Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars dave allen
Dave allen is just Superb Great, All his characters are wonderful his interpretations from S Holmes, Robin hood, prisoner been shot wanting last request,vicar,pope,inventor, lots of others which i have not mentioned, one of the all time great comedians. Why has none of his Series been released on Dvd! ??, if all his series was released i for 1 would buy!!, pity he did...
Published on 4 Aug. 2004 by drpeterbrady

versus
22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't be fooled
If you like Dave Allen then stick with The Best of Dave Allen only as this DVD is exactly the same as that one!! That one is good value and a trip back in time - still as funny as ever.
Published 21 months ago by June Wallis


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't be fooled, 16 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dave Allen [BBC] (Region 2 Compatible DVD) (DVD)
If you like Dave Allen then stick with The Best of Dave Allen only as this DVD is exactly the same as that one!! That one is good value and a trip back in time - still as funny as ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars dave allen, 4 Aug. 2004
This review is from: Dave Allen [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Dave allen is just Superb Great, All his characters are wonderful his interpretations from S Holmes, Robin hood, prisoner been shot wanting last request,vicar,pope,inventor, lots of others which i have not mentioned, one of the all time great comedians. Why has none of his Series been released on Dvd! ??, if all his series was released i for 1 would buy!!, pity he did not make any tv series or films out of any of his many characters! this would of been great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original Vintage, 17 Mar. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Dave Allen [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Watching these videos of Allen's show and sketches was absolutely delightful. His humor is fresh and original. His voice, gestures and expressions are first-rate, sometimes explosive and, of course, the stories are so subtle, so funny that you have to watch the tapes over and over again. Don't miss out on this special style of stand-up comedy.....The only drawback is they are in PAL format which is pretty useless in the U.S. I had them transferred at some cost to DVD. Wish I could purchase them in U.S. usable format..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice to see him again, 20 Jun. 2013
By 
M. G. KETTERIDGE (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dave Allen [BBC] (Region 2 Compatible DVD) (DVD)
While is t was good to see Dave Allen sketches again and hear his laconic humor, he now seems very much of its time, is now a bit dated and perhaps in view of revelations about Catholic priests that have emerged since his time, too nice with sketches lampooning the church but certainly lacking anger: but then perhaps "anger" was not his style.The background interviews with those who knew him - mildly interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Always funny - but not as good a selection as I ..., 10 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dave Allen [BBC] (Region 2 Compatible DVD) (DVD)
Always funny - but not as good a selection as I had hoped. Also, annoyingly, I had ordered a second one which I took to be a different DVD, only to find that although they had different front covers, in fact the selected material in both DVDs was identical!

I feel this is a problem with marketing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent service., 23 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dave Allen [BBC] (Region 2 Compatible DVD) (DVD)
We first saw Dave Allen on tv more than 30 years ago and have been on the lookout for DVDs to play on our all-region player. We were pleased to find this one and equally pleased to receive it quickly so it could be ready for Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, 20 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dave Allen [BBC] (Region 2 Compatible DVD) (DVD)
Bought this a birthday present for dad, he absolutely loved it and has always enjoyed the genious that is Dave Allen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Pressy !, 3 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dave Allen [BBC] (Region 2 Compatible DVD) (DVD)
I know that this will be a perfect pressy for Christmas, Quick and speedy service as usual. A very funny man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dave allen, 29 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dave Allen [VHS] (VHS Tape)
excellent fun, timeless I would like this to come out on DVD as it would make life easier. so keep me posted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars if you like dave allen you will love this, 9 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dave Allen [BBC] (Region 2 Compatible DVD) (DVD)
my hubby loves Dave Allen perfect xmas gift at a good price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews