Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
57
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£1.28+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 24 October 2008
I am a fan of the TV show, seen them all, so when I saw this in the sale had to give it a try. Some of the stuff in this is so outrageous that I am a little suprised it made it on DVD, but I am glad it did. Some of the stuff on this had me crying with laughter. A must purchase (unless you are easily offended!)
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2013
This has all the things they could not show on TV the first time around.
There are some things one here you will know why they did not show it lol
You will Laugh a lot at this and will want to watch it again and again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2009
I hate to admit it but I am a great fan of Mock the Week.

I think it is very funny, up to the minute satire that it is not only laugh out loud but intelligent. That is the TV series anyway - the DVD is still funny in some places but generally it consists of expanded versions of the same jole that start to wear thin very quickly.

Where the TV series is intelligent the DVD seems to consist of the presenters starting their answers by saying this won't get shown and then trying to swear as much as possible - I have no probem with swearing as I do it constantly myself but this becomes tiresome and again lacks humour.

It was worth the £3-4 paid but on the whole I think I would have been better recording it off the TV - where it is funnier!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2008
Was lucky enough (well, I actually requested it) to get this DVD for Christmas, and settled down to watch it. It's basically some of the out-takes containing stronger language. I found it really funny, but then, I am a huge fan. The DVD also contains three episodes of the series, so all in all over three hours of comedy - well worth it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2009
I love Mock the Week, so this DVD was a much loved present.

I watched it on Christmas Day and laughed along with it, but it didn't feel as though it was the sort of DVD you could come back to frequently.

We could have done with some nice extras to distract ourselves with.

Still - for the price, it's a worthy purchase.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2008
very funny, deffinately worth the dosh for keeping you amused for 3 hrs on what can be a dreary saturday night on tv, and frankie boyle wot can i say, a hilariously funny bloke- for a scot!! lol
22 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2009
My son bought it for me for my birthday. If you like "Mock the Week" and are not offended by swearing then you will like this DVD.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2012
An excellent DVD consisting of 3 episodes and an hours worth of unaired material, Mock the Weak's Too Hot for TV should be in every British comedy fan's film library. Naturally, most of the stuff unaired is opinions thrown out by cynical Frankie Boyle, so if you're not much of a fan of his, I probably wouldn't recommend it. The only reason I'm giving it 4 stars rather than 5, is because I wanted more ha ha!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 August 2007
Mock The Week , is a hybrid of "Have I Got News For You" and "Whose Line Is It Anyway"( it actually has the same producers as WLIIA) and is often very funny indeed. It lacks the true topical format and chemistry of the former and the sheer inventive fly by the seats of your pants brio of the latter but every episode has a handful of true laugh out loud moments. Like HIGNFY I feel that the air of spontaneity is somewhat disingenuous as the panel are obviously briefed about content beforehand but it's worth watching because it can be very funny and one of its regular panellists is the brilliant Scottish comedian Frankie Boyle.
Boyle is the funniest person on the show by such a margin he makes the other panellists appear even less funny than they undoubtedly already are. Hugh Dennis is okay but isn't really a stand up comedian and as much of the show revolves around the panellists interpretation of topical news events he gets rather marginalised though his film dub rounds are great . Russell Howard is full of boyish enthusiasm but his take on events is scatological but rarely funny or insightful. Mostly he just gets in the way. Andy Parsons is droll , laid back and capable of moments of lacerating insight , but not nearly enough to make his continuing participation essential. He always gets the headline acronym for some reason. David Mitchell often pops up and has a steely eye for the absurd while the other guests are mostly swamped by the regulars . Rory Bremner, Ed Byrne , Jo Caulfield manage to hold their own though the best guest was Ben Norris whose stand up credentials really stood out.
Not to be taken seriously by any means as the points are handed in a rather oblique fashion by host Dara O,Briain who is a good host and has thankfully given up the little stand up routine at the beginning of the show. The various rounds involve the cast satirising the weeks news and events and while it lacks the audacious edge of empirical authority Ian Hislop brings to HIGNFY it does have Frankie Boyle who is quite exceptional at spotting absurdities and contradictions , but often goes not so much close to the knuckle as devours the phalanges . His comments that the best way for the Heathrow protesters to wreak havoc was to actually book a flight were spot on but his pointing out that the terrorists attacking Glasgow airport were wasting their time as all Scots on foreign holidays get burnt to a crisp anyway is the sort of thing that might offend some people .I laughed like that clown on Blackpool Pleasure Beach. His Princess Diana gag is pure genius but you can hear the collective gasp in the audience. They actually are,nt on the DVD which is a shame but there is plenty of stuff about hand jobs, some extremely bad taste jokes , and truly extraordianary levels of profanity .The easily offended should avoid like Chris Evans is in the room. There is also stuff where the panel members lose their way with a point or joke which is good to see as it makes my sometimes stumbling attempts at humour seem more acceptable.
The extra stuff is actually good and make this DVD well worth viewing on their own and at three hours it is exceptional value . There is plenty on here to entertain and amuse and until the return of HIGNFY it's the funniest thing on the box.
22 comments| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2009
Mock the week is by far one of the funniest panel shows around. Franky Boyle with his Obnoxious comments about Celebrities & politicians is enough for some 1 to wet themselves!
I loved the one "What does G.B.T.C Stand for?2
Is it Gordon Brown Touching Cloth"? Ha brilliant!
Also, if your a Dara O Briain fan his other Irish show "The Panel" is quite goo too(not as witty as Mock the week though!), type in "The Panel into youtube : )
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)