Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


106 of 109 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful collection, these classic films well transferred.
This collection contains the following:

* THE RARE BREED (1966; directed by Andrew V. McLaglen)
* SHENANDOAH (1965; dir. Andrew V. McLaglen)
* NIGHT PASSAGE (1957; dir. James Neilson)
* THE FAR COUNTRY (1954; dir. Anthony Mann)
* BEND OF THE RIVER (1952; dir. Anthony Mann)
* WINCHESTER '73 (1950; dir. Anthony Mann)
* DESTRY RIDES...
Published on 10 Sep 2010 by Mystery Martian

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great DVD set
Great present for my granddad for Christmas! Arrived quickly and as described on the order. Some of the films were quite obscure.
Published 6 months ago by m brown


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

106 of 109 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful collection, these classic films well transferred., 10 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The James Stewart Western Collection (7 Disc Set) [DVD] (DVD)
This collection contains the following:

* THE RARE BREED (1966; directed by Andrew V. McLaglen)
* SHENANDOAH (1965; dir. Andrew V. McLaglen)
* NIGHT PASSAGE (1957; dir. James Neilson)
* THE FAR COUNTRY (1954; dir. Anthony Mann)
* BEND OF THE RIVER (1952; dir. Anthony Mann)
* WINCHESTER '73 (1950; dir. Anthony Mann)
* DESTRY RIDES AGAIN (1939; dir. George Marshall)

I bought this boxset recently and am very pleased with all the films. It is a fine collection of seven Jimmy Stewart Westerns, all well made and fascinating films, gorgeously packaged and at a price there's no arguing with. Any negative reviews here on Amazon UK so far are for the description of the product, not the product itself.

First off, if you are a Stewart fan but have not yet ventured into his Westerns be warned that they can be darker than his other films as he plays complex characters who often have mean, bitter and vengeful streaks. Yet despite this they are not purely evil and while Stewart never flinches from showing you their inner souls, motivations and psychologies he also makes them oddly likeable, as only he can. If you want whimsy, wholesome American values and a sweet-natured "Gosh, golly, gee!" main character then HARVEY, MR SMITH GOES TO WASHINGTON and IT'S A WONDERFUL LIFE would be more suitable choices.

N.B. If you are an admirer of Anthony Mann's films then this would be a great purchase as it contains three of his 'oaters', but don't make the mistake of thinking that this is purely an Anthony Mann + Jimmy Stewart collection, as it also contains works by other directors too. The Mann films are: THE FAR COUNTRY, BEND OF THE RIVER and WINCHESTER '73.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


112 of 119 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best western box set purchased to date, 14 April 2008
This review is from: The James Stewart Western Collection (7 Disc Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Set includes

1) The Rare Breed
2) Shenandoah
3) Night Passage
4) The Far Country
5) Bend of the River
6) Winchester '73
7) Destry Rides Again

Any Jimmy Stewart fans will be glad they bought this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


75 of 82 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mostly Good, a Little Bad, and Nothing Too Ugly!, 7 Feb 2010
By 
Bob Salter "Captain Spindrift" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The James Stewart Western Collection (7 Disc Set) [DVD] (DVD)
The films on this box set are are as below:-

1) The Rare Breed(66)Dir Andrew V McLaglen
2) Shenandoah(65)Dir Andrew V McLaglen
3) Night Passage(57)Dir James Neilson
4) The Far Country(55)Dir Anthony Mann
5) Bend of the River(52)Dir Anthony Mann
6) Winchester '73(50)Dir Anthony Mann
7) Destry Rides Again(39)Dir George Marshall

As with most box sets, there is some good inclusions, and some bad ones. In this case the good far outweighs the bad. I have already submitted positive in depth Amazon reviews of numbers 3,4,5 and 6, which you can of course have a look at, together with all the others. "Night Passage" is a very enjoyable and underrated western also starring Audie Murphy as Stewart's outlaw brother. "The Far Country", is a sentimental favourite of mine, and co stars Walter Brennan as Stewart's gold hunting partner in the Yukon. "Bend of the River" and "Winchester 73" are both strong westerns from that fine director of superior westerns Anthony Mann. "Destry Rides Again" is an earlier spoof western where Stewart plays a gunless milk drinking deputy sheriff. Marlene Dietrich trying to revive her career which was flagging at that time, reprises her bar room singer role from "The Blue Angel"(30), and gives us a memorable rendition of "See What the Boys in the Back Room will Have". It is much funnier than more recent cruder attempts to spoof the western like Mel Brooks "Blazing Saddles".

"The Rare Breed" and "Shenandoah" are weaker films altogether. The first has Stewart battling to introduce Hereford cattle to the west. It is perhaps best remembered for Brian Keith's panto Scotsman, sporting the most outrageous red wig in movie history. Almost worth watching for that! "Shenandoah" is a better film but spoilt by being a bit too over sentimental. Stewart plays the folksy patriarch trying valiantly to keep his family together during the turmoil of the Civil War. It was certainly one of McLaglen's better films, which sadly is not really saying a lot. Oddly enough, in 1974 it was very briefly transformed into a Broadway musical.

At the time of this review this set can be brought very reasonably indeed, and represents good value for money. It would have been nice to have also included "The Man from Laramie", but that is probably just nit picking! This is a stong box set on the whole. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must See, 13 Dec 2012
By 
Mr. Allen Trevor Dix "A.T.D" (Cheshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The James Stewart Western Collection (7 Disc Set) [DVD] (DVD)
I purchased this box set years ago and I can't recommend it enough. James Stewart has never made a bad film in his whole career. This is probably the best box set I've purchased. Being a big western fan I have watched time after time and I never get fed up with it.
So if you have a few bob to spare don't hesitate. Go out and purchase this box set. I can guarentee that you will utterly enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real cinema at home, 12 Jan 2014
By 
W. Rodick (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The James Stewart Western Collection (7 Disc Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Length:: 1:20 Mins

Top class box set. I watched Bend of the River first. What a Picture. It's what going to the flicks used to be about. Eye contact. Interesting people. Great story.

I watched it on 100' projection. It's all about having a moral compass. And no Law. No sheriffs, posses or Courts. Everything is fine until gold is found nearby. The balance found naturally now disappears. Food is as precious as gold. Wild life and 'nice people.' Can a man change? Fabulous film.

The rest of the box set promises much. Destry Rides Again is supposed to be very funny. And the only film here that I already have a copy of, Winchester 73, I'm looking forward to finding out why I have had a VHS tape for donkeys years. Maybe longer.

Shenandoah and The Far Country also look like stand-outs. But they all reek of cinema. The close-ups that make you move back in your seat. Stewart's blue eyes will devour you. Superb seven disc presentation. Ten pounds very well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The James Stewart Western Collection (7 Disc Set) [DVD] (DVD)
VERY NICE BOX SET.BEEING DEAF THEY NEEDED TO HAVE SUBTITLES SO WAS VERY PLEASED TO FIND THEY WERE.
WILL CERTAINLY SHOP AGAIN.THANK YOU
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The James Stewart Western Collection (7 Disc Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Great collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Value BoxSet, 3 Aug 2014
By 
R. Rule "Film Fan" (Tyne & Wear England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The James Stewart Western Collection (7 Disc Set) [DVD] (DVD)
7 discs in one folding box. Aii films in correct screen ratio. Picture quality good. The films themselves are all worth seeing. My favourites are the 3 made by Anthony Mann -- Winchester '73, Bend of the River, and The Far Country. The others are OK.
Very good value at under 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!, 22 July 2014
By 
Sj Sullivan (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The James Stewart Western Collection (7 Disc Set) [DVD] (DVD)
I won't review each film, but I will say this is a exceptional product. The quality of the films are outstanding, and are pristine. The films come in very attractive folding casing that slips into the main box. An outstanding product at a very good price. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars James Stewart westerns box set, 10 July 2011
This review is from: The James Stewart Western Collection (7 Disc Set) [DVD] (DVD)
my husband being a cowboy fanatic i decided to buy him this set, he found it very good to have them all together and the quality very clear. James Stewart at his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The James Stewart Western Collection (7 Disc Set) [DVD]
The James Stewart Western Collection (7 Disc Set) [DVD] by James Stewart Westerns Box Set (DVD - 2005)
15.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews