Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars20
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.21+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 September 2003
In my opinion, this album is easily the best since the fabulous Come Find Yourself, and the musical equivalent of a selection box with all your favourite centres and not a dud to be seen.
New York's finest are back on the block, and on form, and with the new addition of Frank The Rhythm Man as Mackie's replacement, the sound is fresh and funky. Opening with the excellent and underrated single 'Too Hot' and moving effortlessly into the equally upbeat 'Stray Bullet', this album puts a smile on your face from start to finish.
Standout tracks for me include the bouncy 'Lost It All', the insanely catchy 'You Got A Problem', the hiphop infused 'Take Me Back', the bass-driven 'What Had Happened' and the surprising 'Steak Knife'. There are some gentler tracks to balance the more upbeat ones, such as the pretty 'Friday Night' and the touching 'Beautiful' and 'You Just Can't Have It All'.
All in all, a truly entertaining album all the way through. Fans will love it, and those who aren't yet soon will be after hearing this! Go buy it now!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2003
The Crim's bring out their best album to date. It's strange and a shame that it comes with their peak of popularity passing them two albums before this one.
It did take me a while to get into this, and I thought it was another Loco..But..What makes this album soo good is the number of great tracks one after each other, especially the middle/end.
The album opens with one of their best tracks ever - Too Hot. Like the patchy Loco, there is still some filler, but stong material round it. Next notable track is Friday Night. You Got A Problem will put a smile on your face. Take Me Back, What Had Happened? Got Our Love and This Sick World, all one after each other make this the class album it is. Fantastic beats and rapping. Beautiful's up there with the best too. Some say there's no heavy tracks here, but Baby is nothing short of heavy, and is a surprised after what has followed. It's a great track, and turns into Heavy Metal.
Overal it's their best album for me. Similar in style to Loco, but soo much better. Also elements from the first two albums are there too. They learnt from the average, lacklastness of Loco. I can't stop playing this album.
Too Hot - 5/5
Stray Bullet - 3
Living On The Streets - 3
Lost It All - 2
Friday Night - 4
You Got A Problem - 3.5
Running For Cover - 2.5
Take Me Back - 5
What Had Happened? - 5
Got Our Love - 5
This Sick World - 5
Steak Knife - 3
Beautiful - 5
Baby - 3
You Just Can't Have It All - 3
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2003
The biggest question, no doubt will be: is this another pop record in the vain of 'loco'? the answer is a resounding 'no'. 'loco' wasn't a bad album, but i have to say, i listened to it solidly for about a month as all the tracks are pretty catchy, but it got put away in a drawer and was never spoken about again. call me a heretic but i think this one may be the flc's best release yet. we appear to have a wonderful fusion of the first two albums. i loved their debut, but actually prefered the second. the first track is very flc and is a wonderful catchy single, but it's the sort of track that wouldn't have looked out of place on 'loco'. 'you got a problem' is rather hip hoppy and alludes to 'come find yourself'. the rather lovely 'beautiful' and 'you just can't have it all' are laid back tunes that are more reminiscent of '100% colombian'. in short, the criminals have managed to fuse all of their best stuff into one brilliant album. i truly believe this their best album to date. i've actually met huey and he is the coolest man alive, thankfully he's now produced the coolest album, just buy it!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2003
Im a big fan of the fun lovin criminals and my favorite album has to be 100% columbian. I was a bit let down by loco, and to start with i was a bit let down by this one too. However it is definitely a grower and i really like it. Went to see them play in Manchester in september and they were quality and ever since ive got well into this album. Not as good as 100% columbian but better than the rest, there are more good tunes than bad, your not always hitting skip track like you are on Loco.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2003
I'd heard some pretty lousy reviews of the fun lovin criminals new album in various music magazines, so was a bit wary about buying it. my advice, dont listen to the reviews in the magazines!!!!! this album is possibly the best offereing from FLC, there is not one track i dislike. if you liked their other albums, you'll love this.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2003
After 2 looong years, this album was so worth the wait, and in my opinion signals a return to form for the boys. With new drummer Frank more than proving his worth as Mackie's replacement, this is definitely a more upbeat collection of songs than 100% or Loco, and you can tell by the sound that they are tighter than ever as a band.
From beginning to end, this album lifts your mood and puts a smile on your face. Standout tracks include the catchy but underrated current single 'Too Hot', the funky 'Stray Bullet' (surely the next single?), the addictive and extremely bouncy 'You Got a Problem' and the bass-driven 'What Had Happened?'. 'Baby' is a great rock tune reminiscent of 100%'s 'Southside', 'Take Me Back' is an equally good hiphop number and 'Steak Knife' with its surprise chorus is definitely worth a few listens. The gentler songs such as 'Friday Night' (great lyrics btw), 'Beautiful' and 'You Just Can't Have It All' are all lovely and mellow - perfect chillout songs.
The fans will love it, and anyone who isn't yet soon will be. Huey, Fast and Frank have done themselves proud!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2010
In my opinion the best album by FLC, (even Come Find Yourself). Like a lot of albums, give it a couple of listens and I defy you not to tap your foot and sing along to the ridiculously catchy 'you've got a problem'. Its maybe a bit cheesy but who cares!

It is a touch more upbeat that other FLC albums and more rocky; bluesy even and less hip hoppy which suits me. When you listen you are not tempted to skip through tracks, and you don't get the feeling that you are waiting for the next track whist putting up with a 'filler'.

I would recommend this to anyone as this takes pride of place as no1 in my music collection: Brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2003
I love this album. At the very least it is on par with my other fave FLC album - "100% Colombian" if not better. Songs that stand out for me are, Take me back and Got Our Love but out of the whole album my fave song is Friday Night! I cant stop playing it. You can keep your Pop Idol trash, GIVE ME NEW YORK'S FINEST!!!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2014
From the 4th track onwards. A classic album full of attitude and personality. For me it marks the happy acclimatisation from youth to man - and none of the fun lovin' has been lost!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2016
Shows the full range that FLC can do. Great album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.24
£2.50
£4.94
£4.97

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)