Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars48
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 February 2012
Carter Kranz arrives in seedy Blackpool to find out who killed his mother with only the flimsiest of clues to go on. It is Carter's mission that drives this darkly comic thriller as he meets all sorts of suspects and weirdoes, red herrings and blind alleys in an effort to uncover the truth. It isn't long before he is mixed up with the dysfunctional Woolfs; a family of local gangsters that try to help Carter, but only by using him for their own ends

But that's not all. Two more stangers arrive in Blackpool at the same time; a young couple, Dudley and Lola Sutton, trying to spice up their marriage. For Dudley the problem is lack of sex. For Lola the problem is Dudley, and he gets them both in the most awful mess with his stupidity as they too become involved with the Woolfs and their money-grabbing schemes

These are the normal characters by the way; the minor ones are straight out of The League of Gentleman, as is the humour - dark, grotesque, absurd, often very funny. There is no shortage of sex in this series either, so if you are easily offended best steer clear

I found the first episode difficult to get into. Lots of characters are introduced quickly; the story jumps about a lot before we get to know them; its stylistic and strange and a little alienating, mainly because so many of the characters are odd or dislikable. All I can say is, you must stick with it. By the end of the 2nd episode I was totally hooked and watched the whole 11 episodes over 3 nights.

The writing is funny, crazy, tongue-in-cheek, with twisting, turning plots that keep you guessing until the end. Some of the plot twists and character revalations are a bit silly and unbelievable but the story gets away with it. Its not meant to be taken seriously; something which you are reminded of often

Best thing about the series has to be the wonderful cast. Daniel Mays gives his usual power-packed and energy fuelled performance as the sympathetic but fearless Carter. Kris Marshall is hilarious as the inept Dudley. My favourite however was Ian Paulston-Davis as Shirley Woolf. Shirley is the most interesting character and Paulston-Davis totally nails it

Has to be seen by anyone who liked Twin Peaks or League of Gentleman. Or those who don't feel too attached to Blackpool
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2006
I saw the first episode of the series on BBC3 last Autumn and became instantly hooked, I even found myself setting reminders in my phone to make sure I didn't miss the next one! I don't want to say too much about the story because not having a clue what is coming next is the best thing about watching this show. All I can say is that the Beeb have done an excellent job in commissioning this series and that I thoroughly recommend it.
0Comment|37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2007
I received this DVD of the gloriously dark 'Funland' for xmas.

Jeremy Dyson from the League of Gentlemen and a writer for Eastenders teamed up to create a wonderfully grotesque story in the gaudy town of Blackpool. Relaying the intricate story of the series would take too long, so you need to check this out! Having been created by a league member I just knew I was in for a treat.

The story is engrossing with cliff hangers galore throughout and the acting by all concerned is superb. This is the most inventive and original comedy series I've seen in a long time. The images and characters will stay with you long after. A must see.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2012
I think Funland showcases the best of British black comedy an eventful journey into the surreal world of an English coastal town, it is a very clever and entertaining journey for anybody who likes the surreal, the silly and the darker side of life - totally worth a look and is well executed by host of British talent.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2006
This is fantastic. Not a bad word to say about it. Scary, weird, complicated and funny(in places at least), this is a little gem of a show that everyone who likes bizarre drama should watch.

Funland has a wonderful cast, who were no doubt revelling in being involved with something so different and original. Sarah Smart and Kris Marshal as Dudley and Lola Sutton do a great job as a the couple who get involved in the demented politics of the seaside town of Blackpool. The poison runs deep among the resorts inhabitants and due to Dudleys naivity during a poker game, Lola is forced to work as a stripper to pay off the debt.

Sounds pretty "Indecent Proposal" doesnt it? Well things get so much worse after that. As a result of their mistake, the Suttons become linked to the powerful Woolf family, the matriarch of which is Mercy Woolf who runs the club Lola must work at. (Judy Parfitt in this role is amazing, portraying pure evil to a tee.) Her son Shirley is borderline pyschotic and has his own problems having to find some sort of balance between a demanding wife, problematic children and an overbearing mother.

Things get even more complicated with the addition of Carter, a mysterious man hell bent on finding out why his mother was killed. All he has is a key and her final words to him before being brutally murdered by too unknown assailants with chainsaws. He too becomes embroiled with the Woolf family but decides to play by his own rules in order to find out what really happened.

I wont spoil the ending. This series works best when you just try to link things up as you go. And the reward is astounding as you find out just how messed up the Woolf family are.

Im not usually a fan of saying things like "If you liked *this* then youll love *that*", but if you loved League of Gentlemen (Like me) then Funland is right up your street. If its possible Funland is even darker and more twisted than the League.

Watch it! Its brilliant!
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2012
A very English peice of comedy that would appeal to 99.9% of people that enjoy the Gattis/Dyson genre. The black humour is arguably more unsettling than LOG as it is set in "reality" rather than Royston, but for me thats a good thing. The acting is superb as is the writing, the humour is often outragious but is mostly delivered subtlely.
The one proper sex scene (that i remember) is neither out of context nor particularly explicit, and the strong language isn't gratuitous. What more could one want? A re-run on prime time and a second series please.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2012
This series is very sick and twisted but is a really addictive programme, It was aired on BBC Three soon after the channel first launched and I think it is definitely the best programme they have ever shown.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2006
I stumbled upon this BBC 2 series quite by chance and was hooked by its macabre, silly yet gripping storyline. It is grotesque but you cannot help but watch it like some captive voyeur. Then I decided to look at the credits to find out who could have masterminded such a piece. I was not surprised to find that Jeremy Dyson was involved and all became clear! He was a joint writer on 'The League of Gentlemen' another favourite of mine. It is not everybody's cup of tea but if you like the shocking and bizarre - give it a go and you won't be disappointed!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2014
Bought this ages ago on a whim and it was sitting on the shelf until recently. My wife and I watched the first episode and we were hooked. The plot, acting, and dialogue are superb. The twists and turns in the plot just compel you to watch, if for no other reason than to see what strange occurence will happen next! This is the work of genius! (But perhaps the humour and down right bizzareness might not suit everyone's taste!)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
Brilliant! So glad to catch up on a show I only saw briefly at the time. Order arrived promptly and in superb condition. Thank you.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)