Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, Great Sounds
Although not a new film, if you are a fan of 50's music then this is the film for you. Most of the musical content is provided by Los Lobos who add the authentic Latino feel.
The film is based on the true life story of the ill fated Ritchie Valens. Lou Diamond Phillips did an excellent job of portraying the main character during his (Ritchie Valens) short but...
Published on 18 Sep 2001

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars La bamba.......
I was so looking forward to watching this DVD but kept jumping
Whilst being played...!!!!!! And it deffo was NOT my DVD player...
Very disappointed..
Published 12 months ago by Claire m Adams


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, Great Sounds, 18 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: La Bamba [DVD] (DVD)
Although not a new film, if you are a fan of 50's music then this is the film for you. Most of the musical content is provided by Los Lobos who add the authentic Latino feel.
The film is based on the true life story of the ill fated Ritchie Valens. Lou Diamond Phillips did an excellent job of portraying the main character during his (Ritchie Valens) short but successful rise to stardom in the 50's.
In fact all the main characters are so well portrayed and so convincing that on more than one occassion I had to clear a tear from eye.
This is a film that I have and will continue to watch over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 22 Jun 2005
By 
L. Kirk "lareen8" (Nottinghamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: La Bamba [DVD] (DVD)
I've been watching this film since I was a child, so I thought it deserved being bought on DVD. Fantastic movie, really quite moving. He tried hard and got out of poverty, then the tradegy happened. Really sad, good if you enjoy musicals, rock and Roll and true stories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 25 April 2007
By 
G. Beach "Beachy" (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: La Bamba [DVD] (DVD)
Well i put 4 stars cuz i watched this film as a child and i was so impressed by it even as a child and i always think about this film. So glad to hear its out on DVD.

At a low price like this what have you got to lose it is a classic and awsome film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOU BRINGS THE STORY TO LIFE, 7 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: La Bamba [DVD] (DVD)
La Bamba is one of those Bio's that every music lover should have on their shelves. Not only does Lou Diamond Phillips bring the story of Ritchie Valens back to life, he becomes Ritchie. An unbelievably perfect performance that had me in tears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent movie, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: La Bamba [DVD] (DVD)
La Bamba charts the career of 50s singer songwriter Richie Valens, but this film is far more than a biopic. It is a film about family and the ultimate price of success. Esai Morales is exquisite as Bob Richie's messed up brother, and together they have a charisma which just lights up the screen. The music is fantastic and the way the film develops is incredible. High high recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD "LA BAMBA" - RITCHIE VALENS, 10 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: La Bamba [DVD] (DVD)
An amazing film about this late, great, budding rock 'n' roll star who sadly died much too young. The actor portraying Ritchie does a great job, as do the other characters. Fantastic music but also sadly nostalgic as we all know that Ritche was killed in the plane crash with Buddy Holly and The Big Bopper at the age of only 17. I would recomend this DVD to anyone, even those who don't know his music or the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars La Bamba, 19 Sep 2010
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: La Bamba [DVD] (DVD)
`La Bamba' tells the life story of Ritchie Valens who burst onto the rock n roll scene, shot to the very top and then left us just as fast. This was Lou Diamond Phillips' debut film and he puts on a solid performance throughout. It shows how Valens rose from being a migrant fruit picker, to performing with an amateur band, before getting signed and finding stardom with such hits as 'Donna' and 'La Bamba'. This also looks at his fraught home life and stressful relationship with is alcoholic brother. This film has some great music and tells the story of Ritchie's short life in a rich and engaging way. It feels a little dated now, but still makes for just under two hours entertaining viewing and it makes you appreciate Valens' music all over again. If you haven't seen this yet, this is well worth snapping up and adding to your film collection.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely La Bamba, 14 Aug 2002
This review is from: La Bamba [VHS] (VHS Tape)
La Bamba is one of the best rock biographical films. The music is particularly haunting as you remember that Ritchie was only a boy , aged 17, when he was tragically killed. Thanks to the wonderful film, the acting, the singing and the passion that went into such a wonderful film will keep Ritchie alive for generations to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Watch, 14 Jun 2014
By 
K. Williams (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: La Bamba [DVD] (DVD)
What a sad but at the same time an uplifting film of a great singer songwriter who saddly died along with Buddy Holly, Big Bopper etc on that terrible night, wonderful acting,great music and a must have for those who remember him, even if you don't you will enjoy the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars La Bamba Lou Diamond Phillips, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: La Bamba [DVD] (DVD)
An excellant film covering the life of Richie Valens. A good music score and is well acted by Lou Diamond Phillips. It covers his carrier until his death when he got on a small plane with Buddy Holly and J P Richardson(The Big Bopper).The plane crashed due to very bad weather and no one survived.This was a bad day for music. A film well worth watching for Rock'n'Roll fans old or young.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

La Bamba [DVD]
La Bamba [DVD] by Danielle von Zerneck (DVD - 2006)
28.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews