Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Weller concert on dvd
First thing I want to say is: this is the best Paul Weller concert I've ever seen on dvd. It is better than the 'two classic performances' dvd and the newer 'find the torch' dvd. It is absolutely ace! 30 fantastic songs given the respect they deserve. Excellent renditions of some Jam tunes too (especially 'In The Crowd'). If you loved the 'Illumination' album then...
Published on 26 Jan. 2011 by Acton

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic performance, lousy editing.
This DVD is a shame. Paul and the band are in top form, and the sound quality is excellent. Unfortunately, it looks as if the editor was on crystal meth or something. *BAM!* There's Paul *BAM!* some guys elbow *BAM!*audience *BAM!* guitar headstock *BAM!* fast pan over the drums *BAM!* shaky shot of Paul's shirt *BAM!* another guy's feet... Jump cut after jump cut, none...
Published on 30 Jan. 2012 by R. Ballard


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Weller concert on dvd, 26 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paul Weller: Live At Braehead [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
First thing I want to say is: this is the best Paul Weller concert I've ever seen on dvd. It is better than the 'two classic performances' dvd and the newer 'find the torch' dvd. It is absolutely ace! 30 fantastic songs given the respect they deserve. Excellent renditions of some Jam tunes too (especially 'In The Crowd'). If you loved the 'Illumination' album then you will love this concert dvd. The rendition of 'Who Brings Joy' alone is worth the price of the dvd. Superlative concert with great sound.
The only negative thing I have to say is that the editing is terrible on some songe, notably the faster paced songs. Don't try to watch this dvd if you've had a drink as you will feel seasick and may not be able to get off the couch. 'Sunflower' is a prime example of this epileptic MTV form of editing. It could induce nausia!! That said, some of the slower songs have not been murdered in the editing room. I'm still giving this dvd 5 stars as nothing can take away from the awe-inspiring performance by Weller and his gang. Hang the editor though.
A MUST HAVE for Weller fans.

Full track listing: 128 minutes: 30 songs:
A Buller for Everyone,Into Tomorrow,Bull Rush
It's Written in the Stars,Going Places,Friday Street, Man in the Cornershop,Now the night is here, Leafy Mysteries,
One x One, Hung Up, Sunflower, In The Crowd, Broken Stones, Picking Up Sticks, Bagman, Who Brings Joy, Down In The Seine, Man Of Great Promise, Brand New Start, All Good Books, Can You Heal Us Holy Man, Porcelain Gods, Pretty Green, Whirlpool's End, The ChangingMan, Peacock Suit, Town Called Malice, Sranding Out In The Universe, Wild Wood
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Modfather Still Reigns Supreme !!, 17 Nov. 2003
By 
COLSEE "colsee" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Having been a Weller fan since The Jam days i look forward to any release he makes.
This does not mean i am blinded by the contents as i like value for money and this release certainly gives that. After the recent release of the Jools Holland acoustic set this does not dissapoint.
This DVD contains 30 tracks of pure rock.
As you would expect the concert is full of passion, something Weller has never been short of. I never thought Jam songs could be played with such intensity all these years on but here they are !! GREAT STUFF !! AS GOOD AS ANY JAM VERSION !!
The electric version of Town Called Malice will make the hairs on the back of your neck stand up.

The Style Council wasn't the presses favourite band, i don't think they forgave him for the demise of The Jam, but these songs still sound as fresh as ever.
Now don't let me mislead you, the majority of tracks are solo Weller and his catalogue is now larger than all the previous.
Be asuured that this gig is full of energy and you can't help feeling you are actually there at the concert.
So, crack open a beer, turn the lights down low and be prepared to be blown away.
You MUST buy this if you have interest in any part of Wellers career.
You WILL LOVE IT !!!!!!
ENJOY !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 5 Feb. 2007
This review is from: Paul Weller: Live At Braehead [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
A fabulous concert recorded on the 2nd of a 2 night stint which was the debut opening of the Braehead arena. The cover details the story in which the opening night was plagued with sound and technical difficulties in which Paul greeted with a less than magnanimous response on stage. This attracted a fair bit of controversy and tension to the 2nd night. However it seems here on the 2 night, Weller is out to just blow everyone away and he does just that. A phenomenal set of 30 tracks, right up there with his live 'Route of Kings' DVD. All the fab solo stuff, smattered with Jam and council gems done with a full backing band. Particularly loved 'In the Crowd' and 'Man of such great promise'. Really top notch versions. Overall this DVD is a must have and is excellent value marred only by the most unattractive crowd ever captured to film!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic performance, lousy editing., 30 Jan. 2012
By 
R. Ballard "Radio DJ" (Iowa, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This DVD is a shame. Paul and the band are in top form, and the sound quality is excellent. Unfortunately, it looks as if the editor was on crystal meth or something. *BAM!* There's Paul *BAM!* some guys elbow *BAM!*audience *BAM!* guitar headstock *BAM!* fast pan over the drums *BAM!* shaky shot of Paul's shirt *BAM!* another guy's feet... Jump cut after jump cut, none lasting more than about a second *BAM!* before *BAM!* it's something *BAM!* else. And it's that way all through the video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great show and not so good editing, 26 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Paul Weller: Live At Braehead [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I wonder who has done the editing of this show. Couldn't he had stopped moving the camera so much and avoid constant changing of the camera angle? It looks like a videoclip. And it's a pity because the show is astounding. Weller is great with everything he sings. Not only songs from his solo career, but also and as usual the Style Council and Jam reprises. I hope he keeps on going with these performances for many years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shoot the editor, 17 Jan. 2004
Great concert, excellent value with 30 tracks, only one big problem, you can't sit down and watch the bloody thing as the idiot who edited it never keeps the camera on the same scene for more than 2 seconds, the average being about 1 second (that's no exaggeration). If your prone to epilepsy don't buy it !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great show, 15 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paul Weller: Live At Braehead [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I don't agree with so many of these reviews,all music dvds are fast paced and move from one angle to another, it's just the style nowadays if you have many other shows from differing artists it won't be any different. And this is a great show packed with all the classics you want to hear, BUY IT You won't regret it !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars thanks, 27 Jan. 2012
By 
Anthony House (Glos, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paul Weller: Live At Braehead [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Great stuff. thankyou thankyou thankyou. I may be a 'bit' biased being such a Weller fan- for many years! I have been playing it nearly EVERY DAY..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paul Weller: Live At Braehead [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
brilliant Weller at his best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paul Weller: Live At Braehead [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Excellent DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paul Weller: Live At Braehead [DVD] [2008]
Paul Weller: Live At Braehead [DVD] [2008] by Paul Weller (DVD - 2006)
£4.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews