Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poliakoff's Best
Stephen Poliakoff has the tendency to make films that are too broadly themed and to get a trifle bogged down in his own creation.

He has avoided this hole that he digs for himself , however, with the wonderful Gideon's Daughter.
It's themes are simple; trust and letting go. Hold on to only those things that really matter. Understated and without the...
Published on 6 Aug. 2009 by The 3 Hares

versus
12 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pointless
When Gideon's Daughter was first broadcast, one of the newspaper reviewers described it cruelly but accurately as a story about a guy who thinks that there's something wrong with his daughter, but she turns out to be fine.

Somehow, Stephen Poliakoff has emerged from the back of the field to become British television's most commissioned, most prestigious and...
Published on 20 May 2008 by lexo1941


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poliakoff's Best, 6 Aug. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gideon's Daughter [DVD] (DVD)
Stephen Poliakoff has the tendency to make films that are too broadly themed and to get a trifle bogged down in his own creation.

He has avoided this hole that he digs for himself , however, with the wonderful Gideon's Daughter.
It's themes are simple; trust and letting go. Hold on to only those things that really matter. Understated and without the complexities than can swamp Polikoff's work, I'm thinking particularly of Friends and Crocodiles here, Gideon's Daughter is a really little gem.

As usual, actors Miranda Richardson and Bill Nighy shine out boldly. Wonderful performances from both of these.
Buy this and I can assure you that you won't simply want to watch it once.
Perfect Strangers [2001] [DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Memorable Poliakoff Production., 31 Jan. 2011
By 
Phil C (Nuneaton, Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gideon's Daughter [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw "Gideon's Daughter" on TV around 2005, several scenes remained in my memory since then so I bought and re-watched it on DVD. It's still just as good,the insight and unique perspective it brings to the events of 1997 (Diana, the first Blair government) leading up to the Millenium celebrations lets you see what happened through new eyes: Bill Nighy's Gideon is a fixer and spin doctor for the new government who discovers "less is more" when dealing with high-powered clients. This approach doesn't work with his daughter, who's leaving home to go to Uni and may be attempting risky relief work in S.America. The story is about the way these two contradictory principles cause Gideon's life, and his priorities to change radically - check out his daughter singing "Papa" if further explanation is needed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvelous, 10 Mar. 2007
By 
Paul Bjorkstedt "bookman" (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gideon's Daughter [DVD] (DVD)
Just a beautiful film about what we human beings take for granted and what really matters. This film was recently presented to a swedish audience and I'm so grateful for that cause I truly believe my life is the richer for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 9 Aug. 2014
By 
David H J Ashdown (Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Gideon's Daughter [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant film starring Bill Nighy , Emily Blunt and Miranda Richardson exploring love, loss , parenthood and the cult of celebrity. Miranda Richardson's character has lost her son in a tragic accident and Bill Nighy's character is in danger of alienating his daughter because he loves her too much. A haunting film with the amazing song "Papa" sung by Emily Blunt that forms the nucleus of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Story, 3 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gideon's Daughter [DVD] (DVD)
The actors were all outstanding! When it was finished I felt like I had learned something about human beings and how they relate to the world around them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It makes me cry - remembering that Summer of '97, 5 April 2010
By 
Mr. B. R. Good (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gideon's Daughter [DVD] (DVD)
Remember that dreamy Summer of 1997 when the entire country watched with such hope as Labour came to power. Then there was the Death of Diana, and it seemed that people had been brought together in shock and hope.

This drama makes me feel so emotional, I find it difficult to watch. The beautiful acting, the sadness as a depressed Gideon prepares for the departure of his daughter who can't forgive him for his behaviour as her mother passed away.

I have no idea why Stephen Poliakoff's play takes me to 'another time and place' but I just want to cry when I (try) and watch this beautiful play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Touching, funny, wonderful film, 17 Mar. 2013
By 
Wild goose (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gideon's Daughter [DVD] (DVD)
I love Bill Nighy, and he didn't disappoint in this film. Great performance by Emily Blunt, who plays his daughter; very different from the part she played in a Devil wore Prada, and I didn't know she was an accomplished singer. A mix of humour and sadness makes this a film that draws you in and, as it says on the tin, focuses on two people with sadness in their lives turn to each other to overcome it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars must see, 30 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gideon's Daughter [DVD] (DVD)
this is without a doubt a fantastic moving family story, of mid life crisis,superbly acted, and can bring on tears. the intense concentration on the face of the dark skinned girl at the school concert is without parallel, and couldn't be planned or acted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All star cast and excellent script, 5 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gideon's Daughter [DVD] (DVD)
A sequel to Friends and Crocodiles, but also can be watched as a 'stand alone'. I think I enjoyed this one best of the two. I don't usually bother with the extras, but found the actor's interviews quite illuminating. I would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The network airing of Gideon's Daughter, 26 Feb. 2006
This review is from: Gideon's Daughter [DVD] (DVD)
I had not planned any television viewing, nor when watching the story had I expected to be taken along with the storyline - however, before long I was settled before the screen wishing for commercial breaks only because I needed a drink and admittedly now did not want to miss anything.... Having said that, I feel I will be getting this title upon availability - I became enthralled and in no way perturbed or mis-directed by a cast of well known faces.
The story seen as a family affair with the familiar intrusion of work - here on a grand scale as the character Gideon is a wealthy magnate - is enthralling, Gideon's daughter Natasha has her story told as it is throughout by the character played by Robert Lyndsay, narrating to an agency temp and with parallels in his own life, the seamless blend of plot and narration with such heart-wrenching moments as would crush any caring parent is enough to pen a review, buy the dvd and watch it again and again - it is inspirational and draws from real news footage making it a study along a factual historical sequence of events..., it is a highly personable outing and for those who would have to know what to prepare for - I would suggest settling in for an intriguing tale expecting to find feelings they hold dear tuning in with them to fully appreciate the emotional content. It does not twist or turn or buck and sway but tells the story with affection and leaves the viewer wanting to know their part, feeling somewhat embroiled as one would expect when the news footage recalls events we are all familiar with...
Quite gripping stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gideon's Daughter [DVD]
Gideon's Daughter [DVD] by Stephen Poliakoff (DVD - 2006)
£16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews