Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tragic and sublime
Like HBO's other masterpiece, The Sopranos, 6 Feet Under has been audacious, innovative and quite brilliant from the very beginning. However, whereas The Sopranos has some very unsettling things to say about being a man, 6 Feet Under says some very unsettling things about being a mortal human animal. And in this fifth and final series it is unflinching in its delivery,...
Published on 24 May 2006 by strawdog

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars MAJOR spoiler on packaging!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
If (like me) you don't want your enjoyment of this final series ruined by the MORON responsible for choosing the image that appears on the back of the dvd case, avoid looking at the rear of the packaging at all costs. It shows a funeral scene with one major character not pictured. Just in case this isnt obvious enough, the cast are arranged so the character who will be...
Published on 26 Jan. 2012 by J. M. Thompson


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tragic and sublime, 24 May 2006
By 
This review is from: Six Feet Under: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Like HBO's other masterpiece, The Sopranos, 6 Feet Under has been audacious, innovative and quite brilliant from the very beginning. However, whereas The Sopranos has some very unsettling things to say about being a man, 6 Feet Under says some very unsettling things about being a mortal human animal. And in this fifth and final series it is unflinching in its delivery, brooding like a gathering thunderstorm and then delivery a devasting blow that leaves the viewer as bewildered and bereft as the story's protagonists.

This is grown-up entertainment of the highest order. The script and direction is almost faultless but what truly gives this drama its cutting edge is, for me, the quality of the acting. I can't think of adequate superlatives to offer praise to the cast. They are all absolutely stellar and it would be wrong to pick out any individuals as being `the star of the show'.

Mark Kermode maintains that The Exorcist is the greatest film of all time (I very strongly disagree) because of its emotional impact on the audience. Well I have to say that I can't think of another television series, or film, that has had such an emotional impact upon me, in particular during the final three episodes. By Kermode's criteria this series has to be the greatest of all time.

But who cares about hyperbole? Suffice to say that 6 Feet Under's mastermind, Alan Ball, has created an exceptional finale to an exceptional drama. He does us the service of reminding us that life is tragic and for that we should thank him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars People, Love, Life and Death - what else do we have?, 24 Feb. 2007
By 
L. WILLIAMS "LINDSAY WILLIAMS" (CHESHIRE, ENGLAND United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Six Feet Under: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Not since the 1980s and Alan Bleasdale's "Boys from the Blackstuff" has a tv drama series had such an effect on me. I have seen all the 6 feet under series now and found it to be compelling and startling in its dramatic content and brilliantly acted by a consistently superlative cast whose replacement at any point in the series would have been quite inconceivable! Of particular note are Frances Conroy and Lauren Ambrose but everyone involved in this excellently written series is to be commended.

This concluding series has an edgy quality to the direction and the writer is masterful at portraying the passage of time at different paces for different characters involved in the story - either hurtling through life as it can seem at middle age or drifting aimlessly through the confusion of adolescence and our senior years. There is something that this series offers which will strike a dramatic chord with any viewer.

Alan Ball's writing is of a quality that is almost 'spooky' in its observation of the human psyche including all aspects our psychoses, dysfunction, heroism, betrayal, terror, quirkiness, unconditonal love, devotion and fears. It confronts head on the aspect of personal tragedy which we will all at some time in all our lives be faced with and have to struggle with to try and make sense of our time here on earth. People, Love, Life and death -these are all we ever have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional !!, 25 July 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Six Feet Under: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I've just finished watching season 5 of Six Feet Under and quite frankly I'm still in shock. This is the best written and acted piece of television I have ever seen.

I'm still haunted by the last two episodes, I never thought I could cry as much as I did watching them. These are characters you just can't say goodbye to.

It really is television at its best and I haven't seen anything as brilliant as this since.

The best advice I will give is watch it !! Six Feet Under is a MUST in any DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Import to Aust. Now!, 6 May 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Six Feet Under: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Sick of the nine network in Australia holding us to ransom?. We are only now finally getting the 5th season and therefore last episodes of this brilliant show. Originally it was meant to be released on DVD on 3 May, but now this has even been put back to November. Gee do you think it had anything to do with the 9 network? They have even buried it again in a late night timeslot.

This DVD does play on my dvd player purchased in Australia. Don't think twice about importing this. Why wait for the brilliant and heart wrenching last episode. Trust me you will want to play it (especially the last 10 minutes) a number of times, to see the subtle ways in which Alan Ball wraps up this unforgetable series. You'll laugh, you'll cry. Believe me you WILL cry. Import to Australia now. The mailing cost is offset by the fact that you don't have to pay VAT. Say NO to the 9 network holding us to ransom, and making us wait so long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


81 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most fitting conclusion to the best thing on TV., 13 Jan. 2006
This review is from: Six Feet Under: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
No matter how many superlatives you heap upon this program, you can seemingly never do justice to the masterful talents of everyone involved in creating it that have combined to create such a work of clear outstanding superiority that should be raised onto a pedestal where it can be seen by all. Strong words, I know, but Six Feet Under is wholly deserving of every bit of praise it gets.
This fifth and final (sob) series continues and ultimately ends what has been an emotional rollercoaster of a journey whose quality has never relented, with each and every single one of its episodes keeping you spellbound (more recent dramas like Lost, while still excellent, could take heed of this). The quality of the show shines through when you consider that throughout the viewer never once feels like they are being pandered to (as is so often the case with American imports - Lost again could take note), with seemingly solid, unbreakable foundations shattered towards the end, and their sense of immersion is never once called into doubt by the outlandish, humourous dream sequences intertwined throughout, but is instead strengthened by them.
The pressure of providing a fitting conlusion for a program with so much emotional energy behind it has seemingly provoked the creators into their best work yet, with the entire series never losing the momentum that drives it towards the utterly uncompromising and numbing finale, which (if you're anything like me) will leave you in floods of tears dissolved into paroxysms of despair at the inescapable knowledge that never again will you see the characters you love so much face new horizons; but this terrible poignancy only deepens the memory of what has been (and will be for many years to come) the best (in every meaning of the word) event you've ever had the priviledge of witnessing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Six Feet Under series 5, 25 April 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Six Feet Under: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Series five is a fitting, moving finale to the finest TV series I've seen. This is adult entertainment in it's purest form; written for adults rather than written to titilate and shock for the hell of it. Nothing else comes close; the skill in the writing, the characters, the performances, the feel of the production are all well above anything I can remember.

Series five delivers on all fronts, plus it's fitting closure to the characters. Sometimes uncomfortable and deeply moving, the final three episodes will leave you speachless.

If you're new to the series or have qualms about a show centred on a funeral home, please rent the first series with an open mind. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully final, 8 Nov. 2008
This review is from: Six Feet Under: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
If you've addictively followed 6 feet under as I have, but never seen this last series, I can't recommend it enough. As always, the characters are treated with enaging realism, the sometimes ruthless plot twists will not disappoint, and there is more than enough psychological anguish to go around, but the final episode transcends the series as a masterpiece. If you are tired of finale's that are repetitive, copouts, or that just don't seem to know what to do with themselves (a la Friends), this will be a breath of fresh air. Beautifully shot, fantastic writing, original and so wonderfully final - this will leave you utterly satisfied, if sorry to see the last of the Fisher family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic final series to an amazing show, 4 Aug. 2007
By 
This review is from: Six Feet Under: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Like most people, I have watched Six Feet Under from the 1st series and I was amazed by it. The writing is truly spectacular and the actors are fantastic. This final series of Six Feet Under is as good as the rest as we follow the Fishers lives for one last season.

Without giving much away, the ending is truly superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A TV Series to Mourn, 20 Nov. 2006
By 
MrShev "mrshev" (Gloucestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Six Feet Under: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
It does feel very strange to miss a such a set of screwed up, dysfunctional, death obsessed narcissists...but I do.

I don't really feel that there was a weak episode in the entire season and some of them brought a tear to my eye and a couple of episodes outright blubbing. The final episode is perfection - Ball could give a masterclass on how to complete an award winning series on a high. The acting throughout (the series as well as this season) has been of such a high standard that getting completely sucked in is almost impossible to resist. Lauren Ambrose was, I thought, pretty impressive throughout but I think Rachel Griffiths stole the show...but, then again, everyone is so good that I think they fed off each other.

I miss the Fishers and any drama that can achieve that must be darned good. I have not seen anything on television better than this and I cannot think of better praise to give not just this season, but the entire series.

I look forward to Alan Ball creates next and hope the cast continue to do great work. Without doubt a must buy. 5 Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worth watching all the series just to get to this one, 21 July 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Six Feet Under: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
when i first watch 6fu i thought it was a comedy.. a very black one at that ... but then got hooked on the characters and their on the surface screwed up lives.. the more i watched the more i saw people making decisons that seemed rational at the time only for their lives to get more and more out of control.

the themes and issues in the final series will make anyone think, but if you are just looking for some entertainment, then this will also hit the mark. the last episode is one of the best 90mins i have ever seen on tv but the real problem with the series is it will make little sense if you have not watched the others so u understand y people are this point.

i do recomend that u make the effort.. its worth it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Six Feet Under: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2006]
£16.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews