Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful dramas
Shooting The Past - A country house full of some delightful and memorable characters. They face a fight to keep an amazing photographic collection intact. Like Perfect Strangers, this is all about history and family, and how the past affects us. Compelling.

The Lost Prince - Interesting and poignant drama telling the little-known story of Prince John, the...
Published on 6 Sep 2009 by B. Adams

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Preachy
We enjoyed most of each story. Until near the end of every one, it starts preaching that we should all have a lot sympathy for Poliakoff's favorite religion. It probably was not as noticable when they were broadcast with a lot of time between them. Very irritating if you watch one each night.
Published 24 months ago by Cecil L. Chesser


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful dramas, 6 Sep 2009
By 
B. Adams (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stephen Poliakoff BBC Collection: Caught On A Train / Perfect Strangers / Shooting The Past [DVD] (DVD)
Shooting The Past - A country house full of some delightful and memorable characters. They face a fight to keep an amazing photographic collection intact. Like Perfect Strangers, this is all about history and family, and how the past affects us. Compelling.

The Lost Prince - Interesting and poignant drama telling the little-known story of Prince John, the youngest child of George V and Queen Mary. His illnesses mean he is kept away from society. The incredible world events of the time are glimpsed through the eyes of this boy in his hidden world. Sad and riveting.

Perfect Strangers - A rich, affecting and comic story of young man from the suburbs of West London who goes to a huge family reunion (effectively all strangers to him as his father has become estranged from) and meets a variety of eccentrics all with stories to tell. "Every family has three really good stories to tell" and some of these are astonishing yet believable. Gripping and humane, none of the characters are two-dimensional and the drama shows how little we often know about people, and how humanity always has the capacity for change. Some similarities with Shooting the Past - ie how so much can be contained within a photograph but that it just needs explaining. Great acting from Michael Gambon, Lindsay Duncan, Matthew Macfadyen, Claire Skinner, Timothy Spall etc. My favourite.

Caught on a Train - well liked by the critics but I found this a diverting though not gripping story of a young man and an elderly woman on an overnight train journey across Europe. A bit stagey.

Friends And Crocodiles - More affluence and country houses! A charismatic Great Gatsby-type man collects interesting people and has delightful parties. He gets an assistant to organise his chaos. We see their lives changing over the years after the parties end...

Gideon's Daughter - A PR consultant to the rich, famous and influential becomes disillusioned with his life as his daughter drifts away from him. Like Friends and Crocodiles I didn't find this as affecting as some of the earlier works but it's still an interesting study of love, family and relationships.

All in all I think this is an excellent collection of dramas relying on human interaction and relationships (often in adversity) for the thrills, rather than Hollywood-style action. I got this in a sale for a bargain £30 a while back and it was well worth it. In my mind it would have been worth it just for Perfect Strangers, Shooting the Past and The Lost Prince.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 19 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Stephen Poliakoff BBC Collection: Caught On A Train / Perfect Strangers / Shooting The Past [DVD] (DVD)
What's not to love? Brilliant scripts: the cream of British acting; different, original themes; signature haunting music. Not to be missed and savoured.Themes that stay with you. I remember seeing the originals years ago and they still haunt me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant set of dramas!, 6 Aug 2013
This review is from: The Stephen Poliakoff BBC Collection: Caught On A Train / Perfect Strangers / Shooting The Past [DVD] (DVD)
My partner was not impressed with "Caught on a Train" and it was some time until we watched the rest but then she got very impressed with all the other films and series on here. Some are in two or three parts and others are complete films. If you like fast-paced action films go elsewhere but if you like interesting dramas about unusual people and situations you'll probably love them all. If you like Timothy Spall these are some of his finest moments and the same can be said of some of the other well-known actors and actresses in these films too. Brilliant scripts and excellent performances. They are probably also interesting to watch twice because some of the later revelations cast a light on things that happened earlier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Story telling at its best, 6 Jun 2011
By 
John Ross (Gold Coast, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Stephen Poliakoff BBC Collection: Caught On A Train / Perfect Strangers / Shooting The Past [DVD] (DVD)
I can thoroughly recommend this collection to anyone who enjoys a story well told and wonderful acting and film direction. Shooting the Past I would single out as a good starting point if you are not familiar with the work of Poliakoff and from then on you will be a convert. His style is distinctive and combined with wonderful acting has an almost hypnotic quality.

Thoroughly recommend unless you like cop chases and plenty of action. These stories rely on clever scripting and drop dead acting for their appeal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great TV, 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stephen Poliakoff BBC Collection: Caught On A Train / Perfect Strangers / Shooting The Past [DVD] (DVD)
I loved each of these. Fabulous writing, really interesting and unusual plots and great casting and performances - thoroughly recommended. I remember Caught on a Train from its initial screening years ago and have never forgotten it; Michael Kitchen and Peggy Ashcroft were riveting. The Lost Prince and Shooting the Past are absorbing and charming; Gina McKee, Lyndsay Duncan and Timothy Spall are completely convincing in their roles. I hadn't previously seen Friends and Crocodiles but loved it too for its excentricity, lovely production quality and once again the writing and acting were excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 8 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stephen Poliakoff BBC Collection: Caught On A Train / Perfect Strangers / Shooting The Past [DVD] (DVD)
This collection of the now "Classic" films portray Poliakoff at his very best and is one of the very best box sets on the market
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hours of top quality TV viewing in one box!, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stephen Poliakoff BBC Collection: Caught On A Train / Perfect Strangers / Shooting The Past [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this box-set. Hours and hours of humane, intelligent, grown-up TV drama. Poliakoff knows how to draw you in to his witty, haunting stories. He's not afraid to seduce and please with gorgeous lighting, atmospheric music and beautiful leading actors, but he never tells you what to think. And what stellar casts - Michael Gambon, Lindsey Duncan, Timothy Spall, Peggy Ashcroft... His ability to blend politics so subtly and seamlessly with great character-led story-telling is inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 10 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stephen Poliakoff BBC Collection: Caught On A Train / Perfect Strangers / Shooting The Past [DVD] (DVD)
I live abroad and had basically missed all of these films. They are brilliant. This is the best thing I have watched in several years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unmissable, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stephen Poliakoff BBC Collection: Caught On A Train / Perfect Strangers / Shooting The Past [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliantly written and produced. He has an eye for the surreal and appears to be fascinated by the dilemmas of the extremely rich. He is a lover of peoples' histories.
I'm so glad I bought this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hours of viewing pleasure, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stephen Poliakoff BBC Collection: Caught On A Train / Perfect Strangers / Shooting The Past [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this because the videos I have of Perfect Strangers and Shooting the Past were getting old. I've never been disappointed in Mr Poliakoff's work and am looking forward to hours of revisiting the stories he has created.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews