Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My life is now complete
I have waited for many years for this fantastic series to be issued, I have a very old video copy from when the series was first shown on TV. It was shown late at night and had a cult following. Robert Lindsey, David Threlfall and James Ellis are superb in this surreal adventure about night security men. I loved it when it was first shown and have waited for years to own...
Published on 10 Nov 2006 by Sile na Gig

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still good for a laugh, but...
... it didn't age too well. I can see why I liked it then, as why it bores me now...
Published 8 months ago by De Vlieger


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is there anybody there?, 26 Mar 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nightingales [DVD] (DVD)
Whilst cruising Amazon I came across this unlikely named dvd set which began to stir the mists of my memory. "Theres nobody here but us chickens" rang a ding dong and I even remembered Carter and Sarge.

I hoped it was as good as I recalled from my very poor memory and was not disappointed.

Very funny and inventive even though totally set in an almost empty office block.

Definately worth buying especially at this low price for the complete series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There's nobody here but us chickens..., 15 July 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nightingales [DVD] (DVD)
Strange, theatrical, silly, absurd, mysterious, aimless, and philosophical - Samuel Beckett never wrote a sitcom, and this is it.

Paul Makin's 'Nightingales' is fascinating, and it's a shame that it's not better remembered nowadays. At a glance, it looks like a very traditional sitcom, but it isn't. It's unique. Some people "get it", and others don't. Here's why I think it's one of the best TV shows ever made.

The premise does seem like standard stuff: three security guards stuck on a night shift in an empty office block, getting into all sorts of ridiculous scrapes. There is plenty of daft farce - but there's also a unique (and very weird) allegorical aspect. The main characters - Carter, 'Ding-Dong' and the Sarge, each a very distinct type of idiot - are ruled over by the whims of their faintly-sinister and unseen employers, and forced to contend with a succession of strange visitors who seem to infect the series with unwanted plots. When a tyrannical security chief is sent to keep the men in line, the episode gradually transforms into a sea story about bloodthirsty mutiny, complete with flashes of lightning and punishment by cat-o-nine-tails. A cop tries to use the building as his base for a surveillence operation, and our heroes seem to feel illogically compelled to take on the roles of the criminals whom he describes. And Carter and Ding-Dong frequently slip into "Shakespeare mode" - hunched backs, dry ice and sneering verse - as they plot to remove poor old Sarge from the throne.

That's the series' distinctive theme: three confused goofballs stuck in limbo, casting about for something to BE, as well as something to do, and unable to resist any new idiom which walks in the door. There's a lot of other throwaway strangeness too - hypnotism, werewolves, heart surgery, doppelgangers, a woman who gives birth to electrical goods, and a silverback gorilla with a particular interest in the poetry of A E Housman - but it's real absurdism, proper surrealism, rather than just contrived wackiness. Scenes pass without any advancement of the plot, and without any punchlines. Continuity - even reality - is non-existent from one moment to the next. And all of that is fine by me, because we're meant to be laughing at the all-encompassing joke that the human condition is really just a lot of nonsense. The final episode - "Someone To Watch Over Me" - is a special triumph, and is waaaay more than just 'situation comedy'; it has moments that actually send shivers of existential dread down my spine.

The title of this review is a quote from the show; it's how the main characters always reply - in unison - whenever someone asks "Is anyone there?". This is the closest thing that Nightingales has to a running gag, and no-one in the show - or in real life - seems to have any idea what it means. Isn't that great? Watch it late at night. Five star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant! don't want to say more., 31 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nightingales [DVD] (DVD)
I remember this series and would have enven been willing to get in on VHS tape but thankfully here it is on DVD. Discribed as a "Cult" series that could be a puit off.
Don't be!
If you like bizarre, quirky sort of humour then this is for you.
Right from the first episode you are dropped into the world of the three surreal night watchmen and there extra surreal world.
O'Keef
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars and the end of the second series must be the best final ending to a series i have ever seen, 6 Aug 2014
This review is from: Nightingales [DVD] (DVD)
this is a must have comedy set,i never get board with whatching this infact i whatch it about one every 2 m0nth,and the end of the second series must be the best final ending to a series i have ever seen,still carnt fathom out how they mixed each other up in the final episode,if anyone can tell me i would be gratefull
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic series,, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nightingales [DVD] (DVD)
I hope people who didn't get a chance to see this first time round chase this down now it is out on DVD, well worth watching if you're a fan of comedy that pushes the boundaries. Would have been great to have some special features. So sad to hear that the writer of this great series died so young.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sould be more Popular than it was., 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nightingales [DVD] (DVD)
A classic comedy in the vane of The Young Ones, Monty Python, Black Books and some of the great works of Spike Milligan, this is a mad tale of three night watchmen that see's Werewolves, Shakespearian villains, long lost son's and dry stone walling take up a lot of their night time activities.

Funny, odd, mad and downright outrageous these two series were and are still underrated and should be recognised for their contribution to anarchic humour!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nightingales [DVD] (DVD)
Laugh out loud surreal comedy with a great cast. A firm favourite in our house. Series was short lived, so it's fantastic to be able to buy it to watch again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nightingales [DVD] (DVD)
I'm glad I remembered how good it was. Still works in my opinion, great comedy great comedy actors. Why isn't comedy like this repeated I'm FED UP WITH ONLY FOOLS AND HORSES.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious !, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nightingales [DVD] (DVD)
A splendid TV show. Three great actors, three great characters and intelligently written with many, many laughs.

Unfortunately Nightingales seems to have been missed by many and I think, not repeated. I recommend the two series of this to anyone who enjoys 'quality' British sitcoms. Up there with the best in my opinion.

Three guys, security guards, stuck on night-shift, stuck in the same building, stuck with each other... you can just imagine ! ; )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Theres nobody there but these chickens, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nightingales [DVD] (DVD)
If your into this overlooked brilliant comedy series then go for it.
well worth the money to have bell, carter and the sarge on duty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nightingales [DVD]
Nightingales [DVD] by Robert Lindsay (DVD - 2006)
10.11
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews