Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars START!
I was brought up on the Jam and own pretty much everything Weller has done, but still I will buy this Why? because it is a great Jam comp, yes there are tracks missing but still it is a brillant comp.

If you have every not heard of the Jam {can there really be people out there like that?} then this is the perfect start.
Published on 14 May 2006 by Mr Happy

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Story of The Jam
I know there have been quite a number of Jam releases over the last number of years...and here's another one......not bad really....but I would like to note that at least this has good packaging...a glossy cardboard book-type cover....great idea!...The Jam were/are thee best...go out and buy this and ALL their studio albums....and you'll not be disappointed! Long live The...
Published on 30 July 2006 by G. F. Mc Cavana


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars START!, 14 May 2006
This review is from: The Jam Story (Audio CD)
I was brought up on the Jam and own pretty much everything Weller has done, but still I will buy this Why? because it is a great Jam comp, yes there are tracks missing but still it is a brillant comp.

If you have every not heard of the Jam {can there really be people out there like that?} then this is the perfect start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 star music, 4 star Compilation, 5 May 2006
This review is from: The Jam Story (Audio CD)
The Jam were the very band I grew up with.

Seeing Going Underground on TOTP blew me away, the riff, the energy.

As a fan I of course have my own personal favourites.

All tracks on this album are terrific..but, it omits some key tracks.

'A'Bomb in Wardour Street' and 'News of the World' were great A'sides, the latter a Bruce Foxton song, both sadly missing here.

The Jam were more than a singles band, excellent Album tracks and B sides made them the complete band and this album goes some way to show that, but some really great tracks have been missed by the compilers 'Smithers-Jones' another Bruce Foxton song, some great album tracks, 'Art School', 'It's too bad' and 'Billy Hunt'.

Despite the last two tracks on CD2 being great covers, those two missing A'sides would have been a better choice and really have made this a 5 star compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Luxury, 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jam Story (Audio CD)
Yet another Jam compilation. A good mix of tracks, including tracks that were never origionaly released although all the tracks have appeared on other compilation albums or Extra's etc this is still a good one with a good quality booklet included. As usual, the sleve notes a not worth bothering with. I don't know why record companies insist on sleeve notes written by people noboody has heard of and who have done nothing more than seen the band at some point. Still a good compalation though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Story of The Jam, 30 July 2006
By 
G. F. Mc Cavana (Belfast, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Jam Story (Audio CD)
I know there have been quite a number of Jam releases over the last number of years...and here's another one......not bad really....but I would like to note that at least this has good packaging...a glossy cardboard book-type cover....great idea!...The Jam were/are thee best...go out and buy this and ALL their studio albums....and you'll not be disappointed! Long live The Jam
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Jam everyone should know them., 26 May 2006
By 
S. Oakes "Stuart" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Jam Story (Audio CD)
1978, Down in the Tube Station at Midnight, the beginning of my allegience to Paul, Bruce and Rick and still Mr Weller.

If you don't have any of their stuff shame on you, if all you know is Going Underground and That's Entertainment then you need to look at expansion of your collection. probably not this though. It's not a complete singles collection and it misses too many of the great album tracks. Remember the days of one single from an album and even singles NOT on albums! There was at least three tracks on every album which would have been equally great British singles, "Thick as Thieves, Away from the Numbers, Billy Hunt, to name a few.

Sure, this is far better than nothing, but buy "Compact Snap" recently released with the great live 4 tracks bonus CD. OR better save up and buy the albums as they were originally meant to be. I don't think you will be too disapponted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Be warned!, 16 Jun 2011
By 
Kath (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Jam Story (MP3 Download)
The version of "That's entertainment" on this compilation is an acoustic version, not the familiar single version. Otherwise very pleased with this collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Jam Story
The Jam Story by The Jam (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews