Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Four Brothers, Five Stars...
Considering the fact that this type of movie doesn't usually appeal to me, it was especially pleasing to leave the cinema feeling totally satisfied following this rollercoaster ride of a movie. As soon as the credits were rolling, I was promising myself the DVD.
I won't go into huge detail, but the 'heroes' if you will, led by the fantastic Mark...
Published on 30 Jan 2006 by Ant

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars King of the B-Movies
Mark Wahlberg is the king of the modern B-movie, isn't he? a likable enough actor specialising in blue-collar underdogs, time and time again he appears in underachieving films which just fail to be anything more than merely watchable: Budget seems irrelevant - from 'Planet Of The Apes' to this one, he's the Emperor of 'Alright I s'pose':

Four Brothers has some...
Published on 27 Sep 2006 by A. Miles


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Four Brothers, Five Stars..., 30 Jan 2006
By 
Ant (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Four Brothers [DVD] (DVD)
Considering the fact that this type of movie doesn't usually appeal to me, it was especially pleasing to leave the cinema feeling totally satisfied following this rollercoaster ride of a movie. As soon as the credits were rolling, I was promising myself the DVD.
I won't go into huge detail, but the 'heroes' if you will, led by the fantastic Mark Wahlberg, are the perfect characters for this film - an excellent blend of no-nonsense toughness, blunt humour and raw emotion.
The film mixes amazing fight scenes with both comedy moments and heart-wrenching scenes, and at times Four Brothers is genuinely shocking. This isn't only thanks to the brutality with which victims are dealt with in this gangster-type flick, but with surprising and sometimes desperately sad plot twists.
The film ends perfectly, and it's not often a movie of this nature leaves me with a warm glow inside. But the perfect combination of violence, emotion and humour in Four Brothers leads to an engrossing and highly enjoyable experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 23 Mar 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Four Brothers [DVD] (DVD)
This film is absolutely amazing you really feel like you are a part of this thrown together family and their struggle to avenge the murder of their foster mother. Each brother has their own individual qualities and brings thier own personality to the table, but they are all united in their goal to repay the woman who saved their childhood and offered them love. This is a film about the bonds that tie and the repaying of a debt that can never be fullfilled, i cried and laughed with these brothers - a real joy to own - watch it now!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a decent action packed film, 17 Dec 2007
This review is from: Four Brothers [DVD] (DVD)
The critics couldn't agree on this one. Some loved it and some hated it, but what do they know ?? Probably worth a 3.5 star rating.

In truth, after a slightly slow start, the film is spectacular in places. The car chase and the big shoot out, will keep you glued to your screens. The storyline has the advantage of not being tried before and the film is none the worse for this.

Perfection, probably not !! But enjoyable for most and worth staying in for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Brothers, 8 Feb 2006
By 
Mrs. G. L. Pearce "pearcegll" (Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Four Brothers [DVD] (DVD)
This is an excellent film, with a group of brothers taking revenge for the death of their mother. The plot is very good and very realistic. My husband and son both enjoyed and would recommend it to anyone who likes action movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD FILM,WORTH WATCHING, 22 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Four Brothers [DVD] (DVD)
God know's what film the previous reviewer watched cos i personally thought this film was well made,well planned a good action movie all around.Going into the film you should know through the directer's previous work JOHN SINGLETON (BOYZ IN THE HOOD,BABYBOY 2FAST2FURIOUS) what sort of film you are gonna get,Fair enough i might be a bit biast cos i am a big fan of TYRESE(who is turning into a fine actor)and MARK WALBERG(who is very underated).Sometimes there is nothing better then a good revenge movie with a well thought of cast, even ANDRE 3000 puts in another good performance so early on in his acting career.I wont give to much away but if u like FAST CARS,FIGHTING SCENES,LOT'S OF SHOOT-OUTS,TOUGH GUY ACTING FROM A GOOD CAST,AND MOST IMPORTANTLY REVENGE, you wont go wrong watching this film.Rent it or buy it trust me im buying it after seeing it at the cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gritty Drama, Immersed in Action, 4 April 2006
This review is from: Four Brothers [DVD] (DVD)
If you like a gritty drama immersed in action then this is the film for you. Four adopted brothers show that the bonds of brotherhood are much stronger than those of blood as they take vengeance on those who killed their mother. An urban western set in Detroit creates a desolate backdrop for adrenalin-pumped car chases and sophisticated shoot-outs. Not just your average action movie from director John Singleton (e.g. 2Fast 2Furious) the powerful performances from Mark Wahlberg, Tyrese Gibson, Andre Benjamin and Garrett Hedlund will guarantee to get you emotionally involved, hoping that the brothers will reap the revenge they set out for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top notch, 24 Jan 2006
This review is from: Four Brothers [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this film a few times at the cinema. I found it to be really good. The action sequences were really good and the acting was good as well. The storyline was not basic so you didn't know what was going to happen exactly.
I will happily recommend this movie to anyone. If you enjoy films like Snatch, Lock Stock, Layer Cake, then you will enjoy this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars King of the B-Movies, 27 Sep 2006
By 
A. Miles (Al Khor, Qatar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Four Brothers [DVD] (DVD)
Mark Wahlberg is the king of the modern B-movie, isn't he? a likable enough actor specialising in blue-collar underdogs, time and time again he appears in underachieving films which just fail to be anything more than merely watchable: Budget seems irrelevant - from 'Planet Of The Apes' to this one, he's the Emperor of 'Alright I s'pose':

Four Brothers has some good qualities, but aspires to more than it is capable of delivering: It's beautifully shot in a harsh Detroit wintertime, and wishes for a gritty, downbeat realism: However, the ludicrous plot - especially the fact that the four protagonists seem to be able to kill and torture at will around Detroit with the police either turning a blind eye or, eventually, colluding in the mayhem, together with a cartoonishly cliched collection of supporting characters -robs it of any credibility.

As a soul lover, I found the soundtrack especially galling: A lovely selection of Detroit music from the late 60s and early 70s, it has almost no connection whatsoever with what's happening on screen, and appears to be bolted on to give the film an air of Tarantinoesque cool. Doesn't work in this case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic film, not famous but still good, 24 Jan 2006
This review is from: Four Brothers [DVD] (DVD)
Appalled to see someone slating one of my favorite films of 2005! Although not well known and a a little insulting to the intelligence 1 star is never fair. The film wasnt filmed for that purpose but for the thrills and passion of taking the law into your own hands whilst being driven by emotion. Only writing this so the average for this film isnt 1 star as that is an outrage!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good night's entertainment, 13 May 2006
By 
This review is from: Four Brothers [DVD] (DVD)
OK so it's not going to win any oscars and you may doubt the relationships at times but this is a good movie. If you're looking for a good night in with an entertaining and at times quite powerful action/ revenge movie, you can't go wrong.

The only thing that i disliked was the ending, to me it was anticlimatic, with the biggest action sequence having occured beforehand. However this still rocks and i recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Four Brothers [DVD]
Four Brothers [DVD] by John Singleton (DVD - 2006)
£2.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews