Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BBC 'Wuthering Heights' with Ken Hutchison
The DVD arrived promptly, no problems.
This must be the definitive production of 'Wuthering Heights': the background struck me as completely authentic, and it follows the plot chronologically without getting into all that irritating reported speech in the book! The setting is wild and bleak, and Ken Hutchison as Heathcliff is brooding and passionate. Above all, you...
Published on 27 Nov 2011 by Noname

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Extremely accurate but stilted adaptation.
I have read Wuthering Heights quite a few times now, and have seen 3 film versions: 1978 (this one), 1992 and 1998. Of these 3 this version is by far the most accurate to the book, often playing scenes line by line from the original. Such accuracy is often a book-fan's dream, and since I am a fan of the book, I expected that this production would be satisfying to watch...
Published on 5 April 2010 by R. Garside


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Extremely accurate but stilted adaptation., 5 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Wuthering Heights - BBC [DVD] (DVD)
I have read Wuthering Heights quite a few times now, and have seen 3 film versions: 1978 (this one), 1992 and 1998. Of these 3 this version is by far the most accurate to the book, often playing scenes line by line from the original. Such accuracy is often a book-fan's dream, and since I am a fan of the book, I expected that this production would be satisfying to watch. However it is sadly lacking in many parts. Some of these I can forgive, such as the bad special effects and often strange camera angles (scenes often play out using reflections of the actors, not the actors themselves). The sets and scenery look good and fit the book descriptions. Characters sometimes lose their Yorkshire accents, but that is common enough in many films.

Where the series is lacking is in the credibility of the acting. Many scenes, especially those with the child actors, suffer from really bad acting, and even the principals seem to simply perform their parts rather than become the characters. Ellen Dean was one of the only believable characters, though Joseph, Hindley, Edgar Linton and Hareton didn't do too badly either (though they made Joseph too nice). The leads playing Cathy (1) and Heathcliff were good in some scenes and downright terrible in others, so the passion or hatred they seemed to have at one point had completely fizzled out in the next and they were wooden again. Both were too old to play the 20 year olds they were at the beginning (though this is a common problem with adaptations of this book). The woman playing Cathy generally did a good job in other scenes, but Heathcliff failed to do so well, especially near the end. It was this poor acting that sadly made the adaptation quite boring and stilted.

It is evident that this book struggles in being adapted to film. Both the other versions I have watched take slight liberties with the plot and are much more watchable and enjoyable for it, though this may be due to other features such as the acting and directing. I wonder how they would have done with their actors/ directors using this screenplay... One can only hope that eventually a version will be done that sticks this faithfully to the book and yet has a better team to pull it off and make it watchable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BBC 'Wuthering Heights' with Ken Hutchison, 27 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wuthering Heights - BBC [DVD] (DVD)
The DVD arrived promptly, no problems.
This must be the definitive production of 'Wuthering Heights': the background struck me as completely authentic, and it follows the plot chronologically without getting into all that irritating reported speech in the book! The setting is wild and bleak, and Ken Hutchison as Heathcliff is brooding and passionate. Above all, you feel the anguish he suffers from the cruelty of the rigid class system at that time - which makes for a very painful but brilliant film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fully true to the book, 25 Sep 2012
By 
R. Germov "Roz Germov" (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wuthering Heights - BBC [DVD] (DVD)
This 1978 BBC series is the only full version of Emily Bronte's ground breaking novel. The novel was regarded as distasteful and obscene by contemporary reviewers when it was first published in 1848. The script follows the book very closely and most of the lines are direct lifts from the text. Most versions of this wonderful novel truncate and butcher the story focussing only on the romance between Catherine Earnshaw and Heathcliff which comprises half of the novel. The characterisations are excellent from all the players and the cinematography emphasises the brooding gloom of the Yorkshire moors. The atmosphere is quite dark and oppressive so it is not surprising that the characters are so pent up with rage and misery. The story explores the themes of race, class, sibling rivalry, passion, infidelity and thwarted desires. The Merle Oberon and Laurence Olivier version replaced these disturbing themes with a mawkishly sentimental script that bears no resemblance to the original story. The only other truly worthy Heathcliff was Timothy Dalton in the 1973 version of this film which similarly captured all the dark themes but once again only told half the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wuthering Heights BBC, 20 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wuthering Heights - BBC [DVD] (DVD)
Viewed from the sophisticated 21st century this whole thing smacks of amateurism. The sets are small, the actors almost seem to be falling over each other, Heathcliffe and Cathy are too old, the only passion between them is temper, the acoustics on the sets are terrible and the music is intrusive. Having said that, if you are interested in television drama history or are simply a collector of certain titles, like me, you will find this quaint if slightly irritating. I have watched it once - I won't be doing so again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Telling it like it is, 23 Nov 2008
By 
Mr. G. Cooke (Peak District, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wuthering Heights - BBC [DVD] (DVD)
I agree entirely with "Yorkshire Mans" review. He is right in saying that it is the only version that covers the whole story. I think the remainder of reviewers just seem to prefer the sanitised versions that we have been previously served up with, preferably with a full Kate Bush soundtrack dubbed on. Don't get me wrong, I love the old 1939 Lawrence Olivier version in the same way that I love the David Lean "Oliver Twist" made in the same year but I know what they are, a product of their time and I accept that.

I would say to the rest of the reviewers, try to remember Cathy and Heathcliffe were not star crossed lovers forever gazing into one anothers eyes. Cathy was a spoiled brat who's mum should have given her a good slap, on a regular basis and Heathcliffe was a nasty, grasping, scheming, thoroughly unpleasant person who, had Cathy not died, would surely have killed her to get his hands on the loot. Have a nice day. Graham.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth watching but have to be patient with it in parts, 11 Dec 2012
This review is from: Wuthering Heights - BBC [DVD] (DVD)
This film was long. And I mean 255 minutes long. And the acting is very strange: theatrical but of a kind you don't see in theatres either. Here's what happens. Each character is in his or her own world and when two or more characters do a scene together, each one either overacts or underacts, and doesn't get involved with the energies of the other characters in the scene! Very odd. Only the actress portraying Ellen Dean gives a balanced, solid performance, and engages with others (and Isabella is getting there, too, but unfortunately Cathy isn't), and Ken Hutchison gets the pitch of his overacting just right as Heathcliff. He does a superb job, I think. The rest of the cast are unimpressive. As I said, they act together in scenes but are not involved with each other's acting, and their energies just don't make this televised play what it could have been. Because it does have a few things going for it: Ken Hutchison is great (only the others don't resonate with his energies, and in the end it seems as if Hutchison, too, gets his acting wrong, alongside the others); the film is true to the book, as others have noted (I for one read the book a long time ago, but even I remembered lines from the book!); the atmosphere of Wuthering Heights is there in the manor sets; and the rainy and misty Yorkshire moors are a great element in a dark, gloomy story.

It was a weird piece of BBC filmmaking and the first parts drags on and fail to engage, but in the end, after watching the whole 5 parts I can say it was worth it. It got me thinking about the whole story. The plot is wonderful, and it's a good thing that they kept the whole story in the film (I understand other versions focus on the love story between Heathcliff and Cathy and also take liberties with the plot).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars hard to say..., 30 Jan 2008
By 
J. A. Cadman "jaycad" (skelmersdale,lancashire,u.k) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wuthering Heights - BBC [DVD] (DVD)
i found this adaptation quite difficult to rate as i'm torn between rewarding the script for its complete loyalty to the novel and decent length,the scenery (being filmed in the yorkshire moors),and some decent performances (as cited in the previous reviews) and slating the performances of richard kay as lockwood (absolutely awful but thankfully brief),ken hutchison as heathcliff (almost apologetic instead of devilish), and kay adshead as cathy (just bland),everybody else was ok!
if you're a lover of the novel,then you may find this enjoyable after the opening 15 minutes but not brilliant.
if you are viewing this purely from an entertainment point of view,then the 1998 itv version is far superior!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not for me., 10 Aug 2014
This review is from: Wuthering Heights - BBC [DVD] (DVD)
I love most BBC adaptations of the classics, this is an exception. It is noisy, uncoordinated and the acting is not good. It was so bad that I had to skip the final chapters. There has to be much better video versions.of this classic novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wuthering Heights for university work, 28 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wuthering Heights - BBC [DVD] (DVD)
My daughter needed this for her university work in Brussels. It was perfect, even the local accents, so no complaints and quality good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful story, 26 April 2013
By 
D. Frost "D.C.Frost" (York, North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wuthering Heights - BBC [DVD] (DVD)
In the old style of drama. Its what the BBC are good at. Heathcliff is not the man that history portrays him to be. Read and form your own opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wuthering Heights - BBC [DVD]
Wuthering Heights - BBC [DVD] by Peter Hammond (DVD - 2006)
6.04
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews