Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bargain
Was looking for one of these to play my mp3 in my car as was fed up changing the cds every couple of months. Was very wary due to price but reviews convinced me to take a chance. Glad i did. Sound quality is good especially with rock music. Expected to get some interference as i travel 30 miles to work everyday but once tuned in, which is really easy, i had no...
Published on 30 Nov. 2006 by David Taylor

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very cheap but for a reason
I got a bit carried away and bought four of these. Good points are the transmitter has a range of about 10 metres so you could put it anywhere in the car or in another room in the house, and any background station will be taken out by this. The downsides however are it produces a buzzing sound (probably the current powering the unit being broadcasted, I don't know the...
Published on 15 Dec. 2006 by T. Sharp


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bargain, 30 Nov. 2006
By 
David Taylor - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: TeckNet FM12 Portable Stereo MP3 FM Transmitter/Modulator With 205 Channels (For All Ipods, Creative, Samsung, Sony Models & All Other MP3/MP4 Players) (Electronics)
Was looking for one of these to play my mp3 in my car as was fed up changing the cds every couple of months. Was very wary due to price but reviews convinced me to take a chance. Glad i did. Sound quality is good especially with rock music. Expected to get some interference as i travel 30 miles to work everyday but once tuned in, which is really easy, i had no problems. Recommend this to anyone not wanting to change car stereo but fed up changing cds all the time. For this price you have nothing to lose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent little gadget, 9 Aug. 2006
By 
Christy "." (Crumlin, Co Antrim) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TeckNet FM12 Portable Stereo MP3 FM Transmitter/Modulator With 205 Channels (For All Ipods, Creative, Samsung, Sony Models & All Other MP3/MP4 Players) (Electronics)
Just tested this little gem out using my Nokia N80 and hi-fi system, and hey presto... it's like having your own little radio station! Quality drops with distance, but up close it's almost perfect. Why pay hundreds of pounds upgrading your car stereo system to accommodate your iPod when this gadget does it for a few quid?! Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For the price ... Superb, 13 Dec. 2006
This review is from: TeckNet FM12 Portable Stereo MP3 FM Transmitter/Modulator With 205 Channels (For All Ipods, Creative, Samsung, Sony Models & All Other MP3/MP4 Players) (Electronics)
Ok, I bought 2 of these for myself and a friend and for the money they are excellent.

The ones I got had slightly different frequency choices to the ones listed, 107.1, 107.3, 107.5, 107.7, 107.9

On all of these frequencies there were stations in the background of varying strengths but the carrier signal from this transmitter is strong enough to blank the weaker background stations. You should be able to find one frequency which works better than others depending on what stations are broadcasting in and around your location, in my area I found 107.5 to be the best.

Now ... if you turn the volume really high on your radio with just the carrier wave and no music present then you can hear some crackling/interference but you honestly wouldn't have the volume that high under any normal circumstances.

The only other thing you have to watch out for is - if the output from your MP3 player, DVD Player or whatever device you connect to is too high it will either overload the input of the transmitter or cause the RF output power of the transmitter to fluctuate (probably due to the high current drain) especially with audio bass frequencies. The solution is to simply turn the source volume down until the distortion goes away. This might mean that you have to turn the radio up higher than you would for a normal radio station so just be careful that you don't blow the coils/cones out on your speakers when switching to other stations, CD/Cassette sources etc'.

Generally though, if you set the volume of your source device right and select the best transmitter frequency ... these transmitters are very good and more than adequate for their purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars so useful, so cheap, 6 Oct. 2006
By 
John E. Andrew (Worksop, Notts UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: TeckNet FM12 Portable Stereo MP3 FM Transmitter/Modulator With 205 Channels (For All Ipods, Creative, Samsung, Sony Models & All Other MP3/MP4 Players) (Electronics)
Couldn't believe the claims for this little gem but it has certainly lived up to them. Easy to use and amazing sound quality for the price. Works on recharegeable AAA batteries (as well as std alkaline) so should be cheap to run even without the supplied 12v car lead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it!, 17 Jan. 2006
By 
Darren Dean - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: TeckNet FM12 Portable Stereo MP3 FM Transmitter/Modulator With 205 Channels (For All Ipods, Creative, Samsung, Sony Models & All Other MP3/MP4 Players) (Electronics)
If you are fed up with stacks of CD's in the car which get in the way and get damaged, this product is for you. I also have a CD player in my car which skips on every bump. This is a much cheaper alternative to changing the player. I now use my Zen set up play lists and off i go. It is easy to set up just set it to one of the 4 frequencies and tune in your radio, I have saved 4 channels for each and I use the one that sounds best. The audio quality is as good as the system is. I know have no jumpy music and a clear glove box. I even use it for in car DVD players. It runs on 2 AAA batteries but there is a lead for 12v. The only downside though is for use in the home it would have been nice to have rechargeable batteries in it, but for car use it's perfect. I have even tuned this little gem into portable radios and it avoids the need to bring portable speakers. It even works on my Palm GPS system as the speaker on the sat nav is woefully quiet, though obviousley this at the sacrifice of music,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very cheap but for a reason, 15 Dec. 2006
By 
T. Sharp (North Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: TeckNet FM12 Portable Stereo MP3 FM Transmitter/Modulator With 205 Channels (For All Ipods, Creative, Samsung, Sony Models & All Other MP3/MP4 Players) (Electronics)
I got a bit carried away and bought four of these. Good points are the transmitter has a range of about 10 metres so you could put it anywhere in the car or in another room in the house, and any background station will be taken out by this. The downsides however are it produces a buzzing sound (probably the current powering the unit being broadcasted, I don't know the technical stuff, it gets even louder near other appliances) that is half the volume of the music that comes out of your music player even with the volume on your MP3 turned up 3/4 of the way, the battery compartment is too big so they become loose, turning off your unit to hear an untuned radio, this could be fixed by putting some foam or something in it, and the lighter adapter also becomes loose extremly easily, even if you just touch the wire changing gear. If you want to listen to your MP3's like they have been taped from a copy of a copy of a copy of a copy on a cheap stereo, then this unit is ideal, if other transmitters work and make your MP3's sound like listening to them on a well tuned radio, buy one of them instead. I reckon if these are UK legal they will be in shops like [...] for around £[...] soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, great price, 27 Nov. 2006
By 
David (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TeckNet FM12 Portable Stereo MP3 FM Transmitter/Modulator With 205 Channels (For All Ipods, Creative, Samsung, Sony Models & All Other MP3/MP4 Players) (Electronics)
I was a bit wary about the possible quality of these gadgets, but at this price I took a chance and I'm glad I did. The quality is great, and it is easy to use. With the supplied power socket I don't even have to worry about batteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 15 Dec. 2006
By 
K. A. Kirby "Moose" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: TeckNet FM12 Portable Stereo MP3 FM Transmitter/Modulator With 205 Channels (For All Ipods, Creative, Samsung, Sony Models & All Other MP3/MP4 Players) (Electronics)
I have had this for a few months and it is great, if you balance the volume between mp3 player and the speaker device being used so there is no clipping, the quality is perfect at any distance in it's range, and I haven't found a buzzing problem like a review mentioned.

I have never gone out of range with it, even with about 20m away through walls and ceilings.

Use the frequency furthest from other stations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 8 Mar. 2006
This review is from: TeckNet FM12 Portable Stereo MP3 FM Transmitter/Modulator With 205 Channels (For All Ipods, Creative, Samsung, Sony Models & All Other MP3/MP4 Players) (Electronics)
prompt delivery. unreal quaility (choose the frequency furthest away from any other stations).ive had it workin up to 100 metres. can work on loads of cars at a time,say if they were parked beside each other. brilliant buy, and only a tenor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good bit of kit, 16 Dec. 2006
By 
M. Stead (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TeckNet FM12 Portable Stereo MP3 FM Transmitter/Modulator With 205 Channels (For All Ipods, Creative, Samsung, Sony Models & All Other MP3/MP4 Players) (Electronics)
I bought this because the sound quality from the cassette adapter I use in the car is awful (lots of hiss and a dull sound). But the sound quality from this transmitter is much better - no hiss at all. So far, only tried it in the house and the range goes throughout the house.

Only downside is that it looks a bit cheap and plasticky but for a tenner it's brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews