Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Twisted 80's Horror
If you're into horrors, particuarly classics like Texas Chainsaw Massacre, Friday 13th, Bloody Valentine, Halloween etc then you'll definately like American Gothic. It's quite a sick and twisted little film that manages to keep you entertained from beginning to end. I found it fractionally too horrible in places. I prefer my horrors very scary or completaly tongue in...
Published on 25 Nov 2011 by j.r

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "There will be no Devil's play in this house"
Cynthia recently lost her child and has spent some time recovering in a hospital, she's just been released so her husband, Jeff, decides to take her and four friends to the islands where they spent their honeymoon. They start to encounter engine difficulties while in the air, so decide to land the plane on what appears to be a deserted island. They set up camp for the...
Published 13 months ago by West25


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Twisted 80's Horror, 25 Nov 2011
This review is from: American Gothic [1988] [DVD] (DVD)
If you're into horrors, particuarly classics like Texas Chainsaw Massacre, Friday 13th, Bloody Valentine, Halloween etc then you'll definately like American Gothic. It's quite a sick and twisted little film that manages to keep you entertained from beginning to end. I found it fractionally too horrible in places. I prefer my horrors very scary or completaly tongue in cheek, this one veered between the two which made me feel unsettled. I'd give it 3.8 out of 5. Not a classic but definately worth seeing if you're into this sort of thing. The DVD is widescreen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "There will be no Devil's play in this house", 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: American Gothic [1988] [DVD] (DVD)
Cynthia recently lost her child and has spent some time recovering in a hospital, she's just been released so her husband, Jeff, decides to take her and four friends to the islands where they spent their honeymoon. They start to encounter engine difficulties while in the air, so decide to land the plane on what appears to be a deserted island. They set up camp for the night, and the following morning they set off to find help. They eventually stumble upon a cottage and go inside, where they meet an old couple that simply call themselves Ma and Pa. They're invited to stay for dinner and the group accept, one of them lights up a cigarette and Pa shows his disgust and tells her to smoke outside. They then meet one of their children called Fanny, a middle-aged woman who claims to be twelve-years-old. The group stay the night at Ma and Pa's, but the group have been split into male and female, as they won't tolerate premarital sex under their roof. In the morning, a member of the group called Rob decides to take a walk and finds Fanny playing on a crudely made swing with her brother, Woody. Rob is killed and the group mourn his death. We then meet Ma and Pa's other son called Teddy. The group soon discover that they've made a horrible mistake landing on their island, and they'll be lucky to make it off as the family begin the hunt.

Academy Award winner Rod Steiger is Pa, this is not the type of film you expect an actor of Steiger's ability to be in, but he really adds gravitas to a role that would have been turned into a caricature in lesser hands. He's as creepy as he is funny, and he's definitely the main draw in this film. Yvonne De Carlo is almost as good as Ma, the two of them play off each other wonderfully to create one of the strangest couples from a slasher film. De Carlo is best remembered as Lily Munster from The Munsters, she made American Gothic in the same year as another horror film called Cellar Dweller that really needs a DVD release. Michael J. Pollard who was nominated for an Oscar for Bonnie And Clyde, delivers another strange performance as Woody, Janet Wright is equally strange as Fanny and William Hootkins is intimidating as the biggest of all the children. Most of the group are pretty forgettable, they're just there to be picked off by the family.

American Gothic is directed by John Hough, he's directed some really good horror films such as Twins Of Evil, The Legend Of Hell House, The Watcher In The Woods, Incubus and one I'm sure he'd like to forget about, The Howling IV: The Original Nightmare. It's obvious to see that American Gothic isn't one of his better horror efforts, but it's one of the most fun. He directs the film quite playfully and really lets his cast enjoy themselves, especially Steiger and De Carlo. There's not much blood or gore, no nudity and even the language is minimal as Ma and Pa won't tolerate bad language. What it does have is a strange and disturbing vibe throughout, and when the family do start to kill, the pace is excellent and doesn't slow until it ends.

The DVD picture quality is really good, much better than I expected this low budget and often forgotten film to look. There's no subtitles, and sadly the only extra is a trailer. American Gothic can't compete with the best of the early '80s slasher films, but there weren't too many better than this that came out in the late '80s. I don't think most people that aren't into slasher films would enjoy this, but for hardcore slasher fans, this is a funny, charming and enjoyable bit of fluff that will help fill out your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 80s classic, 14 Jun 2007
By 
Stephen O. Sullivan "horror addict" (kerry Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: American Gothic [1988] [DVD] (DVD)
If your a horror fan like me you will love this film.The acting is very good for a 80s B-movie it also has plenty of shocks and twists.Buy it you wont be sorry its really good five stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars sometimes films just look dated, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: American Gothic [1988] [DVD] (DVD)
I remember this one from the old days of vhs (think it was called Hide and Shriek back then) and thought I would give it a go some 20 odd years later to see if it stands up today.

Well to start with the acting,you can't go far wrong with Steiger and DeCarlo together,and Michael J Pollard gives some sinister humor,the rest of the cast also give solid performances.

Trouble is the "young folk" the teenage characters are really annoying and disrespectful in other words complete jerks,and I just could not wait for them to get killed.

Now either I was one of them when growing up at the time so never noticed them in films of this genre,but have now grown up and now find them irritating as hell - or this film is an exception and I simply forgot.Either way for me it had the effect of dating the look and as there is very little blood when the killing starts it became disappointing.

So would I recommend it ?
Yes its only a couple of quid used
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Weak, 14 Aug 2009
This review is from: American Gothic [1988] [DVD] (DVD)
How did director John "Twins of Evil" Hough sink to this dull, ponderous, by the numbers, 80's American horror fluff?
Oh dear!

The last 15 minutes picks up and opens up a suitably macabre world, but there is nothing here really.
Low gore, rushed deaths and ending, tired direction, overly slow build-up, annoying acting (Michael J. Pollard is only slightly less awful than he was in "Sleepaway Camp 3"), slumming thesps (Rod Steiger and Yvonne De Carlo, though at least Steiger has a better wig this time than he did in "The Kindred").

All in all it's just a passionless splodge of smelly blandness thrown at your TV screen, that was actually a good signpost to the (mostly) awful decade to come as far as American horror films went.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not worth it!, 14 Jan 2008
This review is from: American Gothic [1988] [DVD] (DVD)
i'm only giving this film a three because i love 1920s stuff and part of the film is concentrated on that, the rest is just pretty rubbish and a bit stupid, but i liked it enough to watch it to the end so it cant have been that bad!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Broken, 5 Oct 2010
This review is from: American Gothic [1988] [DVD] (DVD)
I don't know how good it is. I got it and can't play it at all. "Disc Error' will come up on screen, and that's all. Total waste of money. I would settle for another copy of it that I can actually watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa7623780)

This product

American Gothic [1988] [DVD]
American Gothic [1988] [DVD] by John Hough (DVD - 2006)
14.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews