Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hot hot hot
I absolutely agree with the review below, this is the essential ZZ Top album, yet it was always only available on CD with absolutely dreadful '80s mastering. This version sounds fantastic - back to the gorgeous natural warmth of the vinyl version. Buy it now and destroy your other CD copy.

But those live bonus tracks, they are terrible. Very cruddy. Why oh why...
Published on 7 Jun 2006 by Max Bondo

versus
2 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NOT the first pressing at all
Tres Hombres was first released on LONDON records so this is not rare and the description is inaccuate.
Buyer beware.
Published on 10 Oct 2011 by S. Cant


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top of the Blues, 6 Nov 2007
By 
J. M. Salinas (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tres Hombres [Expanded & Remastered] (Audio CD)
This is really interesting. If your only previous knowledge of this band is their Greatest Hits compilation or the mega selling 1980s electronic drum extravanganza Eliminator, you are in for a shock.

Because what you get here is none of the more commercial radio friendly rock sound you'd come to expect if you have only listened to three singles from the aformentioned Eliminator or the Greatest Hits.

Tres Hombres is as blues as it gets. Stripped down to its very core with just one guitar, bass and drums, starting with the left/right combination of Waiting for the Bus and Jesus Just Left Chicago and ending with Have you Heard?. Only La Grange is a more sped up head down no nonsense boogie. Even though it is one of their most recognisable hits, it actually sounds a bit out of place in the record, almost like a frill thrown in a the last hour.

The remastered production is fantastic and you can really tell the difference relative to the previous editions. The extra live versions, well, they add a bit of value for your money but they are nothing to lose your head over.

Definitely a must have for any blues lover, but maybe a surprise if you are only familiar with their 1980s output.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Texas Topsters At Their Smokin' Best, 17 Aug 2008
By 
Og Oggilby "Og Oggilby" (North London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Tres Hombres [Expanded & Remastered] (Audio CD)
Recorded some years before the band found international success with the likes of 'Gimme All Your Lovin', to me, ZZ Top have never bested this superb slab of Texas Blues and Boogie. Billy Gibbons is a fantastic Blues guitarist - like the best, he knows what to leave out, and the Frank Beard / Dusty Hill rhythm section are rock solid, unfussy, and never put a foot wrong. All well and good, however, but what the Tops did so well was / is craft a sound that has one foot in the Blues and another in the Texas desert, a dry, arid, but musically appealing sound that is utterly timeless. Plus, when they cut loose and rock out, they do so with a kind of restrained savagery that never fails to hit the spot. 'La Grange' is great of course, but other songs like the gorgeous slow blues 'Hot, Blue and Righteous' and the frankly odd 'Master of Sparks' - riff heaven (with more than a nod to Fleetwood Mac's 'Green Manalishi') - make this an easy and consistently enjoyable purchase that delivers with a vengeance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The mighty ZZ Top at their best!, 12 Mar 2006
By 
Mr. Andrew Johnson "bigjohnny7" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tres Hombres [Expanded & Remastered] (Audio CD)
This is the album where ZZ Top peaked. Billy Gibbons's dirty guitar sounds blends perfectly with Dusty Hill's bass and Frank Beard's drums. Never has the blues sounded so fresh. Pity they stole a bit too shamelssly from John Lee Hooker's Boogie Chillin' on La Grange. This remastered and expanded version sounds great. Don't worry - it's not got the horrible 80's drum sound that ruined the remix of this album back for the 6-pack box set. It sounds exactly as it should do. They could have left the bonus track off though - the sound on these is a bit muddy and after such a good album, it leaves a bitter taste in the mouth. Ignore the bonus tracks and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I still can't believe how much better this sounds than the awful CD I bought in ..., 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tres Hombres [Expanded & Remastered] (Audio CD)
I still can't believe how much better this sounds than the awful CD I bought in the late 80s. Now, only 25 or so years later, I realise what all the fuss is about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Album, 22 Jun 2009
This review is from: Tres Hombres [Expanded & Remastered] (Audio CD)
Have been meaning to get this one on CD for ages and eventually got round to it. Had on cassette originally. Excellenty album - one of their best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ZZ Top at the top!, 29 April 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tres Hombres [Expanded & Remastered] (Audio CD)
Classsic zz top! Goes through a group of styles in arguably their best work. The only album I've ever preferred was fandango!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fandangotastic!, 30 Jan 2009
By 
Toby Stewart "Fairhoodlum" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tres Hombres [Expanded & Remastered] (Audio CD)
This is a great album! I love Sheik! I never thought I'd admit to liking ZZ Top but this is from their pre-MTV days and is really superb. I've bought others since but this remains the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beards optional, 25 Sep 2007
By 
P. Thompson "Tommo1957" (Durham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tres Hombres [Expanded & Remastered] (Audio CD)
I only ever owned the vinyl copy of this classic before recently purchasing it on CD, so I cannot comment on the previous re-worked CD release that is berated by previous reviewers. Eliminator may represent the bands commercial zenith, but for me this is the definitive album of one of the most enduring bands. Not that the later albums are without merit, but they seem to have been aimed at the wider audience. Over produced? Too much polish? On these albums the guitar work seems to have been held back. This album finds Billy Gibbons at his raw sounding bluesy best. It almost sounds like they have just returned from some downtown bar and decided to have a jam! Favourites for me are Move Me On Down The Line, La Grange and what was a teenage anthem for us, Beer Drinkers and Hell raisers, but maybe the best of all, the sublime Jesus Just Left Chicago. With the added bonus of a couple of live tracks thrown in, this is a must. Great stuff!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The way ZZ Top should be heard!, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Forget all of those dreadful CD remasters from the 80s, this is how ZZ Top are meant to sound. This is a wounderful quality vinyl pressing that i would recommend any fan of the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tres Bien, 27 Jan 2012
This review is from: Tres Hombres [Expanded & Remastered] (Audio CD)
The best, most consistent album by the band. The songs are great, but the guitar playing is exceptional - not flashy and doodly, but fly away groovy. A few notes by Billy Gibbons deliver far more than a thousand notes by lesser guitarists. I never tire of listening to this, and it sounds much fresher than their sometimes dated 1980s output.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tres Hombres [Expanded & Remastered]
Tres Hombres [Expanded & Remastered] by ZZ Top (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews