Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definately worth listening to
This is one of the best funk collections I've got hold of in the past few years, and I'd rate it up along with DJ Greyboy's Shades of Grey. There are a few tracks you could call 'fillers', but then there's pure quality genuine funk tracks such as 'Funky Thing', 'Hot, Funky and Sweaty', 'Something Different' (my personal favourite), and 'The World'.

I have...
Published on 9 May 2006 by bennys

versus
18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars They may be rare....
...for a reason.

Beautifully presented & researched (I still have a fascination with vinyl & I loved the original label scans in the booklet) Quantic proudly proclaim this is a selection of the heaviest, rarest & funkiest in demand singles on the planet.

Well I guess not so in demand now (or rare) as they have just released this cd.

The...
Published on 6 May 2006 by W. Mason


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definately worth listening to, 9 May 2006
This review is from: The World's Rarest Funk 45s (Audio CD)
This is one of the best funk collections I've got hold of in the past few years, and I'd rate it up along with DJ Greyboy's Shades of Grey. There are a few tracks you could call 'fillers', but then there's pure quality genuine funk tracks such as 'Funky Thing', 'Hot, Funky and Sweaty', 'Something Different' (my personal favourite), and 'The World'.

I have nothing against so-called 'fillers', and infact it's rare that any compliation can be perfectly suited to someones musical taste. However, some of these tracks are very screechy, vocally stereotypical funk which seem to be on the cd only because the track contains vocals with the word 'funk' in them.

All in all, it's a great album if you like the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars They may be rare...., 6 May 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World's Rarest Funk 45s (Audio CD)
...for a reason.

Beautifully presented & researched (I still have a fascination with vinyl & I loved the original label scans in the booklet) Quantic proudly proclaim this is a selection of the heaviest, rarest & funkiest in demand singles on the planet.

Well I guess not so in demand now (or rare) as they have just released this cd.

The problem is the songs really aren't very good. Most are based on a simple organ/guitar riff (with maybe a bit of 70's soul man gruff vocals added) that is repeated for three minutes before fading out. Wow. It would be a good challange Davina to play snippets of these tracks in random & name 'em. Maybe if you had a spare week...

Buy for the booklet, not for the music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm..., 21 April 2006
This review is from: The World's Rarest Funk 45s (Audio CD)
I was dissappointed Mr Holland.

The first track is a blinder, made me think of the JB's or the "In the Jungle Groove" album by James Brown. The rest just seem to blend into one, frantic Hammond organ solo and soon enough I found myself skipping tracks on the first listen. Something I NEVER do but there is only so much screaming funk I can handle. If that's your thing then buy more JTQ, it's full of this type of groove.

Rare singles these may be, but I can see why they are hard to find...

Buy the Isley Brothers early stuff instead, or Lonnie Smith, or The Meters or The Godfather himself.

I shoud've saved my money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Funk, 8 Feb. 2007
By 
Mr. P. Keegan (Dublin) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The World's Rarest Funk 45s (Audio CD)
A unique collection of some true gems. While "Funky Thing" is the highlight the rest of these rare funk 45s while have your heading bobbing in apprication. Well worth the purchase price if you have even a passing interest in this genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stomping funk album, 29 April 2009
By 
A. J. Richardson (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The World's Rarest Funk 45s (Audio CD)
This is a must have for any funk afficionados. Buy it now. The second album is also a must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World's Rarest Funk 45s (Audio CD)
top funk ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The World's Rarest Funk 45s
The World's Rarest Funk 45s by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews