Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watch it with the lights out
This taut thriller is based on a stage play, and wisely is not opened out too much: after some initial scene setting, the action is concentrated in one apartment and the street immediately outside.

Two con men (Richard Crenna and Jack Weston, both giving beautifully-nuanced performances) reluctantly assist the murderous Harry Roat (Alan Arkin) in his attempt to...
Published on 18 May 2007 by M. Doherty

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dated, absurdly convoluted and filled with plot holes but still entertaining enough to be worth a look
Little dates as much as a once-groundbreaking genre piece, and Wait Until Dark is no exception. Audrey Hepburn's `world champion blind lady' finds herself letting an unlikely number of total strangers into her apartment, all searching for a doll stuffed with heroin, though that's not the story they tell her as they try to trick her into giving it to them. See, husband...
Published on 10 May 2011 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watch it with the lights out, 18 May 2007
By 
M. Doherty "Miche" (Hibernia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wait Until Dark [DVD] (DVD)
This taut thriller is based on a stage play, and wisely is not opened out too much: after some initial scene setting, the action is concentrated in one apartment and the street immediately outside.

Two con men (Richard Crenna and Jack Weston, both giving beautifully-nuanced performances) reluctantly assist the murderous Harry Roat (Alan Arkin) in his attempt to recover a stash of heroin hidden in a china doll which they believe is in the possession of a blind woman (Audrey Hepburn). The attempts to trick and then terrorise her into giving up the doll, and the distrust between the criminals, give rise to the twists and turns in the plot. It all ends in a tension-filled sequence, much of which takes place in pitch darkness.

Hepburn gives a terrific performance as a frightened woman driven to the ends of her ingenuity, strength and courage, and Arkin is as threatening when restrained as he is when enraged.

According to the box, this 12-certificate DVD "Contains moderate violence and threat". Piffle. Watch it with the lights out, and it will make Psycho look like the Magic Roundabout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tap, tap, tap, 25 Jan 2008
By 
Eve (stoke on trent, staffs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wait Until Dark [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this as a kid and it stuck in my mind so much that whenever it's on TV I always watch it.

Everyone does so well in this, Hepburn is at once both fragile and strong, Crenna and Weston are hods but with some conscience about what they're doing. For me Alan Arkin stole the film, Roat is creepy. As it turns out I also found creepy to be very attractive and found myself almost rooting for the bad guy.

It does look a little dated now but if you enjoy well acted suspence for example The Night of the Hunter / Robert Mitchem I think you won't go far wrong in adding this to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alan Arkin is Unforgettable!, 21 Nov 2002
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This thriller stars Audrey Hepburn as a recently blinded woman who unknowingly gets a doll filled with narcotics. Some evil drug dealers want it back! They wait until she is alone, and then search her apartment, terrorizing her. Hepburn must use every bit of her cunning to survive the attack.
The lovely and perky Miss Hepburn seems much too capable to really have been recently blinded and too-stylish (how does she put on that make-up??), but Arkin, as the head drug dealer, makes up for it. He is so cruel, creepy and repulsive, you will be on the edge of your seat. I've never forgotten this film because of his electrifying performance. He plays three very different roles quite convincingly, and shows great range and talent as an actor. Richard Crenna is also excellent as a thug with a soft heart.
I recommend this film for those who like to be scared--you will be!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Terrific thriller, 22 Dec 2007
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wait Until Dark [DVD] (DVD)
I remember watching this on television in the 1970's and it was one the scariest films of any genre I'd ever seen. Audrey Hepburn is superb in an Oscar nominated performance as a blind women terrorised by 3 men who are looking for a doll which contains drugs. Its tautly directed by Terence Young (who also directed the first two James Bond films 'Dr No' and 'From Russia with love'). The excellent music soundtrack is by Henry Mancini.

As well as the usual trailers, the DVD has an interesting short extra called 'A Look in the Dark' in which Alan Arkin and the Producer Mel Ferrer (who was married to Audrey Hepburn) look back at the film. This is only about 10 minutes but its quite informative.

However the main reason to buy the DVD is the film, and once it starts you will be hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great thriller, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wait Until Dark [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this after being told about it by my parents. They had watched it at the cinema before I was born and I had heard stories about pranks played on my mum after arriving home whilst she was still fairly spooked. I decided to watch it after hearing my dad describe it in detail and it is a great film. It has you on the edge of your seat but in a thriller way rather than a horror. Will definitely watch again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars without no doubt, 3 Sep 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Wait Until Dark [DVD] (DVD)
It was sad that Hepburn didn't make movies from 67-75. Because this 1967 movie proofs that more movies would have been fantastic. Just like the late Elvis. This is the late Audrey Hepburn.

I remember seeing this movie some years ago at German television, and watched it again (without danish or english subtitles at You Tube). It is very unusual and very exiting. Audrey Hepburn proofs that she is able to move complete into another character or person (different than Tiffanys/Funny Face/Sabrina) and plays the role fantastic. One should not forget how dramatic this is. It's like an Alfred Hitchcock movie.

I think I can remember that this movie was nominated for an Oscar but it didn't win. Of course Audrey H. should have won. Why did the ugly and boring Katharine Hepburn won so many Oscars? When Audrey Hepburn was much better and greater?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best screen villain ever?, 31 July 2009
This review is from: Wait Until Dark [DVD] (DVD)
This is a good, tense little thriller that betrays its stage origins but is raised several notches by Alan Arkin's extraordinary performance as Harry Roat Jnr, the super-smooth, creepy and genuinely frightening psychopath who enlists the help of two conmen (Richard Crenna and Jack Weston)to obtain a doll stuffed full of heroin unknowingly held by a blind Audrey Hepburn.
There are some nice shocks and a sadly predictable ending (this WAS 1967) but Arkin's Roat is a once-seen, never-forgotten creation. A brave but foolhardy Quentin Tarantino chose the role for his first - and so far last - stage appearance, and not surprisingly he came a cropper.
Forget Robert Mitchum in Night of the Hunter, Anthony Hopkins in Silence of the Lambs and Javier Bardem in No Country For Old Men, for true connoisseurs of screen villainry Arkin (who has hardly ever played a bad guy since)in this movie is the man. All together now... "Don't touch me!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 26 Jan 2001
By A Customer
this film is one of audreys greatest achievements it shows her ability to play a wide range of caracters, she is a wonderful actress and this film does her justice, watch and soak in the brilliance!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dated, absurdly convoluted and filled with plot holes but still entertaining enough to be worth a look, 10 May 2011
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wait Until Dark [DVD] (DVD)
Little dates as much as a once-groundbreaking genre piece, and Wait Until Dark is no exception. Audrey Hepburn's `world champion blind lady' finds herself letting an unlikely number of total strangers into her apartment, all searching for a doll stuffed with heroin, though that's not the story they tell her as they try to trick her into giving it to them. See, husband Effrem Zimbalist Jr was persuaded by the courier (now dead and hanging in Hepburn's wardrobe) to hold onto it at the airport, and if you think that's an unlikely plot development, you ain't heard nothin' yet. Now a very nasty Alan Arkin, channelling Lenny Bruce, wants it back, coercing smalltime conmen Richard Crenna and his ex-cop partner Jack Weston into staging a little drama to convince her that it's her hubby who killed the girl. The plot is absurdly convoluted, the suspension of disbelief occasionally stretched to the limits as characters behave in increasingly absurd ways simply to advance the plot until it's just Audrey and one very, very bad man with a can of gasoline and a box of matches in the dark

With a plot this unlikely, everything's down to the execution, and thankfully the film is well-cast enough and, a rarity for his post-Bond films, directed strongly enough by Terence Young for the oft-imitated and now predictable plot developments and shocks to still work. Mostly restricted to a single set (it began life as a play by Frederic Knott, the author of Dial M For Murder) there's an imaginative use of total darkness at the end, and Henry Mancini's score, alternating melody with off-key notes, is effective. It's so full of plot holes you won't buy the story for a second, but if you can put your brain on hold for a couple of hours it still delivers enough entertainment to be worth a look.

Warners' DVD is a good widescreen transfer with two trailers and a vintage making of featurette.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars On Edge, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wait Until Dark [DVD] (DVD)
An excellent film with passages that took me by surprise. Couldn't turn away as I was so focussed on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wait Until Dark [DVD]
Wait Until Dark [DVD] by Terence Young (DVD - 2006)
5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews