Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Romance and flamboyance at its best!
The movies here are fabulous and have been given a sumptuous look in this new boxset. Not only do you get the great films, there is a bonus disc featuring Baz Lurhmann who talks about his vision and what Red Curtain means.
Buy it as a valentine's gift for that special someone or treat yourself to these amazing movies.
Published on 30 Jan 2006 by Rachael

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fox sells Region 2 customers short again...
Once again Region 2 customers come off worse. The set has the Granada / Carlton version of 'Strictly Ballroom' which has, in my opinion, an inferior transfer, mono sound (yes, I kid you not!), and is without the commentary and other special features found on the Region 1 or Region 4 sets which both have an alternative and far better version of the film. In addition, the...
Published on 20 Dec 2008 by Yanni Sis


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Romance and flamboyance at its best!, 30 Jan 2006
This review is from: Red Curtain Trilogy (Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
The movies here are fabulous and have been given a sumptuous look in this new boxset. Not only do you get the great films, there is a bonus disc featuring Baz Lurhmann who talks about his vision and what Red Curtain means.
Buy it as a valentine's gift for that special someone or treat yourself to these amazing movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fox sells Region 2 customers short again..., 20 Dec 2008
This review is from: Red Curtain Trilogy (Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Once again Region 2 customers come off worse. The set has the Granada / Carlton version of 'Strictly Ballroom' which has, in my opinion, an inferior transfer, mono sound (yes, I kid you not!), and is without the commentary and other special features found on the Region 1 or Region 4 sets which both have an alternative and far better version of the film. In addition, the Region 1 set, whilst in similar packaging, is of better quality with regard to the slipcase and disc graphics.

If you take my advice and buy the Region 1, please remember that as this is a Fox release you will need a multi-region player as Fox do not usually code their Region 1 releases for any other, unlike Warners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars check out Baz, 15 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Curtain Trilogy (Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
A great dvd set with a very interesting behind the scenes documentary that explains the concept behind Red Curtain cinema and is full if anecdotes of the filmimg process

A must for Baz Luhrmann fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Red Curtain trillogy box set, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Curtain Trilogy (Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
This four disc set actually contains three films and a special disc carrying a very interesting behind the scenes documentary that explains the concept behind Red Curtain cinema and is full if anecdotes of the filming process. With a box set all one can do is give a general overview. For an in-depth appraisal consult the individual film reviews discussed elsewhere.
Strictly ballroom is a re-working of a classic fairy tale of love featuring romance between handsome prince [dance prodigy] and initially ugly duckling (or dance partner) set against the world of ballroom dancing. Scott Hastings looks like he could be throwing it all away by using un-registered and therefore illegal dance steps in his routine. Abandoned by his partner he is forced to look elsewhere. Funny, often tongue in cheek, a great soundtrack and fantastic dance sequences [especially Fran’s parents], the plot may be obvious but it’s still a definite 5 star.
Moulin Rouge features Nicole Kidman as a burlesque 'star' act at the said club, also working as a [to put it politely] a paid courtesan. Enter Ewan McGregor as a down and out writer and a love story begins. The film is a riot as famous songs are parodied without prejudice by all as they go about setting the Sound of Music in India all done in a bohemian club in 1899 Paris. Mad-cap fun it is,
Romeo and Juliet throws the old story into the modern age but keeps the olde worlde lingo [which irritated]. Not everyones taste but it works once you get into the flow of it. Leonardo di Caprio is perfect as the lead guy. With a thumping soundtrack and clever camera work this film is a work that deserves to be seen. I hated Shakespeare in school but I actually liked this , but only a 3 star.
I’m not one to enjoy musicals or the theatre but this is a great DVD set that overall just about merits 5 stars. Might make an ideal gift as it generally has something for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gave this as a present, 22 Mar 2014
By 
D. Collard-Berry (West Sussex/Surrey/Hants) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Curtain Trilogy (Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
I got this boxset as it is outstanding value for three excellent films.

I have been bombarded by texts thanking me for the gift. Strictly Ballroom is in my opinion one of the best films to watch before going to a meeting where rules are discussed. As for R & J, one of the best interpretations I know, as for the colour, vivid & primary.

You keep DVD’s to watch again, these three have a chance to wear out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must have DVD, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Curtain Trilogy (Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
High quality productions well worth a look for all Baz Lurmannn fans. Bought as a present for a friend who had not been introduced to the delights of these fims.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bee's Knees, 28 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Curtain Trilogy (Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
My son thinks these dvds are fantastic and was thrilled to get this boxed set. They were a competetive price. He even made me watch the ballroom one, and it was very compelling and I was glad I had seen it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars disappointment, 26 Jun 2007
By 
This review is from: Red Curtain Trilogy (Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
DO NOT BUY.

The movie s'Strictly Ballroom' was supplied with a mono soundtrack - I had to buy another one in Australia with 5.1, this is UNACCEPTABLE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2 out of 3, 8 Sep 2010
By 
Chris Morse "faraway_pictures" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Curtain Trilogy (Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Sorry, i know I should like Shakespeare, but I find him very boring. Even spiced up in the modern day gun wierlding edition, Romeo & Juliet is very dull.
The other 2 movies, Moulin Rouge & Strictly Ballroom are great fun though. And for a decent price this is a great buy.
Let's face it, the kids will probably end up studying R&J at school so they'll have to watch it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Red Curtain Trilogy (Box Set) [DVD]
Red Curtain Trilogy (Box Set) [DVD] by Baz Luhrmann (DVD - 2006)
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews