Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Subscribe and Save Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars72
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£2.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 May 2006
...then you know exactly what to expect. You don't take a Jessica Alba-Paul Walker film off the shelf unless you want to suspend reality and immerse yourself in an utterly fake yet guiltily satisfying world of ridiculously attractive individuals living remarkably vacuous lives in pursuit of something resembling meaning.

Let's face it, this isn't about the story or the quality of the acting. It's a half-decent action thriller with some stunning underwater photography, moments of genuine horror (the shark attack) and the hunt for hidden treasure.

There's no social comment, no political message. There are plenty of hot young actors wearing very little being paid hundreds of thousands of dollars to have fun in the sun. Paul Walker is a model brick, but everyone knows that already, Jessica Alba could pout for her country, 'butt' everybody knows that already, too.

So, no surprises here, just a diverting mix of 'The Deep' & 'Wild Things'. If you like those two movies you'll probably love this nonsense...Enjoy!
0Comment21 of 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2006
Into the Blue was one of a number of films that caught my attention when I saw a trailer for it at the cinema. However, the film passed me by completely when it was released. This being the case I thought i'd give it a go on rental. I'm glad I did!
Like most people have said this film is not big on plot, but this doesn't matter. What plot there is is more than enough to keep you entertained for a couple of hours, particularly with the gorgeous scenery of the Bahamas (and the 'other' scenery) to gawk at!
I can't really say the acting was tremendous, but it is Paul Walker ('The Fast & The Furious' and '2 Fast, 2 Furious') in the main role and Jessica Alba is pretty much there just for eye candy for the guys (which she achieves with aplomb).
This film is heavily inspired by The Deep, based on Peter Benchley's novel, with enough of a difference to keep fans of the older film interested. Overall, I think The Deep was a better film (Robert Shaw was just awesome as always). This is no disrespect to Into the Blue, which brings the story bang up to date and has more stunts and action sequences. Oh, and sharks, which participate in some pretty nasty scenes! It's just that I think The Deep was better overall.
All in all, i'd say rent this even if you don't want to buy it. It's really entertaining and perfect viewing for a miserable day! Personally, i really liked it and would watch it again...
11 comment15 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2011
Into The Blue was never going to trouble anyone come Oscar time. The preformances are at best non descript. Even one of the villains Tyson Beckford is a model. However on the massive upside this is a visual stunner of a film. As I sat on my sofa in the midst of yet another ghastly Scottish winter the mere sight of these beauitful types larking about in the Bahamas was enough to bring a smile to my weary face. How any man with a pulse cant enjoy the outrageously attractive Jessica Alba larking about in the sea escapes me. Into The Blue would probably be best descibed as an uber glossy music video with some dialogue thrown in.
Josh Brolin makes a workmanlike villain, the underwater photography is stunning if watched on a good tv. the action set pieces are well staged and the shark wranglers appear to have earned their corn to. As for the disc itself there are plenty of extras including a making of featurette. All in all a bit of a no brainer to watch but excellent escapist fun when you have the winter blues.
0Comment6 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2011
Good lpcm audio track,watches as a movie rather than a 't.v movie',and under a fiver,...but the transfer could be alot more solid-it is like a wall of paint lacking that final coat which is a crying shame as this is a Sony bd,and their discs are always great & crammed with extras.Their are no extras here,but for under a fiver you don't mind.
Suppose only worth its buck if you own a nice 5.1 surround system-unless just get the dvd down your local second hand record store.
p.s-the product says region free but mine specifically is 'B',its clearly printed on the back.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2009
Everybody know's Paul Walker from The Fast And The Furious films but in this he plays a totally different role which I think has been a very unrated film. I have slowly become a big fan of Paul Walker and in this he is very good along with Jessica Alba who does not need a introduction and is simply stunning. The story is good with plenty of underwater shots and some good action and a story which has a few twists and turns that keeps you watching to the end. The violence is nothing over the top it's just about right for this sort of film with a rating of 15 and over which going on todays standards is surprising. If you haven't bought a blu ray disc before you won't go to far wrong here the transfer is spot on and it will show your system off with some great underwater scenery etc. Moving on to Jessica Alba it's worth the purchase just to watch her in next to nothing swimming and running around she's looks amazing believe me, and of course there is a treat for the ladies with the young men showing off their six packs. If you enjoy this film in with Paul Walker try Running Scared or Road Kill a couple of his earlier films both very good in my opinion.
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2011
The narrative in this film, isn't the best or most robust ever, but that's not what the film is parcelling up to offer you, its offering you escapism or diversions from everyday problems, with beautifully filmed locations above the ocean, and below the ocean, and the beautiful cast swimming in the ocean, and if you buy into being taken to exotic places, then you bought into the film.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 December 2007
This action movie is pleasing in that some of the oceanic scenery is visually appealing to look at. Furthermore, Jessica Alba helps enhance the aesthetics, swimming around in that skimpy outfit with all those curves on display. Early on you get a sense that the director is clutching at straws with this film as he seems to lend leverage to the fact that Alba's radiant looks and hot body are a major selling point of the movie itself. The reason why I mention this is because I lost count of the number of Alba close-ups and camera angles guaranteed to make the most of her curves. Beyond Jessica this movie offer precious little to the viewer.

The storyline isn't particularly engaging and the movie drags on as far as the eye can see. The first half of the movie consists of the two couples jumping on top of each other a lot,kissing a lot,alcohol, crude jokes and a misplaced belief that treasure hunting will guarantee untold riches; fodder for the teen market perhaps but juvenile and irritating for others. In the midst of all of this they set out to try and locate the wreck of the Zepher. They locate that aswell, as a plane crammed with cocaine.

The second half of Into the Blue sees the couples in more peril as they fight off drug dealers and a rival treasure hunting outfit. One of the four even shares an intimate dinner date with a Tiger shark! The sharks return later on in the film for further helpings. Despite, the increase in pace I still found the movie to be boring. Into the Blue is disjointed,lacking in substance and the acting is average aswell.

A far better waterbased adventure is Deep Blue Sea, which has a good mix of action,humour and a stronger cast. My advice would be to step right out of the blue as opposed to in it;as this is a failed attempt to glamorise treasure hunting.
0Comment4 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2013
I hadn't really heard much about Into the Blue, nor had I seen many reviews on it, however after seeing it a few times, I found it really enjoyable, there are some stunning scenes of the Bahamas. I think shipwrecks fascinate quite a few people, myself included, and this film really shows it off, along with some fantastic performances by the late Paul Walker and Jessica Alba. I won't give the plot away, but like most great films, it does have a fantastic ending. I think it's probably every person's dream to go looking for a shipwreck and find millions of dollars/pounds at the bottom of the ocean. This movie is very visually stunning and John Stockwell really helped to capture that. Personally I think this is one of Paul Walker's best films, along side the "Fast and Furious" movies.

This film is definitely worth watching if you are a Paul Walker and Jessica Alba fan.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2012
Fast service well packaged & exactly what i was after everything went well would recommend this seller to everyone. Top movie jessica alba in a bikini its a no brainer lol you can really notice the difference with the blu-ray very happy to have this addition to my collection
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2007
When I watched this film, I was hoping it would be 'The Deep' of the 21st Century, well, it was very enjoyable, and very beautifully filmed, but the story kind of left me wanting! A very good film, not as good as The Deep, but you will enjoy it!
0Comment9 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.