Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Generally OK (but... ), 15 Jun. 2007
This review is from: Brother HL5250DN Automatic Duplex Network Printer (Personal Computers)
After five months this has proven to be reliable - including the duplex option (which I've used plenty of times and had no misfeeds). However the collection tray for printed pages can't cope with paper curl (caused by the heating unit) so after about a dozen pages it pushes everything on the floor. This is a real problem if you're printing multi-page documents that you want to stay collated! Some papers are worse than others - but different brands of `cheapo' 80 gsm white have proven to be consistently problematical. Higher-price papers curl less so are usually OK.

Apart from that only one grumble and that is the printers are shipped with a 'sample size' toner cartridge which is rated at 2000 copies (but packed up after 1500 for me!). Worse still the printer decides when the toner pack is dead and then refuses to print - not like the good old days when you could give the toner pack a shake and get a few hundred extra copies out. Unless you only intend to use this occasionally (and who buys a laser unless they want to produce lots of copies??) make sure you also buy the larger ('7000 copies') toner pack (ref TN-3170) straight away otherwise you will find yourself out of toner and with a (temporarily) 'dead' printer much sooner than you would reasonably expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars duplex is worth it... shipped from france, 25 Aug. 2006
This review is from: Brother HL5250DN Automatic Duplex Network Printer (Personal Computers)
5 STAR PRODUCT:: less a star because not uk product

This is an excellent printer.

Our offices use it and an earlier model (HL-5150D).

Quick and great print quality.

What you're paying for over above most laser printers is the duplex unit (prints on both sides of each page). It is wort the extra:: saves paper and takes all the work out of producing small numbers of booklets (using either Brother's interface or documents produced using Publisher).

Pixmania ship from France. I haven't had to test their turnaround if a fault develops but it will mean return to base rather than on site :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great laser printer, 28 May 2007
By 
This review is from: Brother HL5250DN Automatic Duplex Network Printer (Personal Computers)
The small form factor, the duplex unit and the Ethernet interface make this printer very attractive, and it does not disappoint. The print quality is excellent and it is very quiet and quick.

The only issue is that it does not print envelops well: no matter which brand I use, the printer always tear them, making them unpresentable.

Anyway, apart from that small problem, I would definitely recommend this printer, excellent quality and reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great printer - ideal for the Small/Home Office and far easier to network than the instructions suggest!, 5 Oct. 2008
By 
P. Barclay "professional technophile" (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brother HL5250DN Automatic Duplex Network Printer (Personal Computers)
I bought the Brother to replace a disappointing HP LaserJet that died after only 2 years in action. Pc Pro rate the HL-5250 and its siblings very highly as they produce high quality printouts at a lower cost per page and I agree with their reviews.

The duplex function is great and works flawlessly - ideal for those long documents.

When I first installed the printer, I connected it directly to one of the PCs in my home network. I did look at the networking instructions but they seemed far too complex. I bought a new modem router and decided to connect it via the Ethernet port and not bother looking at the instructions. My modem just recognised it as another device in the network and all of the PCs instantly recognised it as a network printer. This is particularly useful when mixing XP and Vista machines in a network.

I can recommend this printer to anyone with a home network.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old reliable, 29 Aug. 2012
By 
Aethalides (West Devon, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brother HL5250DN Automatic Duplex Network Printer (Personal Computers)
I am writing this review more than 5 years after I have bought this printer. I am not a prolific printer user. In fact I am still on the toner cartridge that came with the printer.

I am using this printer on Linux and all you need to get it working (once you have cups installed and working) is the PPD file. Said PPD file is on the CDROM that comes with the product, although you will have to hunt for it. (hint: mount the CDROM, then use find -iname '*.PPD')

Remember that this is a network printer so you will need to provide a location. I told my router to issue the same IP address every time, and in cups I set the location to socket://ipaddress:9100

Replace ipaddress with the IP V4 address of the printer (or its domain name)

Once set up is complete you have a good reliable printer. Mine's never broken down, never needed anything replaced, other than paper. Some things are a bit slower to print, but normal text documents go nice and fast.

It will never be a designer printer though, it is gray and black and ugly. Overall a very nice return on investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great printer, 3 Oct. 2008
By 
Robin_G (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Brother HL5250DN Automatic Duplex Network Printer (Personal Computers)
This printer produces excellent (mono) prints on both sides of the paper, is quick, quiet, easy to operate, has a small footprint and even looks cool! So far no paper jams, or any problems of any kind. I'd recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smart, quick & economical, 2 Feb. 2009
By 
Pat Tuffin (Huntingdon UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Brother HL5250DN Automatic Duplex Network Printer (Personal Computers)
I can thoroughly recommend this duplex printer - it is quiet, fast and has an automatic power saving device that allows it to sit, apparently unpowered, until you send a print command. It then bursts into life and hey presto!!
Quality is good and it has a reasonable size footprint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent printer for the money, 13 May 2014
By 
heatonfan (Marple, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brother HL5250DN Automatic Duplex Network Printer (Personal Computers)
I had a networked cheaper brother printer prior to this that eventually gave up.

This is a larger, faster more advanced model with duplex function.

I purchased it refurbished, which was excellent value. It works pretty much like new. My use is for my home office. It gets moderate use and I would think will last for years.

Just plug an ethernet cable in the back linked to your router (or perhaps a powerline) and you can print from any computer in the house.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BROTHER LASER PRINTER, 2 Mar. 2009
This review is from: Brother HL5250DN Automatic Duplex Network Printer (Personal Computers)
Brilliant. Plug it in and it prints without any problems under Windows or DOS and in duplex, straight out of the box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brother HL5250DN Automatic Duplex Network Printer
Used & New from: £99.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews