Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


99 of 104 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fox ripping us off on this one aswell...
This isn't a review as such, just a statement as I don't see that anyone else has mentioned yet.

For anyone that is a fan of this series or anyone that has already bought it, I thought you should know that Fox has done the same trick that they did with the release of Family Guy Season 4.

This "Complete" American Dad Season 1 is actually also only...
Published on 2 July 2006 by CR78

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars False.
It was alright however, when it comes to the third disc of Season 1. Instead of finding disc 3 of Season 1, I see Disc 1 of Season 2. So I had to miss out on the ending of the season.
Published 7 months ago by Nathan Miller


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

99 of 104 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fox ripping us off on this one aswell..., 2 July 2006
By 
CR78 (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: American Dad! - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This isn't a review as such, just a statement as I don't see that anyone else has mentioned yet.

For anyone that is a fan of this series or anyone that has already bought it, I thought you should know that Fox has done the same trick that they did with the release of Family Guy Season 4.

This "Complete" American Dad Season 1 is actually also only half of the first series which aired in America. I presume that's so they'll release the other half for the same extortianate price and also a full season boxset later on.

Great show, shameful cash-in splitting the seasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Wait 'til your paranoid right wing father gets home!", 22 Jan 2008
This review is from: American Dad! - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
A worthy successor to parent show Family Guy, this show tells the misadventures of an ultra right wing CIA Agent and his long suffering family.
The characters are great. Stan Smith, the dad of the title is more capable than Family Guy's Peter Griffin, but just as blinkered. He calls "French toast" smelly and ungrateful and prefers it to be known as "american toast", has a questionable attraction to his gun and a fear of liberals.
Wife Francine is a housewife who lacks ambition but every so often strikes out on her own.
Their children are the geeky Steve and ultra left wing Hayley. Completing teh family are a German athlete who's mind has been put in a fish Klaus (watch the pilot for the back story) and needy, TV and celebrity obsessed gender bending alien Roger.
There are some great set ups e.g. Stan having Francine's memory erased when he forgets a wedding anniversary, Roger apparently dying and the CIA hunting him as the area 51 alien who previously escaped and Stan being sent to Arabia as a punishment and finding it's to his taste.
The jokes fly thick and fast e.g. Roger telling Stan "Oh by the way your skin cream did wonders for my 'roids, well if you won't let me out of the house to buy my own I guess we're ointment buddies!", Stan saying "Should, well we don't live in Shouldland. Ah Shouldland, what a wonderful place!" and Roger's retort "yes I'm an alien and I have claws. You're awfully fat. See? Kitty can scratch!"
There are also some great turns from Patrick Stewart voicing CIA Deputy Director Bullock.
There are some anti-veil jokes and an anti Saudi-Arabia t9one that will be likely to offend some, but at least the show hates George W..
Great commentaries and featurettes make a superb package!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars American Dad review, 24 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: American Dad! - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Well, perhaps for a new show from the creators of Family Guy, they arguably shouldn't have once again gone for the family theme, hence the no stop comparisons- but American Dad definately has its own witty style. Occassionally taking the mic out of all things gov/US (although not quite on the level of a certain animated show with a now retired singing Chef), American Dad is still a joy to watch, with strong characters and modern themes. If you enjoyed The Simpsons, Family Guy et al you should definately give this one a go
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 24 April 2006
By 
R. Faires "'Avid DVD watcher'" (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: American Dad! - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
People are comparing this to other cartoons, which i guess gives a good way of understanding what this is. it is more simpsons than Family guy. the plotline although slightly strange at times doesnt jump like FG does to flash backs. and also has less random american references. FG is Monty python humour with american content. this is a more of a sit com. although as cartoons have no gag reel you have to pay attention to get the jokes. it is a great DVD and you should all buy it. It will be watched many times again and thats what u want!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars I love it, 1 July 2010
By 
This review is from: American Dad! - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
ok, i like family guy- it's a classic show but i'm taking a long break from it. why? because i've been watching it for years and it's kinda lost its impact like the simpsons has.

American Dad has a much more sophisticated political satire sense of humour (but also plenty of gags) it has story and plot development and fuller characters. yeah, ok so it has a gay alien and a talking german fish but strangely it's a lot more realistic. there's only so many times you can laugh at hitler on a unicycle.

stan represents conservative america & hayley represents the more progressive liberals. steve is young and idolises his dad and tries to please him but whether he is actually has the same views is up for debate. there's all sorts of interesting contradictions in the smith family. i think seth macfarlane once said that hayley represents the views of the writers and stan is a relic of sorts from the cold war. i'm a liberal but i think stan is a very loveable character.

i actually bought season one after buying all the others, it took me a while to find a copy (though i had seen season 1 before) i suggest you buy season 1 first, then if you like it, you should go and buy all the others. i can't get enough of this show and i can't wait for season 5! usually animated shows get stale after a while but after 5 years american dad is as fresh and funny and sharp and relevant as it ever was
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NOT THE FULL 1ST SEASON, 15 Sep 2007
By 
G. O'prey "my opinion" (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: American Dad! - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I got this and Vol 2, thinking i had 2 full seasons of this FAB show. According to epguides.com, this is the first half of Season 1 and Vol 2 is the rest of the 1st season. No sign of the real Season 2 yet though :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 14 July 2009
This review is from: American Dad! - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I'm a big fan of american dad, I watch it almost every day and it never fails to amuse me. I enjoy it much more than Family guy, which has really lost it's appeal.

It follows the adventures of stan smith (CIA agent), his family, and the alien and talking goldfish that live with them.

This DVD contains the episodes:
Pilot
threat levels
stan knows best
francine's flashback
roger coger
homeland insecurity
deacon stan, jeasus man
all about steve
bullocks to stan
a smith in the hand
con heir
stan of arabia parts 1 & 2

As other reviews have said, this isn't the whole of season one, which is rather unfair to the buyers, but makes them a whole lot more money. It doesn't stop me buying the dvds.

Season one is probably not the best of the seasons, this is because they are trying too hard to be funny in some places, but it doesn't work. They are also trying to be too much like Family Guy, when really, the later seasons are better because they have moved on from the humour of Family Guy.

Worth watching if you're a fan of similar shows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very funny, 30 Nov 2006
This review is from: American Dad! - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
the first dvd season of "American Dad" is, quite honestly, non-stop hilarious. Although it's easy to compare it to "Family Guy", the comparison is fair. There are none of the cutaway moments and references to american pop culture that flood "FG" - instead the creators volley sharp one-liners at you left, right and centre. This allows, in my opinion, for greater re-watch value than "FG". Main character Stan Smith is a great comic creation, with his prejudices and notions of masculinity being a plentiful source of much of the humour. There is also some fanatastic voice work from the likes of Patrick Stewart, who plays Stan's boss. Although no-one can yet claim that it's better than "FG", if we compare the first season of each then "AD" easily comes out on top.

In short, I imagine i'm preaching to the converted, but if it's a choice between the disappointing "FG" season 4 and "AD", the smart money would e on this show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars american dad 100% chance of hilarity, 26 Dec 2006
This review is from: American Dad! - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
american dad is genius. If you are looking for a twisted laugh this definetly for you. Obviously it can be compared to family guy but ad has its own originality which I find to be hilarious. Each episode kept me in stiches. The price is also geat. In summary American dad rule!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In a class of its own!, 8 May 2007
This review is from: American Dad! - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I stumbled across it months ago and have been seeking out the next series ever since!!!

Perhaps I was in a really funny mood at the time (of watching each episode!) but nothing seems to touch on this series...

I can't find apt enough words to do it justice so I'll just settle for BRILLIANT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

American Dad! - Season 1 [DVD]
American Dad! - Season 1 [DVD] by Seth MacFarlane (DVD - 2006)
£6.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews