Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good rendition at a good price, 2 Oct. 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Purcell - Dido & Aeneas / Bott, Kirkby, Ainsley, Thomas, AAM, Hogwood (Audio CD)
I received this from Amazon UK a week ago and am very pleased with it. It is beautifully recorded and all the solo singers adhere to the pure vibrato-free style of the period. The historical orchestra is well balanced with some delectable archlutes and theorbos to the fore, and the choir is precise with good diction and tuning. A full libretto is enclosed (unusual at mid-price nowadays) with two scholarly essays about the sources used and decisions made in constructing the performance. I didn't find the sound effects as intrusive as my fellow reviewer.

All in all I think Purcell himself would have relished this performance and would recommend it to anyone seeking a first version of the opera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Look no further!, 28 July 2009
By 
E. L. Wisty "World Domination League" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Purcell - Dido & Aeneas / Bott, Kirkby, Ainsley, Thomas, AAM, Hogwood (Audio CD)
With so many versions of Dido and Aeneas available, and no guide for the perplexed to make a decision from amongst such a wide choice being offered to us, what on Earth is one to do? Well your search is over. This is the "if you only get one version, get this" version.

Hogwood seems to have a bit of a Midas touch, combining fabulous performances by Catherine Bott and Emma Kirby at their finest, a great supporting cast and musicians directed with impeccable timing and pace.

Now it's not entirely perfect. In striving for authenticity, trouser and skirt roles are retained - I generally prefer to hear those parts in versions where the sorceress is played by a woman and the sailors by men - plus the sorceress and witches do ham it up a bit. But overall there is no better performance than this.

Full libretto included, and all at a great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars opera for an Oscar, 31 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Purcell - Dido & Aeneas / Bott, Kirkby, Ainsley, Thomas, AAM, Hogwood (Audio CD)
usually I'm not a great fan of operas but this opera stunned me for life, it is not dull nor boring or long... it lasts cca. 50 min. and same time accomplished every aspects of opera.I have several recordings of Dido and Aeneas and this one I must say is very BEST recording ever made, it is recorded on period instruments and sung by the best voices specialised for baroque art of singing (no dramatic vibrato and purity of voice)including the unique voice of Emma Kirkby :))) One of most interesting parts is that the chief sorceress is sung by a male and it sounds GREAT!! so, I give two thumbs up for this superb recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You could be in the room....., 20 Feb. 2012
By 
Book Raven "Ellie" (Barnstaple, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Purcell - Dido & Aeneas / Bott, Kirkby, Ainsley, Thomas, AAM, Hogwood (Audio CD)
at William and Mary's court. Crisp, clean and sharp recording.
Catherine Bott is particularly good - she dips and soars like a lark - beautiful.
Michael Chance also very good.
Purcell's score skips along with purposeful drama leading to the inevitable heart breaking 'When I am laid in earth'. It was so moving I literally cried...all in all a great recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Purcell in good hands, 10 Nov. 2014
By 
Marcia "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Purcell - Dido & Aeneas / Bott, Kirkby, Ainsley, Thomas, AAM, Hogwood (Audio CD)
With the recording Dido And Aeneas The choral singing is of the highest standard all the way through. Academy of Ancient music is tidy and refined under the direction of Christopher Hogwood.

Christopher Hogwood's gives sensitive direction. John Mark Ainsley is a romantic, valiant and heroic Aeneas, Emma Kirkby's Belinda is exquisite, and Catherine Bott is a riveting Dido.
Purcell offers us a poetic composition. The Libretto is contrived of rhyming couplets with expressive touches. The composer gives us drama and inspiration through this truly English music that has hints of the music fashion of the day influenced from Europe,
"Christopher Hogwood gives a sprightly tempi that is not rushed. Through the composition and the masterly of Hogwood we get pastoral, comic and heroic elements realised excellently.
Once again Bott and Kirkby contrast each other effortlessly with their singing,
The male voices are excellent too. Hogwood also gives the part of the sorceress to David Thomas. The male voice may seem odd to listeners of modern performances but Hogwood justifies this with the historical research in relation to casting stage witches having a Bass sound to give confidence of the role.
This works brilliantly and Thomas adds crucial and alert atmosphere.
The whole performance is complete with stage sound effects of thunder and lighting etc
This is a terrific release on period instruments and authentic performance. And this recording is one of the finest by Hogwood who will be sadly missed in the classical music world of authentic recordings,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful, 17 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Purcell - Dido & Aeneas / Bott, Kirkby, Ainsley, Thomas, AAM, Hogwood (Audio CD)
As a long-time fan of the authentic approach to baroque music and of Kirkby, Bott, Chance and Hogwood as interpreters, I went for this recording when I was working towards a performance of Dido and Aeneas. Charged with emotion, it does not disappoint. The singing has clarity and purity, beautifully balanced by sensitive instrumental playing. The additional MP3 download proved a great bonus when learning the work as I could go back and back over just a very few bars at a time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Too much thunder and lightning, 23 July 2007
By 
C. G. Kiem (Cochin, Indien) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Purcell - Dido & Aeneas / Bott, Kirkby, Ainsley, Thomas, AAM, Hogwood (Audio CD)
This is certainly a good rendition of Purcell's chamber opera, well sung and performed, although I find the sound effects of thunder and lightning overdone and partly disturbing, especially since they are not in accordance with the otherwise "authentic practice" of this recording. (I am sure there was no prefabricated thunder and lightning at hand in Purcell's time, was it?) Still, there are more interesting versions of "Dido and Aeneas" available. If you are getting your first CD with this opera, try out the legendary 1961 recording with the English Chamber Orchestra, featuring Janet Baker as Dido. It's full of drama, and the sound engineering is excellent. If you prefer a version on period instruments, take a look at William Christie's 1994 recording with Les Arts Florissants. The playing is more transparent than on the Hogwood CD and the sound altogether more brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very close second choice Dido for me!!, 21 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Pinnock Dido still remains my first choice for some reason but with the magnificent Catherine Bott, some wonderful thunder effects in between and the brilliant Christopher Hogwood in charge, make this download a very close second and I could never be without both on my Android :-) I've got both on CD too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The quintessential recording, 22 Dec. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For me, this is the quintessential recording of this work.The Academy of Ancient Music under Christopher Hogwood with Emma Kirby and others give us a truly wonderful performance. Listening to their performance of Dido's lament never fails to bring a lump to my throat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dido & Aeneas, 12 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Purcell - Dido & Aeneas / Bott, Kirkby, Ainsley, Thomas, AAM, Hogwood (Audio CD)
A perfect early instrument performance with some of the finest interpreters and performers of Purcell's music today. Although Janet Baker was a great Dido (especially the lament) with the English Chamber Orchestra and Sir Anthony Lewis in a 1961 recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews