Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


222 of 238 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alan puts the 'chat' amongst the pidgeons with one of the great comedy characters
Alan Partridge is a laugh-out-loud hilarious comedy character, perhaps only recently bested by David Brent.

This dvd box-set contains every episode broadcast, from Knowing Me, Knowing you (extended versions), to the Xmas special and two series of I'm Alan Partridge. Also included are Alan's Country Ramble ("Someone should clean up these leaves"), the Comic...
Published on 18 April 2008 by Mr. Tristan Martin

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars worth watching
Overall, not quite as funny as I remember it being, but still embarrassingly funny in parts. Im not dissapointed I bought it and no doubt I will watch these episodes over and over. Good to catch the few episodes I didnt watch when they were originally broadcast, so worth the purchase price for that alone. Coogan gives a great demonstration of comedy timing and adlibbing...
Published 20 months ago by paul goodlad


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

222 of 238 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alan puts the 'chat' amongst the pidgeons with one of the great comedy characters, 18 April 2008
By 
Mr. Tristan Martin (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Alan Partridge Complete Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Alan Partridge is a laugh-out-loud hilarious comedy character, perhaps only recently bested by David Brent.

This dvd box-set contains every episode broadcast, from Knowing Me, Knowing you (extended versions), to the Xmas special and two series of I'm Alan Partridge. Also included are Alan's Country Ramble ("Someone should clean up these leaves"), the Comic Relief segments he did, a never broadcast pilot episode, numerous adverts for Knowing Me, Knowing You ("Ignore the critics, this programme is actually quite good"), deleted and extended scenes. There's other stuff on there too and you can never have too much of the Partridge, so get this collection of one of the best comedy characters ever.

Alan started out in hospital radio and quickly moved on to BBC Radio 4, where his chat show, Knowing Me, Knowing You with Alan Partridge became a little-recognised success. After several years, he was quickly picked up and deemed suitable for television, where his particular brand of misanthropic, homophobic, sexist and xenophobic good humour fit the times, the times being the mid 1990s. His scowling, insincere, know-nothing face was first shown on The Day Today, in which he stole the programme, filling his on air sports commentary with inane drivel, mostly because he was totally ignorant about the events on which he was required to pontificate.

After being the sports anchor on one programme, he was given free reign to make his own programme (via his now bankrupt company, Pear Tree Productions). Alan did what he did best - he chats. Knowing Me, Knowing You with Alan Partridge ("get the title right!", he would insist, with his witty characteristic pedantry) became an instant cult classic (read: low audience figures), particularly popular with students. What made the show such a resounding success for one series and a Christmas special (never again to be recommissioned) still puzzles many, as does why it got made in the first place. Alan, by his own frank admission, hates people. Especially the public, but certainly people in general. With that in mind, he was given a chat show, in which he proceeded to abuse everyone with equal opportunity. Highlights include Cheeky Monkey, Pete and Bernie's Philosophical Steak House and of course, his fantastic medley of Abba classics, shouted at full volume.

After the explosive ending of Knowing Me, Knowing You with Alan Partridge and the burn-your-own-bridges finale of Knowing Me, Knowing Yule (the Christmas special, an event so bad that you would welcome back Noel Edmonds with open arms), there followed two on-the-road documentaries, I'm Alan Partridge, in which we follow Alan desperately trying to patch up his life with ridiculous television series ideas (Monkey Tennis, anyone? Youth Hostelling with Chris Eubanks?).

At this stage in Alan's career - and to call it a 'career' stretches the meaning of the word - Alan does a graveyard local radio broadcast (Up with the Partridge) in which even the two minute handover to the next DJ reduces to the level of thinly veiled personal insults. Domestically, Alan lives in a Travel-Tavern, his own personal three star hell and has no friends except a deeply disturbed Falklands veteran. Later, Alan moves to a caravan, continues to obsess about James Bond and writes a book, Bouncing Back (not as good as Bravo Two Zero, I'm sure he would freely admit).

This brief biography does no justice to the incredible writing and superb characterisation of all involved. Simply one of the best television characters ever. Alan's love for his fellow man may be in short supply but the laughs are never ending in this classic comedy creation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hysterical.., 29 May 2010
By 
RJW - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Alan Partridge Complete Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Alan Partridge is one of those characters that entertains and annoys in equal measures. Some people find his shows so funny that tears actually run down their cheeks, whereas others will not utter a single giggle.

Personally, I think this dvd set contains some of the funniest British comedy moments to ever grace our screens.

The genre than Steve Coogan champions with his character Alan Partridge has recently come to be known as 'cringe comedy', more so after the creation of 'The Office'.
I prefer however to call it 'underdog' comedy. Alan Partridge is a hateful man. He's rude, arrogant, thinks he's above everyone he meets, is always out for just himself, and he fails at everything he does. And it is exactly those qualities that makes him so endearing. Everyone loves a loser, and Alan is the biggest loser out there.

This boxset contains every episode from 'Knowing Me Knowing You' - the spoof talk show. As-well as series 1 & 2 of 'I'm Alan Partridge' - the follow up series that sees Alan fail as a Radio DJ and Author.
Also there's a load of extras and deleted scenes for each series, including the Knowing Me Knowing You Christmas special, and the Comic Relief scenes from 1995.
Altogether there's just under 11 hours of Alan Partridge goodness. Which makes this set extremly good value for money.

Many others have written far more extensive reviews on here, so I won't go on any further except to say this.. ..Alan Partridge is a golden comedy creation, and this dvd set is an essential purchase for anyone with a sense of humor. Buy it now before the price goes back up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alan Patridge box set, 10 April 2012
By 
M. Wright (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Alan Partridge Complete Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
was given this as a Christmas gift and my first thoughts were I'll never watch this had never seen Steve Coogan in anything ( I'm seventy ) seen his name but didn't bother to follow through actualy thought Steve & Alan were two different people was given the audio c d at the same time and put it on first to find out what it was all about listened to five minutes and thought what an arrogant man my son kept asking if I'd watched the DVD's and didn't want to seem ungrateful or lie so decided to get it over with and put it on cannot believe how stupid I was thinking the Cd was a serious programme what a genius he is and all the other characters as well couldn't stop laughing out loud and watched the three DVD's in two nights and am watching them again for the third time every scene is a delight and I find myself during the day having a chuckle at some of the truly funny sketches that keep popping into mind especially the hellicopter one far too many to mention just love Michael he plays the part so well and Lynn must get a mention as the fantastic P.A all the cast play their parts so well don't know how they got through it without bursting out laughing but that I suppose is what makes them truly great actors just love these DVD's if you are looking for real comedy these are for you
now looking for more of him
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The most awkward man on television!, 2 Aug 2010
This review is from: The Alan Partridge Complete Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I only recently discovered the hilarity that it Alan Partridge (before you scoff, I'm based in Australia!)

Both 'Knowing Me, Knowing You' and 'I am Alan Partridge' show clearly the footsteps in which shows such as 'The Office' and 'Extras' later trod. Coogan is a master at portraying the awkward cluelessness and blunt arrogance that is Alan Partridge, and does so without making it easy on himself with too many catchphrases (except for the brilliant 'Aha!', which has now become my entry cry to any room!)

I am told by many of my UK buddies that AP is seen as a bit 'old hat', but I'm urging you all to give it a rewatch (or a first watch)and get back in touch with this gem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AHA back of the inter...net!, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Alan Partridge Complete Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Absolutely brilliant, laugh a minute goodness, though my two year old daughter does say smell my cheese a little too often!

And I do advise not watching this whilst drinking hot fluids, whilst naked, with just cheese for comfort, you may find yourself stuck in a melted cheese fiasco, leaving a self tattoo matted in your chest hair, not that any of that happened to me oh know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coogan is Britain's Finest, 25 Jun 2011
By 
DVK (Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Alan Partridge Complete Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I'm American born and used to American humor. I sat watching British comedy when I first moved here as an adult, and having come from the "Saturday Night Live", "Fraser" and "Seinfeld" school...and aside from "Ab Fab" or "The Vicar of Dibley," I just couldn't get into most British comedy. A lot of it wasn't really interesting to me. It was mostly pratfalls and toilet humor. And I happened to come by Steve Coogan and his character of Alan Partridge and it was the first time I found myself laughing out loud. That was it, I became a huge fan. His characters are clever, well-written and executed and just hilarious. Alan Partridge is (in a sense) the British Fraser Crane...full of himself, always self-promoting and filled with well-laid plans that usually go awry. He is the guy you love to hate because everyone knows someone like this no matter where on the globe you might live. If you want the best of British humor this is it. (Since then, I've also discovered Omid Djalili...who is brilliant as well.) He never introduced Alan Partridge to America...if he had, I think he would have been much more successful. He is absolutely one of the finest comedians I have ever seen...not just in Britain but everywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Alan Partridge boxset, 17 Jun 2014
By 
A. Simmons - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Alan Partridge Complete Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Featuring every episode, except Mid Morning Matters, which is available elsewhere on Amazon, but excellent value nonetheless. Please bear in mind that the first series of "I'm Alan Partridge" is in 4:3 aspect ratio, as is all of the episodes of "Knowing Me, Knowing You". The second "I'm Alan Partridge" series is filmed in 16:9 widescreen. Also includes the hilarious "Knowing Me, Knowing Yule" Christmas special. A must for all Steve Coogan/Alan Partridge fans everywhere!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 5 Jun 2014
This review is from: The Alan Partridge Complete Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I have always found Alan Partidge a fantastic character and enjoyed all of the Alan Partridge comedies. This DVD would be a fantastic buy for anyone who loves Alan Partridge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ahhaaaaaaaaaa, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Alan Partridge Complete Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Absolutely bloody exactly, I'll just talk over you Lynn I'm not driving a mini metro. Kil, kill, stab, twist, kill !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good and bad, 24 May 2014
By 
N. Leonard - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Alan Partridge Complete Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Love the later episodes not so sure about the first series but still a classic set worth buying if you like Alan P
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Alan Partridge Complete Box Set [DVD]
The Alan Partridge Complete Box Set [DVD] by Steve Coogan (DVD - 2009)
10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews