Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one word, WOW!
Curtis Hanson wouldn’t be the most likely choice or the first to adapt the Jennifer Weiner novel about girls and shoes ‘In Her Shoes’. The dramatic comical tale of two sisters and how their lives differ after a harsh betrayal in the sisterhood. This at first glance isn’t the perfect material for the director of the violent testosterone driven...
Published on 17 Jan 2006 by M. R. Parlett

versus
14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly Dull But Watchable
I did enjoy this film but just felt it lacked a special something that makes a film want to be repeatedly watched. 'In Her Shoes' attempts to arouse emotion but simply fails to do so. Both lead actresses were very good as their characters (especially Diaz) but I just didn't feel the chemistry between them.

Negatives:

1. The film was too long: just...
Published on 20 April 2006 by Dutch and Red


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one word, WOW!, 17 Jan 2006
By 
M. R. Parlett "Jack" (Milton Keynes, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Her Shoes [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Curtis Hanson wouldn’t be the most likely choice or the first to adapt the Jennifer Weiner novel about girls and shoes ‘In Her Shoes’. The dramatic comical tale of two sisters and how their lives differ after a harsh betrayal in the sisterhood. This at first glance isn’t the perfect material for the director of the violent testosterone driven ‘LA Confidential’. How wrong that initial thought is.
Toni Collette plays Rose, a work driven, frumpy and downright depressed lawyer. Cameron Diaz is Maggie, the opposite cliché, the free spirited party girl. Maggie is ever dependent on her sibling, but when she crosses the line when Rose finally hits the jackpot romantically, a painful feud and separation ensues.
Collette boasts her undisputable star power, as she brings new life to her superb character that could have been a daft stereotype in the hands of a less established actress. Rose is always looking out for her sister, considering job possibilities before her own personal indulgences. Collette portrays this element of her character deftly and powerfully. The murmurs of Best Actress Oscar just keep getting louder. Diaz is of a similar strength, avoiding the cliché in like Collette in her believable and poignant role.
Hanson moulds wonderful and unexplored elements of the family drama, intertwining the serious and amusing features into a genre type that switches between the sisters’ lives.
There is no violence present, yet certain parts of the frame can easily appeal to the male viewers (and no, not just Cameron Diaz in a skimpy bikini). On the surface, all the qualities that structure the chick flick are there, but internally, the film contains a brutal frankness
about it and snappy humour to entertain the boys.
There is an effective transition between the cold Philadelphia cityscape and the colourful Florida resort. Shirley Maclaine doesn’t surprise in her wise old grandmother role, and she shines as the legend she is, being one of the key players in Hanson’s scheme to teach the importance of family emotions. In fact the whole quartet of elders (particularly the hospitalised ex-professor) are rewarding to the film.
By turns it ‘s heartwarming yet at particular times heart wrenching, and the film’s leads teach the integral values of family, love and human emotions.
As mentioned several times previously, the potential clichés have been avoided, by Weiner’s skill to restore the characters to compelling people, and Erin Brockovich scribe Susannah Grant does justice to the gifts that the sophomore aimed novel gave us.
Compassionate, moving yet hilarious. Through the hardest negative efforts to find a flaw to this, I just can’t insult this honest faultless gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In Her Shoes, 10 Dec 2007
By 
This review is from: In Her Shoes [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I've been surprised at the extremely mixed reviews for this film. Personally i loved it. It had the makings of being a sloppy chick flick but somehow just missed the mark, which i think is to its credit.

Toni Colette is an amazing actress, few are as adabtable as she is. She portrays Rose, the older, slightly uptight sister, perfectly - and i'd know, being the eldest of three girls!! Her character is normal and insecure and makes mistakes. Her love interest is also an interesting choice, as he's shorter than her and not the typical rom-com hunk! Again i feel this works to the films credit.

I like Cameron Diaz anyway, but in this she gave a really top notch performance. Despite playing the party girl, she gave her character Maggie a depth not often seen in her usual roles. It's interesting to see the change in Maggie as the film progresses and she learns to be self sufficient.

I may be biased as i have sisters, and can really relate to the very realistic relationship between Maggie and Rose, but i love this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent and enjoyable, 21 Dec 2007
This review is from: In Her Shoes [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I hired this film without much expectation, but watched it three times. I found it to be an intelligent and subtly acted film. It's unusual to find such good films these days where the acting is so good and the story line so interesting. I loved the scenes in the "retirement community for active seniors"! I also enjoyed watching the featurette about the "acting seniors" who played the extras. This was a very watchable and engrossing film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cameron Diaz at her best., 6 May 2006
This review is from: In Her Shoes [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
After reading some of the other reviews of this film on this site, I felt compelled to write my own review. Sure, everyone has their own tastes but, in my opinion, it is ridiculous to award this film 1 star. Sure, feel good chick flicks may not be everyone's cup of tea, but there is a lot more to this film than that and I say that as a 29 year old male.

I have watched this film 5 times. I hired it from my local video store on 2 occasions and watched it twice, both times. I really can't recommend this film enough. To criticise this film for being shallow, or unemotional or too long, I think you either have to be a psychopath, devoid of all human emotion, or a bitter resentful female, who is just jealous of Cameron Diaz and her beauty!!!

Perhaps I love this film for personal reasons, but the issues it deals with, loss, insecurity, redemption, forgiveness as well as mental health and literacy are all dealt with a great deal of tact and the film never comes across as cheesy. Even the bit where Diaz reads the poem is well done and the poetry featured in the film is really beautiful too.

All 3 of the main characters are acted out with a great deal of emotion without anyone milking it in situations where that could so easily have been the case.

I will probably end up watching this film another 50 or 60 times. The last film that made me do that was American Beauty and there are certain similarities between the 2 films in my opinion. The humour in "In her Shoes" is subtle and the way that the film alternates from really funny scenes straight to very emotional scenes (ie Collette and Diaz talikng about their mothers death) is done in a way that allows the film to flow in a very inteligent way. I've cried every single time I've watched this film.

Don't be persuaded by the negative reviews of this film. As I say, everyone has their own preferances but it does seem a bit odd that someone should mark this film so lowly when it got great reviews from Empire and Heat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Film, 26 Mar 2008
This review is from: In Her Shoes [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I would recommend this film very highly, especially (but not exclusively) if you are a woman with a sister. This is a story of 2 very different sisters, expertly acted, so that you feel that they are real 3-dimensional women, with fascinating stories of their own as well as the riveting history that they share. Somehow all this is explored in a way that makes you laugh, cry and think deeply about the nature of your own family relationships. Although dealing with some emotional material, it maintains a warm, uplifting touch, and a message of hope and reconciliation.

In addition, the film is packed with lots of other lovely touches and characters that other reviewers have described. Buy this film - you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars super drama, 5 Nov 2007
By 
This review is from: In Her Shoes [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
It's a shame to see Cameron Diaz in gossip magazines, portrayed as some extravagant partying animal, she is known for her off screen performances nowadays when back in the days of Gangs of New York and My Best Friends Wedding she stole the public's eyes on screen, and this romantic drama does the same.

Diaz stars as Maggie, a sexy but lazy woman who wants adventure rather than face responsible reality, which is what her sister Rose (Toni Collette, Little Miss Sunshine) wants her to do. When things get too much for Rose, she throws her sister out, and now Maggie has no choice but to grow up.

In her shoes shows the ability to grow up and face the reality that none of us want to face, growing up, but in doing so, director Curtis Hanson portrays the two central protagonists as gentle and heart warming, making a slow drama become an ultimate joy to watch as the direction, acting and plot are simply superb.

the ending almost had me in tears it was so passionate and is in my top 5 dramas of all time, a definite watch!

9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly Dull But Watchable, 20 April 2006
This review is from: In Her Shoes [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I did enjoy this film but just felt it lacked a special something that makes a film want to be repeatedly watched. 'In Her Shoes' attempts to arouse emotion but simply fails to do so. Both lead actresses were very good as their characters (especially Diaz) but I just didn't feel the chemistry between them.

Negatives:

1. The film was too long: just over two hours (no wonder previous reviews talk about losing interest).

2. Her career change to dog walker is slightly unbelieveable. Who would quit a job as a lawyer for such an unskilled and underpaid job?

3. Nothing significant ever happens: the film's storyline is far too gradual.

4. The best lines are given to the people in the residential community, with very few witty lines granted to the leads.

I felt the scene when Diaz is taught to read was very touching, especially when the bedrdden man tells her that she is clever which makes her day, if not her year! Her transformation from a lazy tart to a respectable and employed woman is very heartwarming to watch. Collette's character gains a lot of sympathy throughout the film but it's never targetted anywhere. As with most characters in the film her stroy ends happily.

Verdict: heartwarming tale of conflicting sisters that is watchable but absolutely nothing special (or original).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not your Average 'Chick Flick', 5 Oct 2011
This review is from: In Her Shoes [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
My husband bought this as 'light entertainment' to distract me when I was ill - happily for me it turned out not to be your average 'chick flick' but a more of a lovely thought-provoking family drama with enough meat to keep you engaged but enough levity to keep you smiling.
Other posters here have done a great job describing the film so I will try to give hints to the depth of the story without spoiling it for you:

This film explores how two people who are totally different(the sisters Rose and Maggie-May), but born into the same family and exposed to the same tragedy deal with life and each other.
The question is explored: why do two people stick together through hurt, disappointment, exploitation and even betrayal?What is there that is greater and stronger than even your own irritation and unwillingness, that makes you hold on to another person, feel responsible for her and care for her well-being, when everything inside and outside of you is screaming at you to let go and run for the hills.
It warrants discussion, and this film attempts to push into the spotlight just how much hard work 'love' really is and how far it can sometimes be removed from that 'fluffy, pink, saccarine feeling' people expect it to invoke. How hard it is to 'get it right', because, a) everyone thinks they know how love should make them feel but few actually understand how that feeling is accompished and b) it is sometimes difficult to translate the love we feel in our heart into terms another can actually understand and feel loved by (= e.g.look out for the scene in the diner where the sisters morph verbally from friends to foes in a split second).
On the one hand there seems to be so much failed love in this film and yet on the other hand so much heroic effort clocked up that once the characters learn to forgive themselves and each other, walk 'in the other's shoes' a bit yet acknowledge whatever they themselves have indeed achieved, it gives them the impetus and the determination to keep on trying and that is what sets everyone free in the end.
It is essential to look, not just at the superficial physical juxtaposition of the two siblings, but past that and take in the loneliness/lifelessness most of the the rooms in this film exude, the unusual art on the walls, the quite desperation in the eyes of just about everyone in the family.
Think of the pivotal tragedy of the plot and ask: why did Maggie May get stuck in the dependancy of a six year old while her body matured to that of an accomplished, irresponsible and overtly sexy flirt? Why did Rose become addicted to order/structure, work and food as an antidote to and excuse for actual living? What about the intelligent Grandma allowing herself to be frozen in a moment when she has so much to offer? What about the Father and his strange choice of wife in a desperate but unsuccessful bid for normalcy after the tragedy? So many thought provoking things to ponder ... long after the satifiying end.
The acting is as superb as the cinematography and the screenplay, oh, and the poetry used is just beautiful!
I hope this piqued your curiosity - this film is worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diaz and Collette shine in raw emotional romance, 7 April 2009
By 
On scraping cash together homeless and helpless Maggie (Diaz) looks to start a new life away from her controlling sister (Collette)

Romantic comedies/dramas are frequently used to market a concept of idealistic love in the face of adversity. Kind of giving hope to the less confident. Which is fair enough as I myself am not confident in such an area. So we look at comedies for a spiritual guidance but also a good time. It is when however a credited all star cast appear and make jokes about current celebrities and zeitgeist topics to make their appeal that these comedies fail. Richard Curtis' Love Actually or He's Just Not That Into You prove how talent can often fail on the basis of following mainstream trends, making the films short term entertainment with no emotional core.

In Her Shoes may seem to be heading the same way but it takes the idea of love and puts an appropriate delicate feel on the emotion by having a witty sharp script with sparkling performances.

The 2005 picture provides consistent entertainment. From the concept of relationships to the significance of family Curtis Hanson's romantic drama is finely balanced on the real life aspects without diving too much into a soap styled genre. Therefore the events that unfold feel real and yes, the inclusion of appearance and the significance of clothes may feel like another Devil Wears Prada, but this is relative and built with an emotional core unlike Hanson's other hit. These concepts have an obvious feminine vibe but male viewers can take in the bouncy humour without feeling too unappreciated about the inclusion of soft male stereotypes. A certain Cameron Diaz should otherwise suffice.

Over a decade since her career making performance in The Mask, Diaz has grown into a renowned star. Here her performance as sexed up Maggie not only challenges the actress emotionally but more appreciatively also, evident in one heart wrenching scene heading towards the emotional climax. Collette lays the unappreciated undertone beautifully with the sibling rivalry showing her true acting qualities. That insecure and worried persona is something that has always stood out for the Australian, particularly in The Sixth Sense and Little Miss Sunshine.

There are inclusions of modern day trends such as MTV and fashion as importantly relative in modern culture but with the spirited script and wonderful acts you will only remember the importance of emotions. This picture is therefore evidence that renowned stars can come together and do romance pictures.

9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three women become a family, 25 July 2008
This review is from: In Her Shoes [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
A great film. Not a cryer normally I was wet-eyed at the end of this one. The film concerns the relationship between two sisters; the wayward pretty one and the older sister/clever lawyer, that breaks down allowing each of them to develop that part of their character normally fulfilled by the other one. The lawyer finds a man and the wayward one takes on responsibility. In doing so they also find the missing bits of their family and themselves. As soon as it finished I wanted to watch it again. Highly recommended. Especially good for anyone who ever envied their siblings - you will get this film like no-one else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In Her Shoes [DVD] [2005]
In Her Shoes [DVD] [2005] by Curtis Hanson (DVD - 2006)
2.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews