Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suspend belief and enjoy!
I enjoyed the original Transporter - good clean fun, action and, importantly, it didn't take itself too seriously. Transporter 2 carries along the entertainment.

Yes, the car stunts are way over the top - not a scratch on the car after being shot at, blown up, thrown through the air etc etc - but our man Frank is just so cool and composed - he even has a...
Published on 27 Mar. 2007 by Keiko

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "The Transporter 1 & 2" on BLU RAY - Compatibility Issues With The 'US' Discs...
With its "Bourne" meets "To Catch A Thief" storyline, set pieces, pretty girl in tow and the `Stat' doing what he does best (and with A-Lister style) - there can't be too many action film fans out there who didn't eat up the "Transporter" series of films (even if the sequels weren't quite as good as the 5-star first).

But if you live in the UK and go for the...
Published 15 months ago by Mark Barry


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suspend belief and enjoy!, 27 Mar. 2007
By 
Keiko (Worcestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Transporter 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed the original Transporter - good clean fun, action and, importantly, it didn't take itself too seriously. Transporter 2 carries along the entertainment.

Yes, the car stunts are way over the top - not a scratch on the car after being shot at, blown up, thrown through the air etc etc - but our man Frank is just so cool and composed - he even has a vacuum packed change of shirt, suit and tie in the boot!

What is exceptional are the fight scenes. Brilliantly choreographed, innovative, fresh and very enjoyable - he takes a bunch of baddies with a fire hose in one scene! No over long Matrix style never ending punch ups here - slick, fast and original set pieces with a touch of humour. Excellent.

This is a very good Friday night popcorn movie that will carry you along at a pace and with a smile. Would have given it 5 stars but for the slight 'no way' element of some car stunts - but that's me being a little harsh.

Rent. Enjoy. Bring on Transporter 3 I say!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "The Transporter 1 & 2" on BLU RAY - Compatibility Issues With The 'US' Discs..., 18 Mar. 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
With its "Bourne" meets "To Catch A Thief" storyline, set pieces, pretty girl in tow and the `Stat' doing what he does best (and with A-Lister style) - there can't be too many action film fans out there who didn't eat up the "Transporter" series of films (even if the sequels weren't quite as good as the 5-star first).

But if you live in the UK and go for the individual titles on BLU RAY (particularly the first two) - be aware that both "Transporter 1 and 2" on 'US' 20th Century Fox BLU RAYS are REGION A LOCKED - so they won't play on our machines unless they're chipped for 'all regions' (which few are).

Stick with the UK issues instead. Or cheaper still - pick up the 3-movie bundle on BLU RAY and you'll have enough Cars and Kung Fu to get you to the next oil change...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very clever, 5 Dec. 2008
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Transporter 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I've seen the first film a couple of times and thought that whilst it was OK and Jason Statham can just about act it was nothing special. I really wanted to hate this, but came away liking it quite a lot. The filmmakers knew what they wanted here. Its brainless entertainment with tongue firmly in cheek, and they know it....

In fact I enjoyed it more than the first film. The villianess in bra and panties, endless ridiculous car chases, fight sequences that have to be seen to be believed. Its all done with style, panache and a "don't care if this is not real" attitude that other films , that take themselves too seriously (i.e. Mission Impossible 3) could learn from.

So if you let it wash over you, you will have a entertaining hour and 3/4. Don't think about it just enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Easy entertainment if you suspend all disbelief, 3 Nov. 2010
By 
AK (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Transporter 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Every reviewer, who is horrified at the absolute lack of realism has a point - the movie is one of the most fantastical ones out there. If that is likely to disturb you, do not even consider it - you will probably see it as a one star performance. While the first The Transporter [DVD] [2003] was already somewhat far fetched, this one is definitely in a completely different league.

What the movie is about, is first and foremost entertainment. The driving scenes, fight scenes and the shootups are all there to be amusing, rather than realistic. All in all the movie succeeds if you are able to completely suspend your disbelief. The mastery is more in the choreography (both for cars and fighting) than in the acting or dialogues. Jason Stratham has only one facial expression and he seems to have been cast in the only role he excells at.

As also mentioned by other reviewers, the movie is probably second only to the James Bond movies in terms of product placement - Audi being the tip of the iceberg (and most visible to most viewers), with Officine Panerai and Nokia featuring quite prominently, too.

Overall the story is a standard Transporter fare - Stratham as the driver / bodyguard needs to save a kid (as opposed to an attractive female from theother movies) and of course deal with plenty of badies enroute.

If you are trying to spend an evening with an action comedy of the over the top variety the movie is definitely a good option, if you prefer you entertainment more cerebral, stay away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not great, 8 July 2010
My own opinion _ worst of the 3 movies, first is by far the best, then the 3rd ... get this one last
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Looks good - but that's all there is to it!, 30 Dec. 2008
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Transporter 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The film opens with a fight scene which feels more ridiculous than impressive, but at least the main character seems to have been given some sort of personality since the first film.

Transporter 2 is a definite improvement but there are still a lot moments which exist purely to look good. There's nothing wrong with that of course - particularly in an action film, but when it's obvious, and there's nothing else to it, it just draws attention to the lack of substance.

This film has so much missing, but in the face of it all it manages to be actually quite enjoyable for the most part. It's very well directed and the car scenes are examples of perfect action cinematography - even if they are completely unbelievable. They may be implausible, but they're a riot to watch.

In a nutshell: This film is all about visual effects and physics defying stunts - and in those areas it excels. But without much else the film can never really be considered as anything other than average. I was pleased to see that Frank has a bit more depth to him, the dodgy accent is still there - but at least we get to see him smile once or twice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD, 14 April 2009
By 
Troy Zinvane (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transporter 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Very entertaining, action packed all the way through. Weak storyline and basic suspence but this is all overshadowed by great action sequences.

So if you want to watch a film for all the thills n spills but dont want to be to engrossed in a storyline then this is the film for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Somebody please inject me with the virus ...I can't take anymore of this film!, 13 Jun. 2015
This review is from: Transporter 2 [DVD] (DVD)
OMG

How did this film ever EVER get released?

It can only be described in three words

Brainless, Idiotic & Stupid

In the end, I was jealous when the kid got injected with a deadly virus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars dvd, 20 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transporter 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Received the dvd on time! I have a problem with it though.. As we speak I am watching it and it keeps stopping slightly, u could say jumping every few seconds! I am extremely unsatisfied with it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars We turned it off after 20 minutes it was that bad., 28 Nov. 2014
By 
Mr (Stockport, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was awful, implausible and ridiculous. Started watching with my two teenage sons who are massive fans of The Stath. We turned it off after 20 minutes it was that bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Transporter 2 [DVD]
Transporter 2 [DVD] by Louis Leterrier (DVD - 2006)
£2.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews