Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value
A nice, solid, good value controller. As the other reviews say it's pretty much a PS2 controller, not of the same quality but it does feel chunky and solid.

The controls are responsive and direct and it installed itself quickly and it works with all my games no problem. Only negative about it so far is there is no vibration feedback, however, it may just...
Published on 3 May 2007 by Conor Mansell

versus
20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only one per machine
Bought 2 so that my kids could play 2 player games. Unfortunately, only one at a time can be installed and recognised on the computer. Not all games seem to recognise the controller and so I will need to play around with the settings. However, the vibration feedback is strong and the controls responsive. Similar quality to a standard PS2 controller.
Published on 24 Jan 2007 by Ian the geek


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value, 3 May 2007
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Venom USB Joypad Controller (PC) (Video Game)
A nice, solid, good value controller. As the other reviews say it's pretty much a PS2 controller, not of the same quality but it does feel chunky and solid.

The controls are responsive and direct and it installed itself quickly and it works with all my games no problem. Only negative about it so far is there is no vibration feedback, however, it may just because the games I have don't support that feature!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sturdy and thorough review is what we need..., 7 Sep 2008
By 
Mr. Muhammad Ismail (Harrow, London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Venom USB Joypad Controller (PC) (Video Game)
Venom USB Joypad Controller (PC)

Having purchased this item way back in July 2007, I have to say it truly is superb. I'll cover all the relevant topics regarding this controller, ranging from value to durability, the pros of each and the cons (if any).

Durability - Top stuff so long as you keep it in a good safe place! You will drastically reduce its lifetime by chucking it around, banging it and using excessive force while playing, just like a usual controller for a gaming console (Dualshock etc...) Nevertheless, after over a year of use, my controller is still in prestine condition and hasn't come up with any faults whatsoever. 5/5

Design - Hrm, well the design is where things get a little ... fat. It fits perfectly well into the hands of gamers, but the buttons do require a little force when pressed (such as buttons 1, 2, 3, 4, see picture of product). I also found the D-Pad to be quite fiddly and chunky, therefore I prefer using the "Analog" feature and play with both analog sticks, giving me more control. Unless you dont mind having the D-Pad being so big, it's not an issue. Everyone has their own personal tastes when it comes to gaming. The other buttons are perfect and very reminicent of a Playstation 2 controller (select, start, analog, R1 R2 R3, L1 L2 L3). A good all round controller nonetheless. 4/5

Value - Definately money for value. Not only do you get a controller but (thankfully) you also get a mini-cd to allow you to install the controller if your computer does not automatically detect the controller. I highly recommend installing this software before using the USB Controller as it requires you to install a program to make the Controller compatible with your PC. Heck, I don't recommend, I urge you to use it. The last thing you want to do is be put off the controller because you didn't follow the instructions right. I paid a good £5 back in 2007 for this and I know my money was well paid. Although the controller doesn't come with instructions (atleast, my one didn't) its easy and simple common sense to install and use this Controller. Just keep your speakers on when you connect it so you know the controller is connected to your computer. 4/5

Overall, a good controller with very minor basic flaws, however it is well worth the money and depending on how you look after your items, the lifespan of it will remain the same. I'm looking to keeping my controller for a very, very long time.

4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only one per machine, 24 Jan 2007
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Venom USB Joypad Controller (PC) (Video Game)
Bought 2 so that my kids could play 2 player games. Unfortunately, only one at a time can be installed and recognised on the computer. Not all games seem to recognise the controller and so I will need to play around with the settings. However, the vibration feedback is strong and the controls responsive. Similar quality to a standard PS2 controller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You get what you pay for., 27 April 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Venom USB Joypad Controller (PC) (Video Game)
Cheap but functional joypad which is basically a PS2 controller for the PC.

Loaded the driver and works fine, time will tell how hardwearing it is but if you buy the cheapest don't expect it to last forever!

The force feedback works fine on mine so don't know if the previous reviewer had a duff pad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Pad, 24 Oct 2006
By 
C. Hurry - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Venom USB Joypad Controller (PC) (Video Game)
What a great little pad this is, shaped the same as a PS2 Pad which makes it much easier to use, seriously responsive and has two very powerful vibration motors. A must have peripheral.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Breaks very easily!, 6 Oct 2009
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Venom USB Joypad Controller (PC) (Video Game)
The first time I bought this controller it was only two or three months before the top buttons (L1+2,R1+2) started to stick or become loose, rendering them unresponsive.

I bought another, reasoning that I could have been unlucky in receiving a rare faulty one and that the comfortable PS2 model coupled with a reasonable price were worth risking it again.

I was wrong. Within weeks the directional pad on the left hand side became unresponsive. I persisted, learning to play with the joystick. But it was no more than another six months when the USB port on my computer started struggling to recognise the device consistently, as the connection became faulty.

In the interests of balance, I can say that the model is easy and fun to use when performing as it should. However, the joy you get out of this 'joypad' is limited. If you are looking for something that will last you longer than a few weeks, I would highly recommend you steer well clear of this unreliable and flimsy waste of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish., 3 Oct 2010
By 
D. Levy (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Venom USB Joypad Controller (PC) (Video Game)
PC didn't even recognise it when plugged in. Didn't work at all. Wouldn't recommend, unless you feel like gambling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great joypad if you like going diagonally, 4 Feb 2010
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Venom USB Joypad Controller (PC) (Video Game)
The D-pad on this joypad is almost useless. It's very loose, and so very tricky to go straight left, right, up or down; I hit the diagonal by mistake about three-quarters of the time. I try to run right, and my character crouches down and turtles. I try to jump straight up, and my character leaps into the pit to his right and suicides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheap but work well, 4 Nov 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Venom USB Joypad Controller (PC) (Video Game)
I bought 2 of these to play 2 player games and both work acceptably with no problems as mentioned by other reviewers. No instructions are needed as they are plug and play and the drivers are automatically installed on your PC. Cheap but you get what you pay for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not buy this, 29 Jun 2007
By 
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Venom USB Joypad Controller (PC) (Video Game)
First one broke down 2 weeks after buying it. Amazon sent me a replacement and now that one has stopped working. Don't waste your money on this worthless gamepad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Venom USB Joypad Controller (PC)
Venom USB Joypad Controller (PC) by Venom (Windows XP)
£7.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews