Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an emotional beauty yet a heartlessly violent bloodfest
I bought this after seeing it's trailer and thought it looked alright then after watching it for the first time I loved it straight away it's such a great story; a mutant girl called Lucy (or Diclonious as referred to in the story) escapes a military base slaughtering every single living thing inside it regardless of significance, then gets shot in the head...
Published on 16 Mar 2006 by 491 aka halfwit

versus
9 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars One man's "emotional", another's "exploitation"
How you view this series is likely to hinge on two things: How much anime you've seen before, and how srong-stomached/desensitised you are to violence.

First off, well, it's all subjective, but I thought this was one of the most violent things I've seen for a very long time. I'm not exactly a rabid gore fan but I consider myself able to take a lot without...
Published on 14 Nov 2006 by J. Q. W. Bayes


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an emotional beauty yet a heartlessly violent bloodfest, 16 Mar 2006
This review is from: Elfen Lied - Vol.1 [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this after seeing it's trailer and thought it looked alright then after watching it for the first time I loved it straight away it's such a great story; a mutant girl called Lucy (or Diclonious as referred to in the story) escapes a military base slaughtering every single living thing inside it regardless of significance, then gets shot in the head which alters her mind creating a completely opposite and harmless ego (later named Nyu)who couldn't even recognise a fly let alone kill one,
The people who find her are two college students who are both cousins Yuka and Kohta. The story consists mainly unvailing deep dark secrets and relationships between the different characters and dicovering more about Lucy/Nyu's mutations and her role in their childhood lives. The voice acting i'd say is pretty good but there will be times when you wish they could have done that better but not often, the extras are a little light but there are some good galleries though. On the whole if you ignore the nudity (which is only in the first episode the rest are much cleaner) and pay more attention on the emotion and violence you've got a really good anime. Apparently the manga was ment to be a love story but the creator decided to make it more vicious and hopefully bring the audience to tears (well he's definetly succeeded on the violence part close to the whole tears thing but not quite). A great Anime But not for the sqeamish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An anime worthy of praise., 9 Feb 2006
By 
Amazon Customer (Waterlooville, Hants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Elfen Lied - Vol.1 [DVD] (DVD)
Violent, gory...nudity...don't be put off...these are merely selling points to the ununsal genre of this anime, which I would describe as more of a 'blue horror' genre.
This is an anime that has complelling characters, and questions the darker side of human nature, its cute, funny, dramatic and will make you cry. It only has 13 epsiodes, plus one special ep...which to my knowledge has not been put on the dvds...
The plot:
A science experiment gone wrong, namely, a pink haired girl named Lucy is imprisoned in a lab, she manages to escape...along the way slaughtering all of the guards with some unknown invisable force. Before she jumps into the sea to escape, a bullet is fired into the back of her head--not killing her--but messing up her mind to create a second docile peaceful and childlike, other personality--Nyuu.
Lucy--or rather Nyuu is found by two college students, cousins Yuka and Kouta. They call her Nyuu because 'nyuu' is the only thing she can say, she is also naked and also has two horns coming out of her head. (some chobits cliches here a little) they take her home and deicide to look after her. The miltary is looking for the murderous Lucy though. They come to Kouta's door, but for some unknown reason Kouta lies about knowing the whereabouts of Lucy/Nyuu.
The story contiunes on a rather dramatic plot that questions the darker nature of the human mind, and the limits to human evolution. There is moderate violence in this anime, but it is only mostly found in the first epsiode and pivotal episodes, much more of the story focuses on the drama and storyline...
I highly remcommend this anime to anyone, the story is new and excuiting and the plot will surprise you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Violent but beautiful, 21 Jun 2007
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elfen Lied - Vol.1 [DVD] (DVD)
Lucy is a Diclonius, a genetic mutant that has horns and four invisible arms known as vectors. While escaping from a research facility Lucy is shot in the head resulting in the suppression of her personality and a new one emerging, that of Nyu childlike, innocent and totally unaware of the powers she possesses. Washed up on naked on a beach, Nyu is taking in by collage student Kohta and his cousin Yuka but a murderous soldier and a second Diclonius are hunting the missing Lucy. This DVD contains the first four episodes of the series and with violence and nudity from the outset it is definitely not for those of a sensitive disposition but if you look past the gore you will find a compelling story that doesn't flinch from dealing with some dark issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must, 20 Jun 2007
This review is from: Elfen Lied - Vol.1 [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant, a must for anime fans (of the horror genre). Beautifully done, though very violent thou not in the purely sensationalist yawn of Gantz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars elfen lied, 6 Feb 2006
By 
Mr J R Cooper (york United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Elfen Lied - Vol.1 [DVD] (DVD)
hi i have seen the whole series in japanesse and apart from the fact i couldnt understand the launguage i found it the best japanese anime ever the whole base story line is so emotional it proabably would make you cry but maby im just really sad but its good i advise any one who likes other things like outlaw star love hina and other anime to definatly buy this product it rules
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars One man's "emotional", another's "exploitation", 14 Nov 2006
By 
J. Q. W. Bayes "YourMessageHere" (Newcastle upon Tyne) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elfen Lied - Vol.1 [DVD] (DVD)
How you view this series is likely to hinge on two things: How much anime you've seen before, and how srong-stomached/desensitised you are to violence.

First off, well, it's all subjective, but I thought this was one of the most violent things I've seen for a very long time. I'm not exactly a rabid gore fan but I consider myself able to take a lot without wincing; Elfen Lied managed to make me wince a number of times over its run - no, it's not quite on the Urotsukidoji scale of gruesomeness, but it certainly eclipses, say, Hellsing. In a way, this series goes right to the heart of the debate about violence on TV, as all the bloody explosions and limb-severing is there for a clear narrative reason, rather than being included purely for the tittilation of gore-hounds. Yet having just finished the series, I have to wonder if the violence exists because of the story, or if the story exists for the sake of the violence.

To decide, one must factor in the contrived nature of the plotline itself; everything seems to hinge on people not telling one another things for no readily apparent reason. Characters witness people having their arms and legs chopped off and dismiss it as "oh, a dream". Amnesia, that old standby, plays a big part, split personalities another. Most of the main characters, in essence, seem to have some serious mental problems that will really hamper them in later life (assuming they live that long, or don't end up with greater problems like running out of limbs). I think there IS a good plot hiding in there somewhere but it's gotten a bit lost and dishevelled under all the cliches.

Now your familiarity with other anime series comes into play; you may recognise a lot here. The naked ingenue with protrudences on her head and no language skills from Chobits. The concept of a secret bunch of scientists trying to brin about the next evolution of mankind is lifted directly from Evangelion. The awkwardness of a young man prone to embarrasing situation in a house full of pretty young women, all of whom love him in some respect, is a staple genre, let alone device, in anime. Bad-ass military lunatics maimed and repaired with cybernetics, mutants with Special Powers as social outcasts...all these and more are present.

I'm not rating this too highly but it does have good points; it's very good animation, the art style is bold and sumptuous, especially the Klimt homage in the opening credits, and whatever other charges one levels at the series, none can accuse Elfen Lied of not being bold. I'll give Elfen Lied the benefit of the doubt and say I think it's trying to be intellectual and not quite managing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Darker Side Of Anime..., 18 Oct 2006
By 
The Twerp (In orbit over your house) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Elfen Lied - Vol.1 [DVD] (DVD)
I have never watched an anime before so when i heard of this cartoon movie i thought it was going to be like something Disney made. Well i was wrong this moive is not for kids at all, full of blood and gore and nudity it might be a bit overpowering if like me you were not prepared. But i stuck with it and i got sucked in a story that is an Emotional Masterpiece. It has a lot of under lying mesages which i will let you find for your self. The reason a gave it a four is because sometimes there are some very childish scenes in a very serious story and it seems out of place(But that is problerly just me im very strange.......). All in all i liked this story very much and have recommended this to my friends and to you...go buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elfen Lied - Vol.1 [DVD]
Elfen Lied - Vol.1 [DVD] by Mamoru Kanbe (DVD - 2006)
Used & New from: 6.04
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews