Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reds everywhere
Sidney Poitier and River Phoenix.
A teenage boy has to come to terms with the truth that his parents have been living a lie, they are in fact Russian sleeper agents. A new twist on parent-child conflict in a coming of age film. Agent Sidney Poitier helps Phoenix come to accept the truth and deal with the consequences.
To say the America-Russia paranoia thing is...
Published on 18 Dec 2008 by J. Epton

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good acting but weak plot
The movie follows a young boy (Phoenix) being confronted with the fact that his parents are sleeper agents - this latter fact being hammered home by Poitier.

The acting is generally of a good quality and all the figures seem reasonably convincing. However the story upon which the movie is based is weak to say the least. It looks like a complete layman's...
Published on 26 Oct 2009 by AK


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reds everywhere, 18 Dec 2008
By 
This review is from: Little Nikita [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Sidney Poitier and River Phoenix.
A teenage boy has to come to terms with the truth that his parents have been living a lie, they are in fact Russian sleeper agents. A new twist on parent-child conflict in a coming of age film. Agent Sidney Poitier helps Phoenix come to accept the truth and deal with the consequences.
To say the America-Russia paranoia thing is old is an understatement, but it did provide the basis for a mountain of books, films and drama, (Le Carre's Smiley's People etc). Phoenix is convincing in the role and in his emotions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars half cock, 30 April 2010
By 
Maurice Hill "mo" (Alicante, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Little Nikita [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Poitier and River Phoenix should be good for a masterpiece, but this film is badly directed and made into a slow and dull spy story. The boy Phoenix is certainly beautiful but is made to overact here. Poitier is held in overlong closeups and apparently told to move his eyes about. Not very exciting. One of the villains is shot in the heart and drops to the ground, but then, like most film villains, gets up and runs about and is still chippy at the end. Nothing is very realistic. For the climax, the boy and his spy parents get lovey-dovey and walk away arm in arm. Not into the sunset. A cop then says to the FBI agent 'Same old same old', and he replies 'Same old same old.' Dazzling dialogue, eh? - but not a bad description of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good acting but weak plot, 26 Oct 2009
By 
AK (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Little Nikita [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
The movie follows a young boy (Phoenix) being confronted with the fact that his parents are sleeper agents - this latter fact being hammered home by Poitier.

The acting is generally of a good quality and all the figures seem reasonably convincing. However the story upon which the movie is based is weak to say the least. It looks like a complete layman's interpretation of the cold war conflict and how the various parties would behave. The little details, such as the border crossings, interactions between agents etc. are all wrong, and not particularly believable to boot.

While it is not painful to watch, it is also not enriching, superbly entertaining, or enlightening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Suspense film, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Nikita [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Great film starring the late and sadly missed River Phoenix and I think one of his best films about Russian sleepers. Recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Little Nikita!, 26 Jan 2012
This review is from: Little Nikita [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I will be honest the story line for this film is not to my taste more for those who like action and police dramas. But this film is really good thanks to the acting skillS of River Phoenix who plays Nikita, a boy known as Nick, who finds out not only have his parents been living a lie and are really Russian spies but his real name is Nikita! Also stars Sidney Potier...does that man ever age? A really good film with no relation to the Elton John song in case you were wondering...:D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Little nikita, 31 Oct 2011
By 
Alison (England,Europe.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Little Nikita [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Was a good movie difficult to follow storyline.But good acting.All characters try their best.Good scenery.
Seem to be distracted when i try to watch.
Good start....River acted well.Very good serious acting by Sidney.Odd ending,not sure why or why it ended that way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I really enjoyed this film, 10 Jun 2010
By 
Birmingham Book Reader (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Little Nikita [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Yes I really enjoyed this film so 5 stars. I agree that the direction and acting perhaps are not the best - but the story held my interest. What makes this film for me is how the parents are Soviet Sleeper Agents. 20 years plus in the USA they had become Americans. How would a real sleeper agent respond to a call to action after all of those years ?

I film that made me think and I enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Little Nikita [DVD] [2006]
Little Nikita [DVD] [2006] by Richard Benjamin (DVD - 2006)
Used & New from: 6.45
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews