Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Doc Hollywood
Every now and then a little gem of a movie slips through quietly, unnoticed by the masses.
This is one such film. Yes it has a simple plot, but it is an excellent script and thoroughly watchable.
I totally recommend this film to anyone who enjoys romantic comedies.
Published on 27 Mar 2003 by S. Lunn

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Sunday Night Viewing...
A likable, entertaining RomCom. Not a great film, but nice enough for a quiet evening in if something a bit fluffy and sweet is what you're in the mood for.
Published 17 months ago by M. P. Roe


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Doc Hollywood, 27 Mar 2003
By 
S. Lunn "Si" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doc Hollywood [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Every now and then a little gem of a movie slips through quietly, unnoticed by the masses.
This is one such film. Yes it has a simple plot, but it is an excellent script and thoroughly watchable.
I totally recommend this film to anyone who enjoys romantic comedies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Feel good movie I kick myself for liking so much!!, 9 Jan 2008
By 
This review is from: Doc Hollywood [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
As a usually emotionally constipated UK resident, film viewer, I should sneer at the marshmallow sentiments, home spun morality, and all round apple pie consistency of this Capra'esque story ....... but I love it!

Michael J Fox is just so likeable, that it is difficult not to root for him, and Julie Warner is not just a simpering local girl who is destined to end up with an essentially decent but uninspiring local guy. The early scenes remind me of Northern Exposure (buy this it's great!) and the odd ball characters all have a back story. However, essentially it is a boy meets girl, boy and girl are attracted, boy leaves girl, and then comes back. It's no Annie Hall, but hey we all need comfort films now and again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What you'll get, 10 Sep 2007
By 
Mr. M. G. Walker "Cowboy" (South Humberside, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doc Hollywood [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
There's a very moral story in this film. It pulls on a few heart strings and lets you see a certain side of society. Look through the money making body sculpture world of medicine and read the basic moral undertone applicable to all walks of life. On the whole, an enjoyable, believable storyline. For the price, you should buy this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I just love this film, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doc Hollywood [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
I love this film. It's just a nice, sweet, simple film. I've watched it so many times and finally purchased a region 2 PAL version vs Region 1 NTSC, so it is a much smoother picture. One of the few films where I genuinely lose track of time, day dreaming watching it :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Film, 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love all the old films from my childhood and this is one of them, you just cant beat the early 90's, thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Family Film in Small Town America, 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doc Hollywood [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
The movie has Michael J Fox so really what more needs to be said except to say that it is nice to see a movie showing the virtues of small town America and not the big city.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Michael J Fox, 24 May 2010
By 
This review is from: Doc Hollywood [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
For all those who were teenagers in the 80s and big MJF fans, this is a must have. A lovely story, with lots of humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VINTAGE DVD, 7 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doc Hollywood [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
Love MJ FOX. Like all his movies and think he is a great guy...so so brave dealing with his own health problems and yet still performing for his fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 26 Mar 2010
This review is from: Doc Hollywood [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
this is a brilliant film of michael j fox'. he is a brilliant actor and best of all you should invest in alil bit of money and buy it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From Southern Wood to Hollywood, 25 Mar 2010
This review is from: Doc Hollywood [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
Michael J Fox has always been a likeable actor and I have seen many of his films. This one is perhaps less well known than Secret Of My Success, Back To The Future (Trilogy) or Teen Wolf but it is no less entertaining and enjoyable. As Ben Stone, a wannabe plastic surgeon in Hollywood, he is on a road trip to his goal when an accident finds him in front of a judge in a small Southern town and sentenced to doing time as the local Doctor. His beloved car in for repair he is left with little choice and as the movie unfolds it is a typical, but enchanting, story of the way a small town can become just as alluring as the big city. Of course there is a pretty girl to help entrap him but the plot and script keeps the relationship from being too syrupy sweet.

Fox is great in his role and his boyish charm is so evident. Julie Warner is a lovely foil for him as Tallulah "Lou" and their budding love is an easy on the eyes and ears affair.

A nice easy rom com and worthy of watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doc Hollywood [DVD] [1991]
Doc Hollywood [DVD] [1991] by Michael Caton-Jones (DVD - 2006)
3.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews