Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Gilmore Girls are back for a second season of fun
The second season of "Gilmore Girls" is when a lot of things did not happen to Lorelai Gilmore. It started with Lorelai not marrying Max ("Red Light on the Wedding Night") and ended with her not marrying Christopher ("I Can't Get Started"), but Sookie got married so at least there was some progress in that area, although the duo's plan to open an inn together hits a...
Published on 10 Dec 2004

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A milestone in Absolute Nonsense
Witty? There is wit, and there is nonsense. There's absolutely nothing funny about their 'wit' 9 out of 10 times. It's just analogies where none is required. Terrible show. Clara is spot on in her review.

Example: (mother and daughter are walking to a cafe, when for no rhyme or reason....)

mother: you are tilting
daughter: i am not tilting...
Published 4 months ago by ed


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Gilmore Girls are back for a second season of fun, 10 Dec 2004
By A Customer
The second season of "Gilmore Girls" is when a lot of things did not happen to Lorelai Gilmore. It started with Lorelai not marrying Max ("Red Light on the Wedding Night") and ended with her not marrying Christopher ("I Can't Get Started"), but Sookie got married so at least there was some progress in that area, although the duo's plan to open an inn together hits a major roadblock ("The Ins and Outs of Inns"). Of course, the most important thing that did not happen to Lorelai was that she manages to really notice Luke despite the fact he is pretty much there in front of her every morning at the diner. Clearly the creators of "Gilmore Girls" remember what happened to "Moonlighting" once Dave and Maddie stopped bantering and started kissing and other things, so the agenda is to put off the inevitable for as long as possible. So even if it is obvious to everyone else in Stars Hollow (to wit, Emily), does not mean that Lorelai has a clue.
As for Rory, her junior year at Chilton has its ups and downs. and not just because of Paris. The ups would be "The Road Trip to Harvard" and making her society debut ("Presenting Lorelai Gilmore"), while the downside would be the rift between her and her grandfather because of Dean ("Sadie, Sadie") and the problems with Dean because of Jess ("There's the Rub" and "A-Tisket, A-Tasket"). If anything, the common denominator is to make sure that none of the Gilmore women are happy, which means Rory is mad at Lorelai for blaming Jess for the accident ("Help Wanted," Lorelai is mad at Emily for arranging their going to a spa together ("There's the Rub") and Emily is mad at Richard for quitting his job without consulting here ("The Bracebridge Dinner"). What? You thought Emily was going to be mad at Rory? Are you kidding? Have you not been watching this show?
For me the fascinating part is watching the yang of Lorelai and Emily's relationship compared to the yin of the Lorelai and Rory dynamic. For me some of the most memorable moments from season two are when Emily orders Richard to make up with Rory because if their granddaughter ever gets married she to know about it (Lorelai did not tell her parents about her engagement to Max) and the look on her parent's face with Lorelai gets her business school diploma ("Lorelai's Graduation Day"). But then a good rule of thumb is anytime we see a chink in Emily's armor it is a moment that will be hard to forget. I am still trying to make up my mind as to whether or not Lorelai has an even more strained relationship with her father than her mother, given his visit to her place of work ("Richard in Stars Hollow") and her visit to his new office ("Help Wanted"). I am certainly leaning in that direction, but it is still open to debate.
But overall the two emotional highpoints of the second season finding Lorelai giving and then receiving as good as she gets. The giving happens in "Teach Me Tonight" when a totally distraught Lorelai goes after Luke because of the car accident where Rory gets hurt (slightly hurt, but hurt is hurt, and there is a cast on her arm, mister), creating a serious rift in their relationship. The receiving is two episodes later in "Lorelai's Graduation Day" when Rory misses the big event and offers the most high speed combined heartfelt apology and verbal self-flagellation in television history (I agree with her, I think she had a stroke or something).
My strong affection for high-speed dialogue can be traced from "Gilmore Girls" back to "Moonlight" and beyond to "The Thing From Another World" and any movie starring Groucho Marx. Equally as strong is my enjoyment of gratuitous pop culture references, especially as manifested in "The Simpsons" and "Buffy the Vampire Slayer." So to have a series that combines both of these elements and provides deleted scenes on the DVD is one of those absolute joys you hear so much about (although my wife is tired of me explaining all of the references, allusions, and impromptu name dropping). Then again, while I knew from the start that Carole King was singing the show's theme song "Where You Lead" with her daughter Louis Goffin, I only recently figure out they had re-recorded the song with some of the lines changed to better fit the show (No, I do not fast forward through the title sequence; I always listen to the song).
I am also pleased to see that the "Gilmore Girls" is being seen around the world (Sundays at 18:00 on Nickeloden U.K.), although I have to wonder how the pop culture references translate into out cultures (I have no doubt people can speak real fast in any language). It is nice to think that Stars Hollow's madonna and child have gone international.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well Worth Watching!, 30 July 2006
By 
This review is from: Gilmore Girls - Season 2 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Ok-so i reviewed the first season of Gilmore Girls and now i'm back to review the second! By the way, if you haven't seen Gilmore Girls before, you should watch the first season before the second, otherwise you might get VERY confused.

This is a brilliant series and doesn't lose all the wit and humour that it had in the first. it also sees the introduction of Jess, Luke's trouble-making nephew who comes to live in Stars Hollow. He causes havoc, but takes an unusual liking to Rory and she does to him. Dean (Rory's boyfriend), has a feeling that somethings going on between them, and this is the first time that serious tension is caused between the characters.Also, Lorelai is about to get married but will she go through with it and what are Luke's feeliings on the subject? This is a very eventful series and i love it and the only reason i'm giving it 4 stars instead of 5 is because nothing beats the 1st season! SO YOU BETTER BUY IT NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for all Gilmore Girls fans!, 18 Mar 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gilmore Girls - Season 2 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Firstly let me just say that I’m so glad they decided to release these as region 2 DVDs!
This season is full of highs; the show has definitely improved from season 1 (which was also great!). The introduction of the character Jess was such a good move since it brought in some friction between the characters (and he's really cute!). This is probably my favourite season out of the ones i have seen.
My favourite episode is probably 'Lorelai's Graduation Day', since you can clearly see the development in Rory and Jess's relationship, and i love the fact that Emily and Richard go to the graduation (camera crew and all!) because it really does show, that aside from their criticism of her, they really do love Lorelai.
I was slightly disappointed with the extra features...the extra scenes were great, but it would have been nice if they had some sort of documentary about the programme like on the first season DVD, and blooper reels are always fun!
But aside from that, all I can say is...Bring on season 3!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still wonderful but with reservations..., 30 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gilmore Girls - Season 2 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I was looking forward to the 2nd season of the Gilmore Girls as the 1st season had blown me away,the finest example of quality TV since the 1st season of the marvellous Frasier,the perfect combo of superb acting and witty,intelligent script.Sure enogth,the lovely Lauren Graham and Alexis Bledel do not disappoint,the uncanny chemistry between them as mother and daughter as brilliant as ever,and the fabulous supporting cast on top form.The reason i've given this season 4 stars and not 5 is that through the introduction of bad boy Jess (and this being Stars Hollow,he isn't that bad!)and the re-introducion of Rorys father Chris,some of the episodes have a more dramatic,almost sombre feel to them that goes against the light touch of the 1st season that i found so appealing.The last episode certainly ends on a downer but i would still recommend this as an excellent purchase,just don't expect quite as much feel good factor as the 1st season.The Gilmore Girls is a triumph of quality in an age of throwaway TV,lets just be grateful that there is still the talent out there to produce the odd gem like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gilmore Girl who's hooked on 'The Gilmore Girls', 7 Jun 2009
By 
Patsy (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gilmore Girls - Season 2 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I caught an eposide of 'The Gilmore Girls' on TV one afternoon, and because my own name was Gilmore I was curious and watched the programme, I enjoyed it so much that I decided to buy the 'season one' DVD and start at the very beginning of the story, I enjoyed it so much that I immediately had to buy 'season two' and 'season three'. I find the mother and daughter relationship between the Gilmore girls very loving and funny, and Rory's school friend Paris is hilarious. I am so hooked now on their story and the ups an downs of all their relationships and plans that I can't wait to buy all the other seasons, I have even started to read the books, and would highly recommend 'The Gilmore Girls' story to those who like a mixture of romance, comedy, hardship, high society, friendships and companionship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great show, but somehow, my least favourite series, 18 Aug 2011
By 
Mr. A. E. Hall "brother_of_sadako" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gilmore Girls - Season 2 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Make no mistake, Gilmore Girls was a truly fantastic TV-show and one that should definitely not be judged by its cover. What appears at first glance to be a trite chick-show is in fact stuffed to the rafters with clever jokes, overflowing with cultural references and with dialogue so fast and furious that you will find yourself re-winding the DVD just to catch what Rory and Lorelai say.

However, series 2 is for me, the worst of the seven series. It might be a bit like describing a C Class as the worst Mercedes - in other words, still excellent but the plot lines aren't quite as gripping as the first series where many develop or the third when many come to a head.

Don't get me wrong, this is a brilliant DVD pack and well worth watching, but when looking back at the best moments in the show, I find myself turning again and again to the other series, but not as much to this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than Season 1, if that's possible!, 20 Oct 2010
This review is from: Gilmore Girls - Season 2 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Watch Season 1 first! Season 2 continues with the Max - Lorelai relationship and the Rory - Dean relationship. It introduces Luke's nephew, Jess, who causes havoc in Stars Hollow (especially for Dean and Rory) and sees Sookie and Jackson become even closer. And could it finally be happy ever after for Lorelai and Christopher...? If you liked Season 1, this continues the wonderful fast paced dialogue and warm storylines and if you missed Season 1, rectify that now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 1 Mar 2006
By 
Dawn "Dawnamanda" (Swindon, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gilmore Girls - Season 2 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I discovered this wonderful series by accident, having a touch of flu and feeling very sorry for myself curled up on the sofa, I began to flick through the channels on the TV. For some reason I stopped flicking and started to watch The Gilmore Girls and that was it..... I was hooked.
The characters are so believeable yet unbelieveable, the wit (sarcasm) of Lorelei has me laughing out loud, the romances, the heartache, the family relationships, the interaction of all Stars Hollow somewhat slightly strange residents has me wondering, how the hell they all manage to live together but they do. The writing of this series is first class, long may it continue. I was so thrilled to find they had released this fantastic series on CD for us brits!! Does anyone know when season 3 is out???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
By 
M. Quinlan "DUCHESS" (KENT) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gilmore Girls - Season 2 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
daughter loves the gilmore girls thanks for quick delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT!!, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gilmore Girls - Season 2 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Series 2 is probably the best one full of joyful funny bits and drama a plenty.Everyone of the characters haS found their niche and the speech has finally reached the speed the show was known for! Just BRILLIANT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gilmore Girls - Season 2 [DVD] [2006]
Gilmore Girls - Season 2 [DVD] [2006] by Lauren Graham (DVD - 2006)
9.78
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews