Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable dance spectactular!
I bought this film a few weeks ago and I've found it a pleasure to watch! The film manages to give a balance between dance and real life problems, and shows an insight into the life of a dancer at the American Ballet Academy.
Okay, the acting is not A* standard and perhaps the script is a little predictable (to say the least), but the dancing certainly makes up for...
Published on 15 July 2004 by Emma Hart

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sweet, good dancing just a little predictable at parts.
I enjoyed the film. It was at times predictable as most dance films are however there are wonderful routines and romance throughout. Worth watching.
Published on 10 Aug. 2009 by AJ.


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable dance spectactular!, 15 July 2004
This review is from: Center Stage [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this film a few weeks ago and I've found it a pleasure to watch! The film manages to give a balance between dance and real life problems, and shows an insight into the life of a dancer at the American Ballet Academy.
Okay, the acting is not A* standard and perhaps the script is a little predictable (to say the least), but the dancing certainly makes up for this. The film provides the audience with an eclectic mix of modern and classical ballet, as well as some urban and latin dance influences too.
The ballet itself is beautifully performed, introducing some new talent, especially Amanda Schull who plays Jodie Sawyer. Each dancer has a different style and technique which gives the film such interesting dance sequences. My only criticism is that I felt that the dance students didn't show the level of commitment a real dance student would have, which somehow detaches the audience from being as emotionally involved as perhaps the director would have wanted us to be (due to the script), so this is why I haven't given the film the full 5 stars it would have otherwise recieved.
I found the soundtrack a pleasant surprise with music from Tchaikovsky to Jamiroquai (yes strange concoction) but this mixture of musical genres works very well.
I found the choreography refreshing and varied, and both the dancers and the different styles of dance make this film such a success and such an inspiration. The final dance sequence is the film's climax with bright costumes, great music, and of course, amazing dancing!
If you love to dance, this film is definately for you and if you don't, you might be surprised how much you enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sweet, good dancing just a little predictable at parts., 10 Aug. 2009
This review is from: Center Stage [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed the film. It was at times predictable as most dance films are however there are wonderful routines and romance throughout. Worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutly mind blowing!!, 28 Feb. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Center Stage [VHS] (VHS Tape)
The film takes the viewers through the ups and downs of life as a dancer, highlighting the strengths and struggles of the individual. Ending in an absolutly mind blowing piece of choreography as the film draws to a close we see a contrasted piece of choreography with the dance styles of ballet and jazz juxtaposed with an upbeat aural setting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Center Stage, 27 Sept. 2006
This review is from: Center Stage [DVD] (DVD)
The dance scenes make up for everything that's less good! A must for everyone that loves to dance or is interested in dance, specially in ballet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must see mix of fame and save the last dance!, 18 Feb. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Center Stage [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I saw this movie advertised in a magazine months and months ago and knew I had to see it, unfortunately it wasn't showing at any cinemas near me so I waited and waited for it's release on video and I wasn't disapointed. You can't take your eyes of the fresh and new dancing, the actors are seriously hot and it has a soundtrack to die for. The plot, basically Jodie and a bunch of friends have been accepted into the American Ballet Company but at the end of the year only 6 places are available for a permanent place there.
There's heart break, eating disorders, love, determination and admiration as 100s of youngsters battle for that place they've dreamed of since they first put on their ballet shoes and tutus. A must see movie for all dance fans and girls who love to see men in tights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars She is 'soo' like my mother!!!, 13 Dec. 2002
This review is from: Center Stage [VHS] (VHS Tape)
What can be said about this film, if you dance you'll recognise each sterotype and spend much of your time commenting that she reminds you of your own dancing teacher, mother and friends. It paints a ture picture of the cut-throat world of ballet, you have to suffer sacrifices for your art.
The dancing is good but it's nothing that hasnt been done before. As for the acting the less said about that the better. But I have to admit, you can't help but be taken in the predicatable and depthless storyline. The vitality and freshness of the performances brings an excitment that goes beyond the film. If you like dancing then you'll like this film, but if you don't you'll probably find it had a flimsy storyline and woodden acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best dance sequences since 'Dance With Me', 21 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Center Stage [DVD] (DVD)
this film does not break from the usual trends of dance movies but it is both entertaining and superbly coreographed. The final dance scenes are some of the best i have ever seen and will make you want to run out and learn ballet immediatly. Amanda Schull is both beautiful and extreamly talented and is the most convincing as an film actress out of the entire cast. The majority of the cast being professional dancers makes this film very credible and all the more enjoyable to watch.
This is one of my favourite movies and i hope this isnt the last we see of Amanda Schull and Ethan Steifel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lights, Camera, DANCE!, 3 Mar. 2003
This review is from: Center Stage [DVD] (DVD)
Although Centre Stage is addressed to a younger audience, all admirers of dance and ballet can enjoy it. It presents all the problems of adolescence against a background of the American Ballet Academy. Love, conflicting emotions and pressure all hung over the ballet dancers heads as they try and get a spot into the coveted American Ballet Company. The movie contains strong performances from Ethan Stiefel, ZoŽ Saldana and the 1998 Olympic figure skating Champion Ilia Kulik. Whether you are a fan of traditional ballet or modern dance this movie will surely be to your likening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Centre Stage please take Centre Stage, 18 Jun. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Center Stage [VHS] (VHS Tape)
A must see for every dancer in the country! You can easily relate to them all. The excellent dance at the end is a must see for everyone. It will have you dancing in your chair. Even if you dont like ballet you will like this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Makes Swan Lake look like kids stuff!, 1 April 2002
This review is from: Center Stage [VHS] (VHS Tape)
just a note to say I only brought this to help me on a college assignment for my dance class... I was surprised on how AMAZING it was, and how much I was on the edge of my seat, even AFTER the 10th time I watched it!
It's a story of Love... It's a stsory of Ballet... It's a story about hard work, failure and success, which is everything in the life of a teen at America's Ballet school. You don't need to be a lover of the ballet to enjoy this film, even though it's mostly ballet orientated. It was made for the people.
With a STUNNING soundtrack (Which I brought after seeing this) a compelling story line, and out of this world choregraphy, you will be on the edge of your seat, and be wanting to dance for your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Center Stage [DVD]
Center Stage [DVD] by Nicholas Hytner (DVD - 2006)
£4.37
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews