Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing educational device
Purchased at excellent price via Amazon from Digital Depot. Arrived quickly, just in time for a period of excellent viewing with clear skies. It got a perfect GPS fix in minutes in the garden and it was spot on with objects such as Polaris and the few bright stars that I knew. With stars unknown to me, it immediately recognised them, displayed their name and made an audio...
Published on 12 April 2009 by J. K. Wardle

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An expensive toy...
...that really needs to be used alongside a telescope. It does identify stars quickly and accurately, but unless you have a telescope to view them with too it seems a little disappointing. When you consider that this is an expensive item you need to think twice about buying it as a stand alone item.
Published on 23 Mar 2010 by Linnie Twoshoes


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing educational device, 12 April 2009
By 
J. K. Wardle "wardle57" (Isle of Man) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celestron SkyScout GPS Star Locater (Electronics)
Purchased at excellent price via Amazon from Digital Depot. Arrived quickly, just in time for a period of excellent viewing with clear skies. It got a perfect GPS fix in minutes in the garden and it was spot on with objects such as Polaris and the few bright stars that I knew. With stars unknown to me, it immediately recognised them, displayed their name and made an audio description available for many. It guided me straight to Saturn and the audio description was very informative. In just a couple of days use I am more knowledgeable about the constellations, can recognise far more by eye and have thoroughly enjoyed using the SkyScout. I have now ordered the companion 90mm refractor telescope and look forward to using the SkyScout as a 'manual go-to' system. I have the two SkyTour cards on order and look forward to learning more with these.

The SkyScout is fantastic value for money and something I can highly recommend to budding astronomers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A unique, entertaining and educational gadget, 18 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. J. Mortimer (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celestron SkyScout GPS Star Locater (Electronics)
I'm sure most of the good points have already been mentioned in the other reviews, for me it is a great escape for an hour or so in the back garden (when the stars are out); no longer do I have to wonder what things are, I can just point and click and get an instant audio tour of what I see. Not all objects have an audio description, but they all have text which is easy to read on the red backlit display.

Brightness and volume can be adjusted (especially useful if you get the optional speaker unit as the default volume is actually quite loud if you're standing outside in the dark by yourself). On the subject of the optional speaker unit, exactly the same unit (unbranded) can be had at a fraction of the price of the official Celestron one from elsewhere, but which ever way you buy it it's an excellent addition and well worth the money. Celestron Sky Scout Rechargeable Speaker

Some niggles...

I found it difficult to keep focus on the stars while looking through the viewfinder; I also have difficulty when looking through binoculars (I tend to get double vision), but perhaps I'm just not doing it right. If one looks only through the scope the eye tends to automatically focus on the red alignment rings and directional arrows which form the HUD for locating stars, any star becomes totally out of focus and all one sees is black. Perhaps this unit could have done with a small amount of magnification and/or a focusing mechanism, like a monocular, to make it easier to look through. The only way to do it, I have found, is to keep both eyes open and focus on the star, then slowly move the SkyScout in front of one eye while trying not to refocus. Oh and if you normally wear glasses, even only occasionally, for long distance then you'll definitely need them! The unit is normally held about six inches from the eye so glasses won't get in the way.

The SD card slot cover is tricky to push into place, even when there is no card inserted. Once a card is inserted it's best to just leave the cover out as it's likely to push against the card and make it pop out of it's socket. An unfortunate design flaw that means the unit is no longer water resistant should it start to rain (presumably star gazing wouldn't be up to much if it was raining anyway).

The unit is very sensitive to metallic objects, it even complains if I hold it within a few inches of the little speaker unit (which hangs conveniently around the neck). Moving the unit away again makes the warning go away, but when reading the display it's hard not to bring the unit close to the speaker.

There is no facility to skip the location and time setup. This is a bit annoying if all I want to do is listen to some of the audio tour or read some of the information without standing outside at night. Any time the unit is turned on it goes straight into the automatic GPS setup mode, it can be cancelled but the information must then be input manually before the main menu can be accessed.

The unit could have benefited from having a single bright red LED on the front for use as a torch when finding your way in the dark, reading notes, etc.

The two AA batteries slot into metallic sleeves, presumably to shield the unit's magnetic sensors from them, but these make them a very tight squeeze in the battery compartment. On the subject of batteries, I am successfully using two rechargeable Ni-MH AA batteries which are lasting quite a while. There is a battery level indicator in the display which has been on half-full since I started, I don't know what state the batteries were in but they probably were not full.

Niggles over! Even with these niggles it's still five stars (no pun intended) from me as it's such a great little gadget.

The unit comes with a long wrist strap and a very handy case, although it's a bit of a squeeze for the optional speaker unit in the accessories compartment; there's ample room for the small number of cables (two of which are for the speaker unit), add-on SD cards, etc.

I purchased the All About the Stars add-on SD card, there appears to be a lot on it so I'll be trying that out next now that I've got the hang of using the unit.

After only two nights of standing in the back garden I'm now confident that I could identify The Summer Triangle (Vega, Altair, Deneb), Polaris, and Jupiter just by sight, none of which I knew before. I like to take my time when learning new things, and this unit allows me to do just that; the audio tour is a real boon as it helps me remember things more easily. Next purchase - a good pair of binoculars!

PS... I can highly recommend a companion to this product - Magenta Bat 4 Bat Detector, Listener, Locator - which has a (single white LED) built-in torch, very handy and won't ruin your night vision. Cover the LED with some thin red film if you like. While you're out in the garden might as well make a night of it and detect some bats too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice Device for the Novice, 23 April 2009
By 
E. R. Spicer (High Wycombe, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celestron SkyScout GPS Star Locater (Electronics)
This tool makes learning about the sky very easy and interesting. Have found its positional accuracy very good; the target is nearly always very central within the circular cursors; it seems better than the manufacturer's specification! Only negative observation is that it seems to take longer to find its position than is the case with the best consumer GPSs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SkyScout, 7 Feb 2009
By 
N. Collis Bird "Nick" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Celestron SkyScout GPS Star Locater (Electronics)
Wow! How does Celestron get all that technology into such a small package?
Could not be easier to use and amazing On-line Info, forum etc. Under £200 absolutely brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars celestron skyscout, 23 April 2010
By 
J. D. Firth - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celestron SkyScout GPS Star Locater (Electronics)
This is an amazing piece of kit. very easy to use, & very informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars skyscout, 20 Aug 2009
By 
Mr. Ian Storey "ianstorey13081968" (gateshead uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Celestron SkyScout GPS Star Locater (Electronics)
arived quickly got a instance gps and viewing the sky in a matter of minutes a wealth of education and hours of fun only downside which has nothing to do with the skyscout is our typical british weather waiting for a nice clear sky a very good product well recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 8 July 2009
By 
M. Greenwood - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Celestron SkyScout GPS Star Locater (Electronics)
Totally amazing piece of kit, does exactly what it says on the tin, works perfectly, really easy to use. You learn to find your way around a starry sky and recognise planets very quickly, worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for the novice, 26 Dec 2009
By 
Dr Phibes "Dr Phibes" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celestron SkyScout GPS Star Locater (Electronics)
As an absolute complete novice only being able to pick out the moon correctly in the night sky I read all the great reviews for this product with interest. Costs more than the telescope we purchased but was money well spent. Yes the sat nav technology is a bit slow but its not a race, you point it at your star and it gives you all the info on the display or audio if your wearing headphones. I am absolutely delighted with this product, dont let the price put you off. For us the telescope on its own seems pointless unless you know what to look for or what your looking at. If it were down to cost Id rather have this star locator and not a telecope at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An aging star spotter for an aging astronut, 15 Feb 2012
By 
Dr. I. T. R. Cockburn "Iain" (Salisbury) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Celestron SkyScout GPS Star Locater (Electronics)
Great product, had it a few years now, but a couple of niggles have cropped up;
1) the dreaded "GPS hardware fault" appeared which means your product won't boot up until it is sorted
2) once sorted, the Target button doesn't work when using the Identify function

So, what was the problem?

There is a small board that plugs into the main board within the Skyscout. This carries both the GPS receiver circuity and the sensor for the Target button. When both fail then it can only be one cause - the connector between the 2 boards. When I checked the circuit carefully I found that the soldered joints between the connector and small circuit board had cracked - they are microscopic so you need a magnifying lens to find this. Once they were resoldered everything was fine again.

Still loving it, even bought the matching telescope to compliment it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to use and much better than a phone app, 28 Nov 2012
This review is from: Celestron SkyScout GPS Star Locater (Electronics)
This really is a great device for navigating the stars and planets. There has been a lot of talk about phone apps which can do the same job but in reality they are not even close, often leaving you guessing as to exactly where they are pointing. This Celestron Locater centres the object exactly in the viewfinder so there is no doubt as to which object you are looking at. My knowledge of star navigation is actually quite good but when the skies (as they often are) are only partially clear then making out the constellations for navigating to the correct star is often impossible. This device solves all of that and is much easier to use than a GOTO mount on a telescope system since no alignment process is required.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Celestron SkyScout GPS Star Locater
£159.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews