Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fun
A fun view of the ballet world-the story is secondary to the valuable footage of stars past doing their party pieces!Valuable to have Antoinette Sibley's only acting role as far as I am aware.
Published on 17 July 2010 by Mr. F. R. S. Glass

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars an enjoyable film but rather long
i was very happy to finally get this movie as it doesnt seem to be available in any shops! i have to admit that the only reason it was of interest was because of shirley maclaine,not for the dance aspect.while i did enjoy the film i found it to be rather long & very ballet focused which is to be expected seeing as that is the basis of the movie!other than that i think it...
Published on 11 Oct 2010 by babyday


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars an enjoyable film but rather long, 11 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Turning Point [1977] [DVD] (DVD)
i was very happy to finally get this movie as it doesnt seem to be available in any shops! i have to admit that the only reason it was of interest was because of shirley maclaine,not for the dance aspect.while i did enjoy the film i found it to be rather long & very ballet focused which is to be expected seeing as that is the basis of the movie!other than that i think it would be an enjoyable film for any shirley or anne bancroft fans & anyone interested in dance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fun, 17 July 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Turning Point [1977] [DVD] (DVD)
A fun view of the ballet world-the story is secondary to the valuable footage of stars past doing their party pieces!Valuable to have Antoinette Sibley's only acting role as far as I am aware.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Turning Point, 21 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Turning Point [1977] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a lovely ballet film, where you can see how the "inworld" of this activity works, and the competitiveness that exists in it.
The main actress acts pretty awfully from my point of view, but dances peacefully and nice, the we have marvellous Baryshnikov who never disappoints. This is one of his first moves if not the first. In all its a nice film to watch, and to inspire you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning ballet film, 19 Feb 2012
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Turning Point [1977] [DVD] (DVD)
Years after she quit the ballet to marry and raise a family, Deedee (Shirley MacLaine) is reunited with her her old company and old friend/ rival Emma (Anne Bancroft). Deedee always wondered if settling down was the right decision and now that her daughter is a ballerina, the old doubts flood back.

If you love ballet, this is the movie for you and if you don't love it, maybe you will after watching it. The dance scenes are simply magnificent; Leslie Browne, who plays Deedee's daughter, is a lovely dancer (though not a strong actress) and she is paired with the stunning Mikhail Baryshnikov who is charisma personified. MacLaine and Bancroft are old pros and play well off each other. The regal Bancroft doesn't actually dance but looks like a dancer and always owns the screen. MacLaine's character is whiny and at first doesn't appreciate how good her life is. The two ladies are well-matched and fun to watch; all four lead actors received Oscar nods (and the movie was nominated 11 times in total).

This is a movie that will surely inspire many little ballerinas. The mix of classical ballet and sudsy soap opera is a good one. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth watching, 11 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Turning Point [1977] [DVD] (DVD)
Was not an easy film to get into at the start, took a little to unfold it. However it does have a message and was worth the viewing. A story of misunderstanding, hopes, dreams, obsession, lack of communication.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For the ballet fan who loves a love story, 10 Sep 2009
By 
Subie Doo (Romsey, Hants UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Turning Point [1977] [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this many years ago and always watched it every time it came on television. Now I want to help inspire a love of ballet in my daughter this is the perfect film. I also noted things on the reviews of this DVD that I had forgotten: like that Shirley Maclaine was in it - she and Ann Bancroft give very good performances, but the real star is the dancing and I've never forgotten Leslie Browne's joyful dancing to Chopin (I think tho' it may be Liszt) at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pointed pirouettes, 12 Dec 2011
By 
J. Scott-mandeville "jackie veronica" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Turning Point [1977] [DVD] (DVD)
For anyone loving dance, ballet in particular, this film is a pleasurable experience and the story of rivalries within the ballet world provide a storybook backdrop to a film full of wonderful examples of great ballet dancing.

Anne Bancroft and Shirley Maclaine, stalwarts of the film acting world, add vigour and depth to what is, essentially, a family film for matinee viewing. Bancroft plays the fading, but still dedicated, ballerina who has given up everything, especially family and children, for The Dance. Maclaine is her opposite who did give up her dancing for her family. But her daughter, played with exquisite loveliness by Lesley Browne of the American Ballet Theatre, is to prove that her sacrifice was not in vain.

Mikhail Baryshnikov in his film debut enhances the film to heights of wonder with his magnificent dancing and he proves he can act a little in his delightful scenes with the ingenue but ambitious young fledgling dancer.

The best parts of the film are, obviously, the fabulous dancing, the best of which is the pas de deux from Don Quixote with Baryshnikov's leaps simply stunning.

Recommended for both Maclaine and Bancroft in fine style and for Baryshnikov's and Browne's beautiful dancing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful dancing and interesting as a film, 11 Aug 2010
By 
Berit Storset "margareta" (Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Turning Point [1977] [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this film partly because of the story and title, which aroused my curiosity, partly because I wanted to see Mihail Baryshnikov in it. However, Anne Browns performance was a very pleasant surprise - in fact quite stunning, primarily as a dancer,but good and believable acting too. Anne Bancroft especially and and Shirley MacLaine were good too, but then one expects them to be, so this was less surprising.
A very satisfactory film, which I have seen several times. I even bought a second copy as agift to a good friend.
Heartily recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Turning Point [1977] [DVD] (DVD)
Worth buying for the famous 'handbags at dawn' scene !! A chick flick I guess and really well acted, thought provoking.
Fast delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Turning Point [1977] [DVD] (DVD)
I've had this film on VHS for years and love it...bought this copy to update my collection. The dancing is beautiful and the story line well thought out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Turning Point [1977] [DVD]
The Turning Point [1977] [DVD] by Herbert Ross (DVD - 2006)
£6.71
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews