Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
Those reading this must know who Toto are: world class musicians, session players to the great & the good (and Michael Jackson), and multi-grammy award winners.
This is an interesting album, in that it was made over 10 months, with no label involvement. So some might say it's a bit self-indulgent.
OK, but aren't bands best when they're not...
Published on 13 Feb 2006 by Dr Nick

versus
0 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not their best....
'Fallen in between' is not one of Toto's best albums and doesn't compare to previous albums 'Mindfields' and 'Tambu' and the highly accessable 'Seventh one'.
Published on 13 April 2006 by Kimberley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 13 Feb 2006
By 
Dr Nick "Dr Nick" (Sheffield, S Yorks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Falling in Between (Audio CD)
Those reading this must know who Toto are: world class musicians, session players to the great & the good (and Michael Jackson), and multi-grammy award winners.
This is an interesting album, in that it was made over 10 months, with no label involvement. So some might say it's a bit self-indulgent.
OK, but aren't bands best when they're not trying to please everyone?
This time they've pleased themselves - and made a fantastic album in the process. Production is also excellent
There are 10 tracks, which show past influences but add something extra. Steve Porcaro (keys, arrangements) is back for this one after nearly 20 years, and other guests include Lenny Castro (percussion, played on Toto IV) and Ian Anderson (flute, Jethro Tull).
Falling In Between kicks things off - the heaviest number on the album, almost Dream Theater in places. A seriously powerful vocal from Bobby Kimball, and a de-tuned metal-ish groove with some odd time signatures. The final section is a complex guitar/keys/orchestral theme, very progressive (!).
Dying On My Feet starts off quite laid back and jazzy, then the bridge/chorus doubles the pace, big harmonies, and some heavy guitar stabs, into a spaceous orchestral/guitar melody interlude, then mellow again, with a tasty guitar solo (nice trem bar use). Big band jazz to finish.
Bottom Of Your Soul is the first ballad. Reminds me of Mushanga (Seventh One) meets I Will Remember (Tambu). Some African percussion thrown in later on, and Joseph Williams guesting on vocals. Great stuff.
King Of The World is a more straight-forward commercial rocker, with a David Paich verse and a Kimball chorus. Vague memories of Isolation-era.
Hooked reminds me of some of the slower stuff on Mindfields, with a guitar-led riff, some sampled percussion, a big Kimball chorus plus some gang vocals, horns, and a great guitar break, before Ian Anderson flutes over an instrumental break complete with what sounds like a Steve Porcaro synth solo.
Simple Life is a gorgeous ballad piano lead, passionate chorus - but much too short. Always leave 'em wanting more...
Taint Your World reminds me of...Van Halen! Sort of "Hot for Teacher"-ish, but bigger chorus harmonies, a percussion - dominant instrumental break, and guitar solo to end.
Let It Go gives new boy Greg Phillinganes (keys) a chance at the mike, and very soulful he is too. There's a R&B/funk feel to the track, with jazzy chords, a neat guitar riff, drums very Jeff Porcaro (rip)-like, and a big Toto chorus (half-time). Early album influences show up here. Atmospheric guitar lead, with some flash moments.
Spiritual Man is a ballad that "builds" - Paich takes the lead vocal, over a quiet keys + drums verse, adding guitar stabs, building to a Kimball high with sax lead, and an almost gospel ending with choirs and a guest lead from Tom Scott - very spiritual.
No End In Sight starts slow, with a Lukather vocal, and really gets going for the chorus (Kimball again, great singing). A clever all-band mid section adds an extra bit of interest, and a rousing final chorus to close.
Overall, a very vaired album, which I guess might put some people off, but personally I think this is the best album the band have done for ages, certainly since "Kingdom of Desire", with a fantastic mix of old influences and new ideas, and superb playing/singing/writing. It deserves to do well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Under Valued, 7 Oct 2006
By 
Baggie Dave (Kingswinford UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Falling in Between (Audio CD)
This is a wonderful album and in terms of overall quality it is the best album TOTO have ever produced. Free from the shackles of record companies TOTO have at last recorded an album that they wanted to do. There is so much variety within the songs and they sound so fresh. The real pity is that TOTO are not given any airplay on national or even local radio so unless you go looking for this album you would never know it existed.

If TOTO were given the exposure that this album really deserves it would be in the running for 'Album Of The Year' it really is that good...

Sadly this is the last studio album TOTO ever produced after deciding to go their separate ways after 30 years together. Those who crave more of the 'TOTO' sound will find it in Steve Lukather's 'Ever Changing Times' album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ALBUM OF THE YEAR from the giants of AOR...., 11 Feb 2006
By 
Stevie Robson (Kilmarnock, SCOTLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Falling in Between (Audio CD)
Stunning in every way - the quality, in every aspect of "Falling In Between", is difficult to put into words unless you have actually heard it. Just when you thought there were no more surprises from a band who have been together for nearly 30 years, this release gives you a gentle kick between the legs and gives your head a massage of the finest rock you are ever likely to hear.
The production, mainly overseen by Simon Phillips, is simply superb, and will get you finding new things with every listen.
Each member of the band, including "new boy" Greg Phillinganes, has never sounded better than on this recording, and that is probably due to the fact that they have spent nearly a year creating a masterpiece which they are, and rightly should be, proud of. Steve Porcaro is here in abundance, adding clever touches to most of the tracks, and Joe Williams makes a triumphant return to duet with Luke. Nice touch.
For me, there are no stand-out cuts on this album, 'cos each track is an absolute GEM! From the brutal opening of the title track to the funk of "Let It Go", the mesmorising "Bottom of Your Soul" to the sheer adrenaline of "Taint Your World", the musicianship and enjoyment is clear. Album of the year without a doubt - and that's any year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a short album, but too short, if you know what I mean?, 22 Jun 2006
By 
David Cairns (Horsham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Falling in Between (Audio CD)
O.K. so I'm a fan anyway, but I really defy anyone who's into this sort of music not to appreciate how good this album is. Personally I would rate Toto as one of the most accomplished bands in the world and I think they've bettered their best here.

I was looking forward to this new cd greatly and bought it at the first gig of their recent tour. Surprised to see no David Paich on stage and absolutely no mention of where he was, what he was doing or why he was absent. The new guy on keyboards is of course brilliant, but not so jazzy or charismatic - maybe he's just got to find his feet. Anyway, I digress. I couldn't wait to get the cd on.....and wow!!

Firstly (and I had it turned up pretty loud!) I nearly fell off my chair with the 2 'blows' to Simon's deepest floor tom right at the beginning. Then I sat back and enjoyed a truly astounding album.

Nice heavy one to start, then 'Dying on my feet' just blew me away - several different sections, getting more and more interesting until the wonderful 'Chicago' style horns come in with percussion etc. Wonderful.

I'd like to analyse every number, but that would be boring! there's allsorts on this disc and it's all executed with such panache. Bits of jazz rock of course and some ballady stuff that tugs at the heart strings. Such excellent songs - NO weakness anywhere. Just buy it......you won't be disappointed. Afterall, even I felt moved enough to do an anoraky thing like write a review about it!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worth every penny you will spend for it..., 22 Feb 2006
This review is from: Falling in Between (Audio CD)
ok, I must admit i have been a huge TOTO fan for years. Like the rest of us I was waiting for the new album with mixed emotions: stuff coming from the band's site was giving too high expectations... "Bottom of your soul" will be the second "Africa" and such... we live in a world of cliches, every new release is "magnificent", "wonderful", "extraordinary" etc., etc...
Now I am listening to the album for the fourth time and god, these guys make perfection look so easy ;)
It is not an album full of mega-radio-hits. It is really an album you have to listen over and over, leave it aside for a while... and then play it again.
I have the feeling TOTO are so good because they still enjoy the art of making music. They still have the energy and now they have also the freedom to do what they want.
Buy the album now! Anyhow you will have to buy it some day, it's a classic already ;) Believe me, FIB is worth every penny, cent, or in my case "stotinka" you will spend for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 8 Feb 2006
By 
A. Taylor (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Falling in Between (Audio CD)
To be honest, you already know if you're going to buy this album or not. Toto have been around long enough for most people to form an opinion of them and this review won't sway anyone either way. What I will say to fans of these great musicians is that this is easily one of the best albums since The Seventh One. It certainly ranks alongside Tambu, The Seventh One, Toto IV and Isolation in my top 5 for the band. The songwriting is beautiful throughout with some unusual twists and turns in each song to keep you on your toes. Of all the tracks, the one that really stands out for me is Spiritual Man. Starting with David Paich on vocals, it moves to Bobby for the full Toto effect, before then passing on to Greg for a final, and utterly stunning finale. He really does have a wonderful voice that compliments the rest of the band brilliantly. Luke fans will be glad to know he's on top form, especially on the Van Halen inspired Taint Your World and the surprisingly heavy riffs on the title track. My only criticism of the whole album is that Simple Life is just too short. It's a gorgeous song, but its as if they forgot to finish it!
The other question you might be asking is, is the Japanese import worth the premium for the extra track? Well, it's very short at 1min 46secs, has no real structure and sounds like a real 60s Jazz acid trip. I think it's great, but its so out there, I can see why they thought it just didn't suit the album. I wouldn't pay nearly double the price for just this one track, but you can get it cheaper if you look around a bit more. If you're not too bothered, you're not missing all that much by buying the European edition.
All in all, an album fans have waited nearly 7 years for, but one that is more than worth the wait. Soulful, musical, intelligent, emotional, beautifully written and brilliantly played. This is music, and I mean real music, not the mass manufactured disposable crud that major labels keep inflicting on us. Just sublime...buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Too worthy, 21 Aug 2006
This review is from: Falling in Between (Audio CD)
Blimey, just how good is this album! Every track is in a different style and written by the band. The musicianship and production are awesome. It is packed full of original ideas. Have I got a criticism? Well, the Steve Lukather written track 'Simple Life' is beautiful but way too short. Still when you have pieces of genius like the title track, 'Dying On My Feet' and 'Spiritual Man' (easily worth the purchase price on their own)what more could you want? And have you seen them live? I have 6 times (twice this year). They are the bee's knees. I have lost faith in British radio stations and music buyers who all but ignore them. In many European countries, however, it's a far different story. They are worshipped. Buy this album and you will understand why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They've done more than "Africa........", 16 April 2007
By 
Paul Kinvig (Bournemouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Falling in Between (Audio CD)
It must be galling when you've been producing consistently brilliant albums for the past 20 years and the main response to your body of work is "Didn't they do Africa?" Yes they did - in 1982!!! But you get to a point when it doesn't matter, especially when you can sell out staduims in Europe, Japan and the Americas! "Falling Inbetween" is the album Toto can now make having been freed from the shackles of a massive label. All the traditional fare is there - soaring hooks, brilliant playing and spine tingling backing vocals - but the songs are examples of their varied influences. It's almost as if they went -"This is us, like it or not - BUT WE HAD A BALL MAKING THIS!!!

The title track kicks off in superlative mode, quite proggy in a catchy sort of way, then Lukather chucks in a riff, heavier than a Celebrity Fit Club contestant and the floor gives way!! Other stand outs are "Bottom Of Your Soul", "King Of The World", and the jaw dropping "Taint Your World" which had a guitar playing friend of mine almost throwing his guitar across the room as he tried to learn it!! Imagine Van Halen crossed with Toto's innate sense of melody and you are there. "Let It Go" is almost jazz fusion in feel but again has a killer hookline that pulls it back from self indulgence.

I unashamedly love this album and having recently seen them live, the songs really translate to the stage.

Yes they did do Africa (and Rosanna) but you will be missing out on so much more if you don't investigate this album. Sheer class my friends, sheer class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TOTO at it's best, 15 Feb 2006
This review is from: Falling in Between (Audio CD)
I had anxoiusly awaited the arrival of my copy ever since the news broke of a new record. Right of the bat: It was worth the wait!
While there are several songs on previous records I don't listen to, I can honestly say that there isn't even one track I would skip. Every song has something to offer.
The diversity on this record is amazing and still it seems very coherent. The performance is mindboggling and the production is just sonic bliss.
Standout tracks: Let it go, King of the world, Spiritual man, Dying on my feet, Falling in between
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BOW DOWN AND WORSHIP YOU NON-BELIEVERS!!!, 27 May 2006
By 
Dannofontana (Maidstone, Kent) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Falling in Between (Audio CD)
I bought this album having been a Toto fan for many years and trying to like their last few efforts (and generally failing!). This album however is truly the work of genius - Kimball sounds fantastic on the vocals, loads of killer hooks and every tune strong with no padding anywhere in sight. This MUST be their best record since the Seventh One. Buy it Buy it Buy it!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Falling in Between
Falling in Between by Toto (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews