Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

  • PCD
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
47
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£2.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 January 2006
When I first head 'Don't Cha' I thought it was an amazing track but I wasn't so sure on buying the album just yet. It was really the second single 'Stickwitu' which made me purchase it and I am really surprised on how brilliant the whole album is.
1. Don't Cha: Everyone knows this song. Really different to anything else that was released in 2005. A well deserved #1. 5/5
2. Beep: When you first hear it, it sounds strange but it really is a grower. Another great, but different track. Should deffo be a single. 5/5
3. Wait A Minute: Another brilliant upbeat track featuring timbaland. Really catchy & single material. 5/5
4. Stickwitu: The only real slow song on the whole album. Their second single also reached #1. An easy song to sing a long to. 5/5
5. Buttons: This track has a bit of an eastern twist to it and it works really well. An instantly catchy track. 5/5
6. I Don't Need A Man: Has a bit of a 90's sound to it. Really powerful track and Nicole really shows off her vocal talents. 5/5
7. Hot Stuff (I Want You Back): This track has a disco feel to it and its really really catchy. 5/5
8. How Many Times, How Many Lies: I've never really got into this track. To me it seems a bit bland. 3/5
9. Bite The Dust: This has to be one of my favourtes on the album. A really feisty track and Melody sounds great. 5/5
10. Right Now: A bit of a cabaret feel to this track. It's a good track but you have to be in the mood to listen to it. 4/5
11. Tainted Love/Where Did Our Love Go: Strange combination of tracks but it works really really well. 5/5
12. Feelin' Good: A really soulful track where Nicole gets to show off her vocals once again. Excellent. 5/5
13. Sway: Not sure if this track will be a single but it is different to anything thats out at the moment. Melody shines on this track. 5/5
14. Flirt: This track is really rocky but it's just a bit too rocky for my liking. The lyrics are excellent though. 3/5
15. We Went As Far As We Felt Like Going: A good track to end the album on. 4/5
Overall I am so surprised at how many different styles there are on this album. There is really something on here for everyone. Deserves to sell bucketloads!
0Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2006
The dance styles combined with the flirtatious and overflowing empowering "filled with attitude" lyrics make this a total smash! When listening to this album, there are no moments of feeling down since confidence shines throughout!

The soulful singing, back to disco sounds, and musical accompaniment make this a more than pleasurable experience. Above all, the tracks can get one feeling liberated, free, and happy to take on anything. Overall, there are great dance beats, catchy hooks, positive vibes, and much more to enjoy! The words, the melodic dance beats, and the romantic moments can cause empathy to many who have been through a spiraling roller coaster with vast lovers. While the long ride and journey can be wild and tough, the songs prove that you are what your experiences make you: SPECIAL and HOT!

There are many excellent selections to take pleasure in but among the top songs recognized as hot dance club singles are "Don't Cha" (featuring Busta Rhymes), "Beep" (featuring Will.I.am) and the catchy "Wait A Minute" (featuring Timbaland). Aside those excellent songs, my other favorites would be "I Don't Need A Man" for the attitude lyrics and soulful singing, "Hot Stuff (I Want You Back)" since it reminds me of the disco Donna Summer days, "Tainted Love/Where Did Our Love Go" and "Bite The Dust" for the fast paced, energetic dance styles.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2014
Welcome to Germaine Greer's favourite band - the band that puts the IN in feminism - the band that the UN hand-picked to go to the Third World countries and raise the profile of women in the poorest nations.

Oh, wait a minute - I think I dreamt all that. THis is Pussycat Dolls we are talking about - the women who wear belts as skirts and porn-star shoes. The women who say they'd openly tempt your man away, that they are 'hawt' and 'freaks'. And before you start, no I'm not jealous - I'm just a music-lover with some self-respect. I don't particularly want to look like I've just spent my last tenner on a complete outfit from Primark, thank you very much.

On to the music. Well, as you can guess, not one of the Dolls took time out from their MENSA applications to write the songs. These equality 'classics' have as much depth and emotion as the shallow end of your local swimming pool. In fact, I was so moved I felt like handing out this album to any young, budding female musician with the advice: "Just don't do THIS and you'll be fine."

This album is like the roller-skating Bodyform advert lengthened into a musical. Girls are told their worth is determined by how many pairs of heels they have, whether they can purr lustily at men, and whether they can wear a skirt just long enough to cover their bits. Hats off to the Dolls - not for them the burden of artistic integrity - they don't worry about being taken seriously. Sadly, their influence, and those of their contemporaries, can be seen in the youth of today, who no longer think they need talent to survive, who look to Simon Cowell and Big Brother to propel their lives into some chav-based version of superstardom.

The Dolls are the type of women that mean we are now inundated with the likes of brainless Chantelle Houghton, Jade Goody, Cheryl Cole, and Dannii Minogue. Talent is no longer needed - just wear as little as possible, get someone else to write material into which you have as little input as possible, then get a sob story together and tell everyone you're just the girl next door done good - that it could be YOU up there instead of them.

Fortunately, it will never be me up there in place of the Dolls next time. I have too much talent, imagination, and self-respect. And I don't own any zebra-print ........
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2007
The best, coolest and most sassiest album

I've listened to yet!!

Also (besides being good looking)

they can sing, GREAT!!!!!

1. Don't Cha - Pussycat Dolls & Busta Rhymes 9.5 What made them PCD

2. Beep - Pussycat Dolls & Will.I.Am 10/10 Fun and makes a good point

3. Wait A Minute - Pussycat Dolls & Timbaland 9.5 Wait, this rocks

4. Stickwitu 10/10 Slow, fun and Extremly well sang

5. Buttons 11/10 BEST PCD SONG EVER!!

6. I Don't Need A Man 9.5 Nicole can sing (Nicole is lead singer)

7. Hot Stuff (I Want You Back) 10/10 listening to this, he'll take back

8. How Many Times How Many Lies 8/10 Maybe the worst, but still rocks!

9. Bite The Dust 10/10 Trust 'em!!

10. Right Now 9.5 Sing, sing the just get better!!

11. Tainted Love/Where Did Our Love Go 10/10 track :):):)

12. Feelin' Good 8.5 second to worst or to best???

13. Sway 10/10 Better than the classic

14. Flirt 10/10 If you wanna flirt, liten to this!!

15. We Went As Far As We Felt Like Going 9.5 GREAT!!

BEST EVER ALBUM!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2013
•Do explain why you liked or disliked this product.
•Do compare to similar products and share how long you've used this product.
•Do identify specific attributes (e.g. comfort and fit of a shirt or the battery life of a camera) and whether they met your expectations.
•Don't describe your seller or delivery experience (you can do that at amazon.co.uk/feedback).
•Don't include promotional content of any kind or reviews written
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2005
I wasn't sure about buying this album at first i thought it would be cheesy but it's actuallly not bad at all. There is a number of great R&B tracks on PCD, the only let down is the number of cover versions. All in all a good R&B album!!
My Top Tracks are:
1. Stickwitu
2. Bite the dust
3. Beep
4. Buttons
5. I don't need a man
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2006
"PCD" should be "PPPCD" (Pretty, Pop, PCD)

All girl group, with great dance moves and feel good tunes!

If you like pop, just stop and give the girls a listen! A good number of well picked cover versions; but with a unique Pussycat crafted sound!

The Pussycats Dolls give a high-energy performance to both, the music and their dance moves! "Easy on the eyes & the ears!"

The CD is packed with different music styles and sounds like R&B, Soul, Dance, Rock and just maybe, it needs to find direction?

"Don't Cha", "Beep", "Buttons" all good songs, but, "Flirt" has a terrific Rock Energy and I must admit: It is nice to hear a Girl Group with a little more edge that just, a pop sound!

They say that: "Cats & Dogs" don't get on together!!! Well, Snoop Dogg & the Pussycat Dolls, made beautiful music together on the release of "Buttons" as a single.

The Video is pretty good with some nice dance moves, proving cats and dogs can play together!

Looking forward to the next Pussycat Dolls album, just to see where the music style will go next? A little more rock & a little less pop!

Keep it Real!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2015
The Pussycat Dolls are really the ultimate in manufactured pop acts, although the way they've been manufactured is slightly different. Rather than finding a name for a group and fitting people in with that name or picking people on a TV show and then moulding them into a group, with The Pussycat Dolls the name came first. They started with the name, famous in the US since the mid 1990s as a group of women who frequently performed at the Viper Rooms in Los Angeles, a club owned by Johnny Depp.

Even before the name was used for a pop act, they were already famous, having from time to time contained some of America's greatest singers and actors, even if only for one performance. Could the girls selected for the pop group of the same name be as good or become as famous as those in the club act?

In terms of quality, the album is very up and down. Strangely, instead of a group that has to use cover versions to improve an album as their own material isn't strong enough to carry it, the opposite is true with "PCD", as it is the cover versions that come closest to letting the album down. Fortunately, these tracks are in the minority, despite there being several of them and within an album that plays for 15 tracks and for 54 minutes, there is more than enough decent tracks to make up for the odd aberration.

This isn't my preferred kind of music, so I wasn't expecting much from this album. That's possibly the best way to come at it, as I was pleasantly surprised by how good it was. Sure, there were some dodgy moments but generally I did enjoy the album. Admittedly, it's not the ideal album for home listening, as it's more of a club sound, but that could make it perfect "getting ready" music before a night out.

In many ways, The Pussycat Dolls are the R'n'B equivalent of Girls Aloud. They've been chosen to be in the group and they've been handed a bunch of songs to sing. In both cases, the music was very much with the times, with Girls Aloud's debut album being mostly heavy pop, which was a major sound at that stage, and this being predominantly R'n'B, which is popular now. In the case of both groups, I enjoyed what they put out a lot more than I ever expected to. And, as with Girls Aloud, with the sound being so contemporary it will date fairly quickly and will be at best charmingly retro in a few years from now.

For the time being, however, this is a perfect slice of today's music. So if you've heard any of the singles and enjoyed them, it's worth picking up the album as you'll get a lot more of the same and a few other things as well. If you're into the R'n'B scene generally and don't mind it with a touch of pop to go with it, then this could be worth taking a chance on if you can find it cheaply. Or if you're just after something to get you picked up and in the mood for a night's clubbing, it would be pretty good for that as well. Just don't expect too much and you'll find an album that at least meets your expectations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Well, somehow it doesn't shock me that a stripper troupe wasn't able to make good music.

In fact, the Pussycat Dolls' debut "PCD" is basically the sort of music you'd expect to be playing behind the stripper troupe, so A) they have something to bump and grind to, and B) the patrons won't notice because they didn't come for the music. Empty beats, empty vocals, and lyrics so vacuous that the CD is about to implode.

It opens with a bunch of suggestive coos and canned beats, as a man calls, "Okay okay! Are we about to get just a little hot and sweaty?" Then it launches into a dramatic little pop song, not quite catchy, where the singer writhes around in smirking narcissism -- "Doncha wish your girlfriend was RAW like me?/Doncha wish your girlfriend was FUN like me?"

Things don't improve with "Beep," an electric-violin tune and a long string of bleeped out words, a quirk that gets old soon.To follow it up, the Dolls continue with processed pop numbers that Britney Spears would be proud of, with a faux R&B edge and lots of whispery backing vocals.

They even dabble in a sort of faux retro-disco in "Hot Stuff (I Want You Back)," in between the half-empty dance songs that don't quite manage to be dancey. To round it off, they add some goopy ballads in an effort to counter the slutty image of the previous songs, like "Stickwitu."

Somehow it's not surprising that "PCD" is basically a glossy, content-free, MTV-aimed album -- it was made for music videos, not for listening. It's also one of those albums that is hard to recall once it's over -- when each song finished, I was hard-pressed to remember any of the melody, the words, or much of anything except the cooing self-satisfaction.

One of the striking things about the Pussycat Dolls is that they obviously think this is amazing, clubby, danceable music, though half the songs don't have a solid melody structure. They just sound like beats thrown into a half-melody, and the vocals tie them together. "I don't Need A Man," for example, is just a lot of intermittent beats, horns and yowls from the singer.

The writing is bland where it's not outright hilarious. Unintentionally so, of course, like when they try to go all "woman-powery" in a futile effort to counter the "sexual attraction is everything" message of "Don Cha." One of the best lines is where a guy is rapping that, "You got real big brains." Yep, I bet they have enormous "brains."

Nicole Scherzinger previously did work in the reality-show group Eden's Crush, so she seems very at home in an artificial not-band. She doesn't have much actual range, even as pop stars go, and tends to sing everything in a hyperdramatic style to compensate. Either she's swooning with romantic love, or she's over-the-top sexy/sleazy as she informs us how very sexy and attractive she is.

The Pussycat Dolls put out "PCD," an album that is exactly what you'd expect for a troupe that was never meant to sing. A goopy, idiotic disaster from start to finish.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2013
This album is very enjoyable; I love ¾ of the songs on this. It a brilliant album to dance and make dance routine up and it excellent to listen, plus a new song on this album I never heard before and I really love it (something different from the way its placed on the album).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.46

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)