Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
Thought the film was awesome - brilliant portrayal of a troubled genius from Joaquin Phoenix. Along with Reese Witherspoon (a compelling performance as June Carter), the pair's renditions of the classic Cash songs can't be flawed.
Phoenix's voice is eerily reminiscent of Cash's - so much so that it's hard to tell where acting ends and...
Published on 26 Feb. 2006 by B. Duckworth

versus
9 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hollywood Karaoke...but better than you might think
The first problem to overcome with this CD is quite simple. The majority of the songs may be Johnny Cash classics, but are they in any way relevant when Johnny Cash himself is not singing them?
The answer, whilst leaning towards no, is actually more of a maybe. For a start, Joaquin Phoenix is certainly no Johnny Cash but that is not to say that he is without merits...
Published on 27 Mar. 2006 by IWFIcon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 26 Feb. 2006
By 
B. Duckworth "benjabenja" (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Walk The Line (Audio CD)
Thought the film was awesome - brilliant portrayal of a troubled genius from Joaquin Phoenix. Along with Reese Witherspoon (a compelling performance as June Carter), the pair's renditions of the classic Cash songs can't be flawed.
Phoenix's voice is eerily reminiscent of Cash's - so much so that it's hard to tell where acting ends and impersonation begins. Witherspoon's voice is vibrant, tuneful, and, again, near enough spot-on.
The film's concert scenes are excellent - the energy of Phoenix/Cash on stage lends a whole new dimension to the music. The soundtrack doesn't let down at all. It could be said that you're better off buying 'At Folsom Prison' or similar - something actually by Cash himself - but I think it's worth the money to hear the remarkable tribute.
The CD itself is five star material. It's what's NOT on the CD which loses it marks. The duet between Phoenix and Witherspoon of "Times a Wastin'" is pretty much the central performance of the film. And yet it's omitted from this soundtrack. After a little research I've found out that the Cash family don't own the rights to the song, which is all well and good, but surely some kind of compromise could have been made?
BIG let down not to have that track - really was a highlight of the film - but the CD is quality music that deserves to be bought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing attribute., 27 April 2006
By 
This review is from: Walk The Line (Audio CD)
Before I start I have to remind everyone that this is Reese Witherspoon and Joaquin Phoenix. They are not trying to be June Carter Cash or Johnny Cash, they are simply telling one of the most wonderful stories in music history.

Before I saw this film I had no idea who Johnny Cash was(I am only 23) and I had absolutely no interest in country music but after seeing the film I was hooked on the music in it.

I came straight onto Amazon and purchased the soundtrack, and I haven't stopped listening to it yet.

Reese and Joaquin's voices blend beautifully together and "It ain't me babe", is simply stunning! This is rock and roll and country music at its best(well obviously apart from the real legends themselves). This album has also made me a Johnny Cash fan and I have bought two of his albums. The music is even more appealing when you know the story behind it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What's here is fantastic, 3 Mar. 2006
By 
K. Kearey "katnoodle" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Walk The Line (Audio CD)
I agree that this soundtrack unfortunately leaves out one of the sweetest songs ever, 'Time's A Wastin'', as well as 'Rock 'n' Roll Ruby' (although you can see the clip from the film on the enhanced CD so I shouldn't complain!). This is definitely worth buying if you enjoyed the film, of course you should also be listening to the one and only original. A couple of songs are definitely better by the man himself, especially 'Ring of Fire', since the film version omits both the stirring brass section and the amazing backing vocals. But this soundtrack really is something... much is made of the fact that neither Joaquin Phoenix nor Reese Witherspoon were singers before they made the film, and this CD is a real credit to their recently discovered talents as performers. Their vocal performances are stunning and the revitalised song arrangements of Cash and co.'s songs can only endear you more to their genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good start for new Cash converts on back of hit movie......, 28 Jan. 2006
By 
Lumpster (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Walk The Line (Audio CD)
I picked this CD up in the US a couple of weeks ago and have to say that whilst it's not Cash himself singing, the stars of the movie (Reese Witherspoon and Joaquin Phoenix) do a fine job in re-interpreting some of Cash's better-known songs. The Cash back catalogue is so huge that it is difficult to know where to start - if you see the movie without knowing much about Cash, this CD is a good place to start before then venturing further into the great man's extensive recordings. However, if you're already a Cash fan and familiar with his music, then perhaps this CD doesn't really serve much purpose, completeness aside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Songs and great soudtrack, 21 Jun. 2006
By 
J. Kirkland "jennyk" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Walk The Line (Audio CD)
In short I was amazed both by the film and the soundtrack.

Jauquin & Reese gave it there all and boy did it show. They brought this to whole new generation & yes I had heard a little of Johnny Cash before but not in this way! NO imitation here the actors transformed and made it something more...

The songs are all amazing, perfectly crafted and they both deserved an oscar for giving us this an excellent soundtrack its well worth the buy. Highly recommend 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Walk The Line Soundtrack, 13 Mar. 2006
By 
N. Wilson "nigel-wilson" (Bristol, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Walk The Line (Audio CD)
This is a excellent soundtrack to accompany the movie "Walk the Line", a biopic of the life and music of Johnny Cash.
Leading the songs on the album are Joaquin Phoenix who plays the part of Johnny Cash and Oscar Award Winning Reese Witherspoon who plays Cash's second wife June Carter. It also features songs by american superstar Tyler Hilton (Elvis Presley), Waylon Malloy Payne (Jerry Lee Lewis) and Johnathan Rice (Roy Orbison).
As I am not a fan of the original Johnny Cash or June Carter I am slightly biased when I say that this soundtrack is better than the original material. But then again I believe this is a fair comment. The sound quality of the backing instruments is, of course, a much better standard than the original material. But what I also love is the tone and texture of the lead's vocals. Phoenix has a lovely, soulfilled voice, and has a breathtaking tone to his voice. On the track "I walk the line", Pheonix's vocals really show off as he hits really low notes. Personally for me, Pheonix sets a high standard for male singers to reach, one which alot of them fall far from in the todays world where popular music is all about falsettos and cute harmoneys.
As for Reese Witherspoon, she just shows off a brillient voice on her two track "Wildwood Flower" and "Juke-Box Blues". She's expressive, emotive and full of country soul. I think she's brillient. I also truely admire her harmonies with Pheonix on their duets, where she sings some reletivly complex harmonies.
As for the three others, again impressive performances. For me, Hilton was not a particularly good Elvis, he's a bit too weak vocally, but what he does he does well. Paynes role as Jerry Lee Lewis is brillient. He sings "Lewix Boogie" and just impersonates Lewis perfectly in the way he sings "Louisiana" and "Piano". It's excellent.
For Cash fans, this album may be a bit too disimular for their liking, but for me as a new Cash fan, I truely love this album. I would recommend it to anyone!
10 out of 10 for this soundtrack
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stop thinking about it, just buy it!, 16 Mar. 2006
This review is from: Walk The Line (Audio CD)
I unashamedly loved this film and it's music, sung by the stars themselves. Of course it has opened me and many others up to the delights of Johnny Cash and June Carter, but get this CD if you want to remember the wonderful acting performances of Joaquin and Reese, and their chemistry on screen. It's true Time's A Waistin' isn't on here but don't let that deter you - after a couple of listens you'll forget and enjoy the CD as is. The Jerry Lee Lewis cover is good but the other songs not sung by Joaquin and Reese aren't very inspiring I think. Luckily these two stars have enough vocal charisma and talent to carry off the whole album themselves, and you don't feel short-changed. They do all this yet you still believe it's Johnny and June, it really captures their spirit. You won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for one thing!, 22 Feb. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Walk The Line (Audio CD)
Much enjoyed this but I had to dock one star for the glaring omission of 'Times a Wastin': the duet between Reese and Joaquin. Apparently the Cash family doesn’t own the rights to this track so it didn’t make the CD!?!??! Surely some accommodation should have been made? Very happy with the rest but 'Times a Wastin' was my favorite track on the film and was a central part of the whole picture. Silly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!!!!!, 11 Feb. 2006
This review is from: Walk The Line (Audio CD)
I listened to this CD and I honestly couldn't tell the difference between Joaquin Phoenix's amazing voice and the man in Black himself. Phoenix does an incredible job of reintrepreting Cash's songs, and thoroughly deserves any award he's nominated for...cough..Oscar.
Reece Witherspoon also does a great job on singing June Carter, although doesn't quite sound like the real June, but in no way is this a bad thing.
I thoroughly recomend this to new and old Cash fans alike
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Soundtrack, 6 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walk The Line (Audio CD)
All the songs are given both a cover and a new lease of life on the soundtrack, and are done a great justice. Joaquin Phoenix and Reece Witherspoon follow up their brilliant acting performances with splendid vocal performances too, which did the film a further justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Walk The Line
Walk The Line by Joaquin Phoenix (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews