly dubbed, laughably badly edited, obviously it is factually inacurate and probably does a massive disservice to the real memory of the true attrocities which occured in the real nazi concentration camps. The only reason to watch it is to prove that it really is a video nasty. Sadly not for the right reasons of gore and violence, but simply that it is a possible contender for the title of crappest film ever made. My only excuse for watching it was to see what I was banned from seeing - I wish I hadn't bothered as it only survives today due to the controversy of being on the banned list.

If you want to see the worthwhile video nasties then get hold of the truly marvelous Cannibal Holocaust (an uncut copy if you can), Friday 13th inspired The Burning, The Beyond, Zombie Flesheaters and for the more arty, Possession starring Sam Neill and Isabelle Adjani (now why that one was banned when it received various film plaudits really is a mystery). Just dont waste your time with this rubbish unless you really think Carry On mentality is cutting edge.

What an irony that it was labelled a video nasty. An even greater irony that it was ever re-released as every copy should have been destroyed on grounds of turkey film making. This truly is a hypocritical case of having seen it, I dont think you should. I simply want to save you from wasting your time or money...
22 comments|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2008
What can I say. It was a cross between a 70's Hammer House horror film and a confessions adult movie. You just have to see it, to experience how bad this film is. What all the fuss is about I dont know.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2015
What a load of rubbish my cat could have made a better film than this!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2014
A rather nondescript run of the mill type of film. No real story line which bore no reality to what these camps were really like.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2013
Well ok but too 70s in style and not good enough to be a sex movies more of a cult movie.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2014
EXCELLENT
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2014
Brill
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2015
Ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.