Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Alternative View
Unlike the earlier reviewer, I found this film an utter delight, for the very reasons s/he probably did not like it - its slow and gentle pace, reflecting a less frenetic age.

"Between Two Women" had none of the explosions, fast car chases, bad language or explicit sex scenes endemic in so many modern films. Thank goodness for that! It was refreshing to watch...
Published on 10 May 2006 by P.Farmer

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Go for the region 1 version!
A word of advice, if you have a multi-region dvd player, I would definitely recommend watching the region 1 version over the region 2 one! For some reason 2 of the most poignant scenes from this beautiful film have been cut from the region 2 version! I only gave the region 2 version 3 stars, region 1 would be 4 or higher!
Published on 22 Jun 2006 by MK


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Go for the region 1 version!, 22 Jun 2006
This review is from: Between Two Women [DVD] (DVD)
A word of advice, if you have a multi-region dvd player, I would definitely recommend watching the region 1 version over the region 2 one! For some reason 2 of the most poignant scenes from this beautiful film have been cut from the region 2 version! I only gave the region 2 version 3 stars, region 1 would be 4 or higher!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slow paced and touching, 6 Sep 2007
This review is from: Between Two Women [DVD] (DVD)
A touching, very delicate and slow growing love between a teacher and an unhappily married wife of a millworker in 1957 Huddersfield, Yorkshire,England.
Great in recreating the English industrial countryside and its mentality.
What I didn't like is that the music seemed to cover most of the dialogue taking place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Alternative View, 10 May 2006
By 
P.Farmer (Merseyside, U.K.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Between Two Women [DVD] (DVD)
Unlike the earlier reviewer, I found this film an utter delight, for the very reasons s/he probably did not like it - its slow and gentle pace, reflecting a less frenetic age.

"Between Two Women" had none of the explosions, fast car chases, bad language or explicit sex scenes endemic in so many modern films. Thank goodness for that! It was refreshing to watch this love story from 1950s northern England - a visual and narrative treat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great performances make the most of an awful script., 14 Nov 2009
By 
Ms. Jf Bowers - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Between Two Women [DVD] (DVD)
A female love affair set in post-war England, needless to say I was very much looking forward to seeing this film, and from the reviews I had read on Amazon, all seemed in favour. However, twenty minutes into the film I felt that pang of dread in realising the script was not going to get any better than the dreary sparse dialogue I was experiencing.Whilst not being compeltely ''un-watchable'', it is blatantly clear that the director had very little vision of the details of the story he wanted to tell. Apart from two women dealing with their feelings for one another, there is little else in terms of story that the film offers and it is all presented in lifeless and dull conversation.
Simplicity is of course paramount in films with such strong and delicate emotions as Between Two Women, but there has to be subtext underneath the simplicity to make it interesting to a viewer. If you are going to convey all the drama in dialogue, then the dialogue has to pack some punch. There is certainly no punch here. Luckily for director Steven Woodcock he did make one good decision, and that was in casting Andrina Carroll who can express a whole paragraph of powerful dialogue simply with her eyes. Its a shame the powerful dialogue wasn't there in the first place for them to play with. Instead, Woodcock's poorly crafted characters and unimaginative script forces these two fine actresses to just 'make do'. I don't doubt that if this script is rewritten by someone with more originality and imagination, the film could be extremely powerful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Between Two Women, 29 Dec 2008
By 
P. Blalock (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Between Two Women [DVD] (DVD)
Loved this film, loved the slow pace, beautiful acting, and the 'feel' of it, wonderful sense of the 1950's...BUT, and it is a big BUT, the musical soundtrack was awful! How I would love to see the film without the irritating music. The last scene, on the train, would have been so much better with just the sounds of the train and not the strange new-age-angels-and-harp music, that for me ruined the atmosphere of that scene and the entire film. Why oh why did the director feel the need to add the music?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delight and indeed a gem of a film!!, 1 Nov 2007
This review is from: Between Two Women [DVD] (DVD)
I absolutely loved this film, it makes such a refreshing change from action movies with CGI overload, explicit sex and violence. It is a beautifully gently paced story which gives an idealistic insight into a bygone era. I loved the way the relationship between the lead characters was portrayed, the tentative looks, the unspoken words, the hope and longing being beautifully conveyed by the actresses Barbara Marten (playing Ellen) and Andrina Carroll (playing the teacher Kathy). I do however share the disappointment about the scene in the park that was partly cut, as I feel this was pivotal to the plot and showed the depth of emotion and love between the two women. This, I believe, was a mistake by the writer and director Steven Woodcock, as the cut scene does add so much to the plot, as let's face it, it is about the burgeoning relationship between two women after all, that just happens to be set in the 1950's. Despite this, I would still highly recommend and will still give it 5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No on screen time between the women, 13 Sep 2007
By 
This review is from: Between Two Women [DVD] (DVD)
This has real potential to be a good film - I don't mind the slow pace and I don't especially want steamy love scenes - however, some interactions between the women would have been good. We see more of her life with her husband than anything else and never fully get a sense of the relationship that developments between the two women. From reading the other reviews, I am assuming I have watched the Region 2 version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Yawn a minute, 10 April 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Between Two Women [DVD] (DVD)
If you like watching paint dry then this is the film for you.
Slow and ponderous, cheesy dialogue, acting quite suspect - waste not your cash on purchasing this film - dire
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Between Two Women [DVD]
Between Two Women [DVD] by Steven Woodcock (DVD - 2006)
Used & New from: 21.74
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews