Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


67 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Decent Rechargeable At Last
A chunky and robust piece of kit this, with rugged rubber bumpers and waterproofing intended to make it bathroom friendly. It also has a realistically rechargeable built in battery which makes for, in my view, the first genuinely portable DAB radio. The trouble with digital DAB radios, you see, is that they eat battery life like Cyril Smith eats tripe and onions. With my...
Published on 24 Jan. 2006 by WH Lees

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars V.good, but beware! Only charges @ 18+ degree's!
I now own two of these radios. One of them is just over a year old and the other was bought two weeks ago.
They are great little units. Very handy to have outside when you are working, and nicely made.

I had problems with both of mine charging (indicated with a flashing light). They only charged ocassionaly, and nothing in the manual helped. I have since...
Published on 17 Nov. 2009 by Mr. S. J. Fish


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

67 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Decent Rechargeable At Last, 24 Jan. 2006
By 
WH Lees (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pure Digital Oasis VL-60918 Rechargable Weatherproof Dab Radio (Electronics)
A chunky and robust piece of kit this, with rugged rubber bumpers and waterproofing intended to make it bathroom friendly. It also has a realistically rechargeable built in battery which makes for, in my view, the first genuinely portable DAB radio. The trouble with digital DAB radios, you see, is that they eat battery life like Cyril Smith eats tripe and onions. With my Roberts model for example, you put new batteries in (or newly charged up rechargeables), switch it on, listen for what seems like twenty minutes, and presto - your batteries are dead. The Oasis deals with this problem nicely, giving something like ten hours listening before a "Low Battery" message appears on the display to remind you to re-charge it. I've found that it's best just to keep it plugged into the mains whenever you're not taking it into the shower with you.
The chassis of this radio seems, unsurprisingly, to be based on the very successful Evoke series, although because it's vertical instead of horizontal, it has only four pre-set station buttons, for which I deduct one star. It gets 4 stars for sound quality, however, which is excellent. Reception is very good indeed through the stubby rubberised antenna, and it has the usual(these days) input jacks for other devices.
All in all, a splendid little DAB radio - but I do wish it had more preset buttons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb build and sound quality, 20 Mar. 2006
By 
M. Webster "webbo73" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pure Digital Oasis VL-60918 Rechargable Weatherproof Dab Radio (Electronics)
This portable DAB radio oozes quality - it is built to last and feels very sturdy. It is bigger than it looks in the photos and has a nice handle built into the top of it making lugging it about easy. Mine is based in the kitchen but it's easy to unplug and carry into the bathroom, the garden or wherever you want. The sound quality is great considering it is mono - with plenty of volume if required. You can attach other devices to it via a line in or alternatively you could attach stereo speakers to it for an even better sound. It's my first DAB device and I am very happy with it (I also wish it had an alarm, then it would be in my bedroom instead ;-) ).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does exactly what it claims, 9 Feb. 2006
This review is from: Pure Digital Oasis VL-60918 Rechargable Weatherproof Dab Radio (Electronics)
My first DAB radio, switched it on and amazed at the quality of sound. A fair size for a portable but as it seems very sturdy, is all self contained and works perfectly that isn't a worry. Going to be enjoying this radio for some time to come.
The reason for four stars over five is it could do with an alarm clock function (I hope pure have that up their sleeve in a software update), wish it was rechargable from any old mains lead (requires plug in brick) and it's only mono.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars if you can find one BUY IT, 27 Dec. 2005
By 
This review is from: Pure Digital Oasis VL-60918 Rechargable Weatherproof Dab Radio (Electronics)
this radio is fantastic.i picked up 52 stations in a medium reception area.sounds great with plenty of power,best of all i can play my mp3 player throgh it albeit in mono.Radio reception .with headphones is glorious stereo.weatherproof so you can take it outside or listen in the bathroom.my prediction is this will be a top seller=just a little difficult to find at the moment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product, 18 July 2006
By 
Braw Loon (Bonny Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pure Digital Oasis VL-60918 Rechargable Weatherproof Dab Radio (Electronics)
I've had mine for six months and I really appreciate the quality in it. First it is sturdy and truly water-resistant, I don't feel worried having it in the bathroom. Also it is truly portable as the battery will easily last 8 hours at a high volume (it plays loud). It plays my ipod excellantly if I get bored of the radio. It could be doing with more DAB presets than the four it comes with. It is heavy but that's a fair trade off for its robustness and battery output. The aluminium case does dent easily if dropped onto tarmac for example (oops!)but we're not talking anything the way an ipod scratches. The speaker is for a biggish space and listening distance, not up close at a low volume but I have no complaints with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sturdy Contender, 23 July 2007
By 
Trevor Thompson (Bristol UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pure Digital Oasis VL-60918 Rechargable Weatherproof Dab Radio (Electronics)
Had Oasis since Xmas 2006 so got to know its strengths and weaknesses. This was my first DAB and it's really ignited my interest in radio listening. The sound quality on the Oasis is superb especially for the spoken word as is the sound volume and "reach". The controls are simple and elegant and it really is tough. The handle for instance is an integral part of the housing so no moving parts to bust. It is great that the batteries charge "in house" and it is very comfortable with a shower - which is good bec I often use it on an allotment (apparently they don't like to be submerged - though it was dropped in a pond without complaint).

The downsides are that it is pretty darn heavy and the battery lasts only 6-7 hours and takes a night to charge. Not one to take on a camping trip. A radio-alarm would be fab. There are only 5 presets - 7+ would be better (though it would clutter the panel). The RDS scroll is very slow - annoying to read - not sure if that is within control of Pure. The bugger flashes when charging, which is a pain at the bedside. The rubber flanges on the bottom have come off and required sticking down.

If you'd get use out of the weatherproofing it is a great buy and the sound quality is better than others I've heard in same price bracket. It's a cool and sturdy contender in the DAB market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars brilliant radio, shame about the battery life, 6 Jun. 2006
By 
Andy Pusey (bristol, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure Digital Oasis VL-60918 Rechargable Weatherproof Dab Radio (Electronics)
I agree with most of all that has been said, a fine radio , heavy yes, only four pre set and so on, but quality and ease of use is first class.... but oh dear , that battery life. 15 hours is the claim , but a third of that is closer to the truth, I would love to hear from anyone that gets 15 hours, or from the makers...... but you should still buy it .

Update 1/1/13 Need a new battery now after long use , seems to be not available anymore, batteries here on Amazon are differant, not sure what to do about it . Pure website has a spares section, every battery out of stock . I love theis radio but for the battery reasons would reduce to 3 stars if I could.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worth its weight in white gold., 5 Mar. 2008
By 
Andrew Holstead (WILTS ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pure Digital Oasis VL-60918 Rechargable Weatherproof Dab Radio (Electronics)
i use this dab radio every day on a building site. Its quite simply worth every penny. The sounds brilliant even when its turned up. Battery life lasts between 12-15 hours but i do charge it up every night. I plug my mp3 into it which also sounds good even though its mono. The bottom line is i have saved loads of money by not having to buy batteries and it does what pure say. By the way i have had my pure digital radio for about a year and a half. TOP MARKS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oasis DAB - fantastic, 11 Jun. 2006
By 
Mr. T. Lincoln-kemp (Norwich, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pure Digital Oasis VL-60918 Rechargable Weatherproof Dab Radio (Electronics)
A great machine with superb sound quality, no distortion when you crank up the volume. I have yet to run the battery down, even after 8 hours. Used in the bathroom, the garden and the garage. It's a bit heavy, but a small price to pay for good quality DAB
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice sound, battery a little tricky to replace, 30 July 2009
By 
R. Mullins "rb2005" (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pure Digital Oasis VL-60918 Rechargable Weatherproof Dab Radio (Electronics)
The major downside is that the battery cannot be accessed by the user. When the battery dies (~18 months) you'll be asked to send it for "repair" at your cost.

UPDATE: You can buy replacement batteries and swap them. Nice solid radio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews