Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BFME 2 a sweet cherry but not iced
Let me first of all by saying that I will be partially comparing Battle for Middle Earth (BFME) 2, to its predecessor, which is regarded as one of the most successful real time strategy games of recent years.
BFME 2 is set in the northern realms of middle earth; something neglected by the recent film trilogy and the first game. There are 4 game modes for the single...
Published on 6 Mar. 2006 by Richard Elliott

versus
16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The battle for Middle-Earth goes on.
The game returns you to Middle-Earth, this time to fight part of the war of the ring in the North. You can take command of either Men, Dwarves, Elves, the forces of Mordor, the Isengard troops or Goblins. With two main campaigns to fight through, Good and Evil, there's also new features added on to give the game extra life.

Anyone who's played any EA RTS...
Published on 23 Aug. 2006 by J. P. Taylor


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BFME 2 a sweet cherry but not iced, 6 Mar. 2006
This review is from: Lord of the Rings: Battle for Middle Earth II (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Let me first of all by saying that I will be partially comparing Battle for Middle Earth (BFME) 2, to its predecessor, which is regarded as one of the most successful real time strategy games of recent years.
BFME 2 is set in the northern realms of middle earth; something neglected by the recent film trilogy and the first game. There are 4 game modes for the single player. War of the Ring is essentially the first games map concept, made into a turn based strategy campaign. Each team fights over key territories and when armies clash, resolve their disputes in real-time. War of the Ring is really great for a player new to the game, or in multiplayer, but for veterans they will find it all too easy to overcome the AI (more on this later). You have the classic skirmish mode and a good and evil campaign. The story in both of these campaigns is really strong and I haven’t enjoyed a single player experience in Real Time Strategy this much in a long time. The missions are well thought out and give a sense of scope to the mythical world. However, veteran players will zoom through the missions; I played without using major powers and still found the missions relatively easy.
The game now has both land and navel combat, though navel combat feels more of a token gift than a strategic element. You can now build anywhere on the map, which is actually a lot of fun and adds a further strategic element to the game. Fortresses now form the key element of your base and can be upgraded to massive monoliths of power.
Many of the powers of the original are present, a few with upgrades. Many new powers are really cool to use, i.e.-earthquake and summon the watcher.
The AI is still lacking in intelligence despite claims made about its improvements, but it does challenge you on harder settings. There are now six sides to choose from in the game, these are the goblins, isengard, mordor, dwarfs, elves and men. Heroes for each side are numerous and now cost a lot of command points. I like this approach, as it means you can use a massive force, or a select elite number of units.
I.e.-3 nazgul and some mumakil, or 500 orcs!
The sides feel really well researched and the differences are noticeable. I.e.- 2 units of upgraded dwarfs against 6 packs of goblins is great fun and the game play has a real kick to it (much like Dawn of War) thanks to detail to attention. The skirmish maps are numerous and Helms Deep, Minis Tirith etc. are now official maps, and great fun online, alas the skirmish AI is awful at assaulting or defending sieges. The Online play is full of problems and veteran BFME players may feel frustrated with a lot of existing problems. I do have the utmost faith in Electronic Arts and believe BFME 2 will present a great online experience within a few patches / months.
In conclusion, I feel as though the developers have really tried hard to make the game fun and give it a sense of epic, which has being achieved, but the game has its flaws and feels unpolished. If you enjoyed the Lord of the Rings films and haven’t played the first BFME buy that and then this later. I would recommend this game but with reservations; veteran players may feel like this is an add-on and those that are buying it for online play should maybe wait for EA to fix critical problems before becoming dismayed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definately worth it, 10 Mar. 2007
By 
A. Allcock "Gamer" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lord of the Rings: Battle for Middle Earth II (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Unlike all the other lord of the rings games-whatever console they're for-I've noticed they all follow the same events-the journey of Frodo and aragorn down south or around that area. I love this game because it gets away from this and (in the campaign-either baddies or goodies) concentrates on the fights between dwarves and elves with sauron in the north, (In skirmishes though you can still play with whoever you want anywhere so don't let this put you back).

You start off fighting in rivendell and slowly travel around fighting in different places against different heroes and races.

All heroes in campaign or skirmishes devastate with great attacks and dominate the battlefield. I also love the fact that you can actually put walls round your base (even though uruks easily come and poke them down).

All unit factions have advantages and disadvantages and you can place them in battle lines or hide them in trees and finally you can increase the number of units you can have up to virtually 4000 making for giant epic battles or just little fights.

Only problems with the game. When finished the campaign and done a few skirmishes it starts getting a bit tedious (even with the war of the ring different play style i'm hopind the add on pack will increase things to do). Also, if you don't have 5.5GB or a decent video card it won't work (which lots of people have had trouble with) but check your computer for the right requirements, get the game and enjoy a fabulous gaming experience with the most amazing graphics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not bad . . . Not Bad at all, 11 Sept. 2006
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lord of the Rings: Battle for Middle Earth II (PC DVD) (Video Game)
So, i loaded this game up - started it, thought aha! plenty of graphics options, so i customised it, tweaked it some more ( i like the get the balance just right, acceptable FPS v Graphics, yes, slightly nerdy but hey, i play computer games .. . ) and played a skirmish, then another, and another, marvelled at how the witch king gracefully tore through battalions at a time, how my Half Trolls tore through cavalry of the rohirrim, how drogoth effortlessly torched entire bases, and most of all, how Souron effortlessly destroyed an entire army. All this power, so little time. And here comes my one main complaint really, the AI is really very pants. Pants. Paaaaaants. Just to emphasise it some more - PAAAAANTS! Once you've played it a few times you've played it all. Don't get me wrong, its still a lot of fun, i mean a lot of fun, but it could do with tweaking somewhat, to make it less brain dead.

My other couple of complaints - Walls. Walls did not crumble when an uruk hai poked them with his eyebrow tweasers, did they? Well, in this game, walls serve only one purpose - to slow the enemy down so you can move troops to counter the attack.

Another is skinning, some of the skins have not been updated since BFME I, and although they still look good, they could have been polished that little be extra in my opinion, although, i am not a programmer nor a skinner, and this may be a highly arrogant point of view.

My last is realism - when could 1 battalion run through another without being hurt in some way - i.e. a battalion of pikemen are run at my swordsmen, my reaction would be to form a phalanx.

That said, BFME II is a fantastic game - dispite my griping - perfectly capturing the LOTR's Battle Universe, and, while it cannot compete on the scale of something like the Total War series for numbers of units, it is certainly a game worth playing. It is imaginative, creative and a thouroughly enjoyable experience - I reccomend getting this game.

Just some things to note - space requirements - over 5 gig, it also requires a decent graphics card, a fair amount of RAM and a good processor to run well. Although it has done fairly well on my old AGP graphics card, i would like to experience the game at its best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mesmarising, 16 May 2010
A Kid's Review
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lord of the Rings: Battle for Middle Earth II (PC DVD) (Video Game)
It is brilliant.

I really liked the first one, but it just get's better because you get new heroes like Elrond, Glorfindel, Sauron and Galadriel. New powers and units. The story is also very entertaining too, especially the Dol Guldur level. It really shows what Lord of the Rings can give you, since while the Battle in the South is going on, you can be fighting in the Battles of the North, fighting in Rivendell, Dol Guldur, Mirkwood, Erebor, Ettenmoors and the Shire.

Skirmishes are not as good as the first one, but I still believe having a one on one skirmish match is great fun if you use the handicap.
Story: 10/10
Graphics: 9/10
Characters: 10/10
Powers: 9/10
Locations: 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Its almost like they read my last one...., 17 Mar. 2006
This review is from: Lord of the Rings: Battle for Middle Earth II (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Lets start with what this isn't: This isn't anything we haven't seen before. It is the original BFME with some add-ons.
As such, if you don't get to indulge in on-line gaming, don't touch with a bargepole - you won't get the same joy out of it - the campaign length is woefully short, and with the exception of the last level, woefully easy.
But what do you get: Firstly, they've sorted out the unit access thing - you now have access to all 4 unit types off the bat. You no longer need to build units to upgrade your buildings, you pay for the upgrade which normally gives a faster build speed and upgrades. So - hurrah for sorting that out - previously Gondor infantry died before Warg riders... Now you can have Tower Guards at the same time!
Next - they've merged the Gondor/Rohan factions to be a hell of a lot more balanced. There's the new factions - Elves, Dwarves and Goblins. Goblins are very much attack orientated, Dwarves are the ultimate in turtling forces but with some very nasty attack options. I've not played with elves in skirmish yet, but lets see....
They've expanded the unit cap to 1000, and made hero's count as part of that. So, you can have all of the 9 ringwraiths, or ooodles of orcs. They have also fixed the options so now you can have ringwraiths on horseback or on fell beasts.
Finally, there's the war of the rings game and hero creation. Hero creation can create combat monsters who can topple Sauron - also known as sick. The war of the rings game has yet to impress me.
Overall - if you fancy it for the online gaming, get it. If you want something new in the way of RTS, or you don't do a lot of online gaming- just leave well alone. Its an improvement on the previous, but its hardly excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars war of the rings, 24 Jan. 2010
By 
Su (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lord of the Rings: Battle for Middle Earth II (PC DVD) (Video Game)
This is the sequel to the Lord of the Rings: Battle of Middle Earth game - The Lord of the Rings: The Battle for Middle-earth (PC DVD).

At first I was disappointed by this game, but as I started to use the other game playing options I found it just as good if not better than the original.

The game play in the campaign is simple - I was very disappointed by the fact that I walked through the entire campaign with such great ease, so much so that I nearly gave up completely. I decided, however, to give the War of the Rings section a try, and I was so glad that I did.

I suggest using the "campaign" option as training because the fun isn't with the campaign but with the "War of the Ring" section.

WotR mode gives you the options of pulling your troops out (basically running away), "real-time" (you play each battle) or "auto-resolve" the computer predicts who would win based on which hero/villain and the number of extra troops and their ranking. I would never use the auto-resolve as the majority of time you will lose. Playing the real time resolve is where the real fun lies.

Here, unlike the "Campaign" mode you can both win and lose land, meaning that the battle can swing either way at any time. You may have to battle over the same land several time as the enemy moves to break through your lines or you move against the enemy, but so-far the battle has been different each time this has happened to me.

WotR adds an additional intellectual element to the game; you have to plan your strategy to ensure that the enemy has no gap to sneak through, while moving forward yourself (this is not as easy as it sounds). You can build additional troops to add to a heroes already claimed area. You can only attack a new land using a hero, so it can be quite easy to move a hero to a new area only to discover that you have left the door open for the enemy to move round behind you and taken land off you.

I also enjoyed the skirmish games. These are great if you don't want to spend hours on the game, or if you want to retrain yourself, or practice your techniques and strategies.

Once again characters from the books and films appear in the game, but the snippets from the films are no longer in the game

As with the previous game it has some of the most beautiful cgi images and films.

I recommend you play the War of the Rings matches as true game, and use the Campaign and Skirmish as training. Once I discovered the War of the Rings mode I was in game playing heaven again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pretty good game., 21 May 2006
By 
Ja Bradford - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lord of the Rings: Battle for Middle Earth II (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I have to say this is a good game. There's no doubt about it. The graphics are superb and there is so much to do it will take a while to get tired of it. However to get those superb graphics you do need some kind of super computer. I thought I had a good computer, and I can only run it on Very low perfectly or low with some choppiness. However you can't ignore the fact that many improvements have been made since the last installment and it is a great game. However if you wish to buy it please read the system requirements before you do, otherwise it could be 30 quid down the drain. I know a lot of people have experienced some difficulties with it especially if you have a Geforce 4 MX graphics card. Just check out the requirements and enjoy the latest installment of EA's fantastic Battle for Middle Earth series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great game...but!, 10 Jan. 2008
By 
Mikael Jonsson (Motala,Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lord of the Rings: Battle for Middle Earth II (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I really love this game, i love to play it with my friends..but:

1. You should be able to change the heroes look a bit more! Like haircolour,skincolour and the clothes.

2. The evil teams sucks compares to human team! You can't win with evil, and that really, really bugs me. For example: The human team's got archers that can shoot a rain of arrows anywhere on the map, healing & when you create a hero they can have invulnerability a time - while the evil ones dont have anything like that!

3. Sauroman is a real big issue! In the movies/books (at least at the beginning)Sauroman is better than Gandalf, not in the game! He's the most expencive hero of Isengard, but he dies first!

4. I think that you should be able to use the custom-hero in the single-player game, that would be fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Preview, 9 Jan. 2006
By 
James Andrews (Covent Garden, London.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lord of the Rings: Battle for Middle Earth II (PC DVD) (Video Game)
At its core, The Battle for Middle-Earth II will remain the same, but the unified license has allowed the focus to shift to the war in the north and Sauron's battle with the Dwarves and the Elves. Only hardcore Tolkien fans know that Sauron sent an army to the north that … er, dwarfed … the massive epic battle at Minas Tirith. This new game hopes to recreate that battleground.
The single-player campaign will revolve around these battles that ran roughly parallel to the battles depicted in the Peter Jackson film trilogy. In the "good" campaign, an alliance is formed between the Elves and Dwarves to keep Sauron from destroying their homeland. In the "evil" campaign, the forces of Mordor set out from Dol Gurdur, with the help of Isengard and the goblins. New battlegrounds will include Mirkwood, the Grey Havens, Withered Heath, Goblin cities in the Misty Mountains and key strongholds of the Elves and Dwarves, as well as The Shire. There will be 16 missions, eight for each side. (To add to the immersive nature of the game, EA has recruited actor Hugo Weaving, who played Lord Elrond of the Elves in the Jackson films, to do the voiceover for the game.)
The playable sides have been expanded from four to six. Gondor and Rohan have been combined into the Men of the West, and added to the race of Dwarves and Elves. Isengard and Mordor are still fighting for Sauron, but they have been joined by the race of Goblins. The EALA dev team said they plan on keeping the best of Gondor and Rohan when combining the sides, although our limited play time with the build gave no indication of what those units might be. Each new side will have different things they are good at, with dwarves being master craftsmen and goblins being fast and good at tunneling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The battle for Middle-Earth goes on., 23 Aug. 2006
By 
J. P. Taylor "jpt8" (Birkenhead) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lord of the Rings: Battle for Middle Earth II (PC DVD) (Video Game)
The game returns you to Middle-Earth, this time to fight part of the war of the ring in the North. You can take command of either Men, Dwarves, Elves, the forces of Mordor, the Isengard troops or Goblins. With two main campaigns to fight through, Good and Evil, there's also new features added on to give the game extra life.

Anyone who's played any EA RTS games (the later Command&Conquer games) will know exactly what they're getting. The battles are a kind of scissor-paper-stone game where a type of troop is weak against one particular other type (mounted are weak against pikes) but strong against another (mounted are strong against swordsmen). The new interface has methods to set up proper tactical deployment of your army, but the types of units available is limited. The battles are also very small in scale.

The economic side is again very basic with only a dozen or so buildings for any side.

The skirmish games are really useful as a way of learning how you like to build your army. Although the computer AI is fairly predictable and comes at you right from the off if you stick with it you'll be able to defeat the computer all the time, even on harder difficulty settings. There are a wide range of terrains to fight across, each with detailed features. The best way to learn is to fight online against human opponents.

One much hailed feature is the design a hero section. This is a real disappointment. Although you can pick from many different races and types of base hero there are very few options to change the look. You can also customize the special powers the hero can build up, but again there are few options. This feature could have made the game great, but it's such a let-down.

If you love LotR and the previous games then you're probably going to buy this game anyway. If you're looking for a good RTS game then you might want to try THQ's Warhammer 40,000 Dawn of War series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lord of the Rings: Battle for Middle Earth II (PC DVD)
£148.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews